We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Fish Company

Atlantic Fish Company
761 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
(617) 267-4000
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Atlantic Fish Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,750 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield
Transit: Green Line Copley Plaza Back Bay Commuter Rail
Description: Atlantic Fish has been a favorite of both locals and tourists alike, offering classics like award-winning New England Clam Chowder and Maine Lobster to more adventurous items such as our signature Swordfish Chop. The understated and timeless decor of the restaurant immediately draws the attention of those who enter. The dining room reminds one of a classic cruising vessel, complete with detailed woodwork and murals reflecting the spirit of the sea. Tailored to intimate dining with cozy booths throughout.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Ate here 3 times while on a vacation in Boston - loved sitting at the bar, with great food - was travelling solo and was always talking to a neighbour at the bar and the bar staff have such knowledge and were so friendly. Will go back again and again and again.

I had sublime lobster, shrimp cocktail, surf and turf and seared swordfish - but the highlight is the Lobster and Crab Louie!

1 Thank smc2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want the best clam chowder in Boston Atlantic Fish Company is the best. They do everything right. Service is impeccable. Sean is the awesome. Martini's are the best in Boston.

Visited February 2013
Thank cindy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Upscale Seafood in Casual Polished Wood Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Atlantic Fish Company is centrally located on Boylston Street in Back Bay. I have been there twice, eating at the bar both times. The menu is extensive. The food is very fresh and very well prepared. The staff is very knowledgeable about the menu. A bit of a hectic, frenzied atmosphere among the wait staff. The bar staff a bit full of themselves. I chose to try Joe's American Bar & Grill the next trip to Boston and would likely return there again for a more relaxed, casual environment. Upscale client entertainment, taking out your parents, celebrating an anniversary probably better done at the AFC though.

Visited December 2012
Thank NYCTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Best seafood and service around. My second visit to Boston and I'll be back next time too. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Skilled waiter, caring manager, awesome atmosphere. Get the Lobster!!

Visited February 2013
Thank wildcatgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food and first rate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once again, I used Trip Advisor reviews to choose a restaurant, and it helped me score a home run. My goal was to find an excellent seafood restaurant in the Back Bay for an annual dinner reunion with some out of town relatives. There are very many excellent restaurants in the Back Bay, many of them known for their excellent seafood,so this was really a challenge.

My searching led me to Atlantic Fish Company on Boylston Street, and I knew right away when our party walked in on what was a very busy night, and they sat us right away, honoring my reservation, that this was a great choice! All of the staff were hospitable and helpful, we didn't have to wait long for anything. The fish and seafood was extremely fresh,as advertised, and they offered many different ways to serve it, in addition to house specialties. My only comment was that there were not many choices for one of our party who did not like seafood. I thought their prices were reasonable for such excellent food - expensive, but not as expensive as other restaurants in the area.

It was also a welcome surprise that in such a crowded restaurant, our party of six was able to easily converse and actually hear each other, thanks in part to to the round table. I would highly recommend Atlantic Fish Company, and plan to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank happywanderers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Fish Company also viewed


Been to Atlantic Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing