We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City of Great Food, Don't Waste Time Here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue One

Avenue One
1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
+1 617-422-5252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Avenue One is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #594 of 2,881 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington
Transit: Red Line - Downtown Crossing Green Line - Park Street
Description: Avenue One serves contemporary, New England cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown, Avenue One is just steps from attractions, theaters, and night life. Avenue One is a great location for a hearty breakfast, power lunch, after work drinks and pre-theater meals. Executive Chef Kelly Armetta's dedication to local and sustainable cuisine has made Avenue One highly rated among locals and guests alike.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“City of Great Food, Don't Waste Time Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Food was actually okay, however with a plethora of food at your fingertips I would go elsewhere, especially with their prices. Though the waiters were very nice, out of nine meals only one came out properly. The kids steak came out naked and very dry, same with the kids teriyaki plates. We had to order extra sauce for each, another kids plate was missing their side dish, I requested to change my fries to a salad-they brought both and said that they would only charge me for half the cost (what the?), we had changed an order through the advice of the waiter and yet he didn't cancel part of the original order so we got stuck with that as well.

Service took so long we ended up having to cancel our evening plans. For a restaurant in the Hyatt, you would expect much better service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
“Five Star Service & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a small dinner party of 14 people at Avenue One last evening and were blown away again by the fantastic, fresh tasting food and vey courteous, attentive service. The private dining room was very cozy and well lit with ample room to spare! Our dinner choices were well prepared and very artfully presented by servers who left no details out at any time during our meal. The Hyatt Hotel is a very stylish and beautifully adorned place and Avenue One only adds to its modern allure. We will definitely return again and have recommended this wonderful restaurant already to a few close friends!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food, surprisingly good portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food, surprisingly good portions

From the decor I really thought this would be one of those places where you paid like you were getting two portions but when they bring it out there’s more plate than food. I was pleasantly surprised to find that’s not the case. We ate there for breakfast and dinner and couldn’t have been more pleased with either. And, the food was delicious too. They say, “Food. Thoughtfully Sourced. Carefully Served.” We;; the localness of the food comes through in the freshness and flavor. For dinner I recommend the scallop plate where you get to choose the spices and toppings; an excellent meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food....organic and fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for dinner, my husband had the steak and I had the Brazilian salad with crab cakes. Both of our meals were phenomenal. The ingredients were so fresh and of the highest quality. We stayed at this hotel so we went for breakfast the next morning and weren't disappointed then either! Everything was organic and fresh, such a refreshing change from typical hotel breakfast buffet. I typically don't like to eat in our hotel because I like to venture out, but I would eat there again any day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Four hours from start to finish!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A group of about 30 of us went to the restaurant where we had reserved a private dining room and had a arranged for a limited menu-- all of which should have made it easy for the restaurant. It took four hours from the time we were seated until all the checks had been processed. The food was mediocre, the room had such bad acoustics we couldn't hear the person sitting next to us, and the wait staff was overwhelmed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue One also viewed

 

Been to Avenue One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.