We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College budget” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fajitas & 'Ritas

Fajitas & 'Ritas
25 West St, Boston, MA 02111
+1 617-426-1222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,014 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Established in 1989, Fajitas & 'Ritas is an award winning, good-vibe, "unabashedly fun" restaurant and bar featuring fresh Texas and barbecue cuisine. Its namesake specialties include a variety of sizzling fajitas and frosty margaritas at Cheap Eats prices. Enjoy generous portions of fresh and healthy food while your relax in this down-to-earth and funky spot...Or... Kick back at the bar and sip some "honest margaritas". In fact, Fajitas & 'Ritas was nominated Best Margaritas in Boston by Citysearch and Best Cheap Drinks by AOL's City Guide. So stop by and eat, drink, party and hang out.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“College budget”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is a small step up from a dive. Cheap and liters of margaritas - a college kid dream. But let's face it NOT a place I would go back to again on my own choice. Servers were nice - floors and tables sticky/dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    42
    27
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

RUN-don't walk-AWAY from this place...they are a disgrace!..My margarita (on the rocks) ..was barely cold..and very "syrupey". The place is "stale" and musty. The nachos & chips-were an embarrassment..need I say more?..my husband had the borrito-nothing complicated-let's just say it didn't "sit" right with him". The rice was undercooked..I can't think of a positive..sorry

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Slimy food, loud, poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place served me the worst burrito I have ever had outside of a college cafeteria. Tiny, grease-soaked, unseasoned bits of steak were squashed into one half of the tortilla, while a wobbly mixture of cheap half-melted cheese and sour cream filled the other. The lettuce and tomatoes on the side were peculiarly sweet - did someone spill sugar on them? - and the chips reminded me of the cheapest off-brand you can get at Wal-Mart.

The staff were too busy laughing it up amongst themselves to come take our order, deliver the check, or process our credit card. The music is far too loud, and the decor is tacky. Perhaps my mistake was not ordering drinks: the place might start seeming acceptable after three or four.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Should just be called 'Ritas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Their margaritas are fabulous. I love them. However, their food is the kind of food that makes people conclude that you can't get good Mexican in Boston. It's almost like no effort goes into the production of the titular fajitas; no seasoning and just boring. That said it's a great place to get some drinks and eat some chips & salsa after work.

Paintings on the wall are tacky; this place could be so much more than it is

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A quick lunch . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I ordered the pulled pork platter - the pork was well cooked, but lacked barbecue or any other distinguishable flavor. Baked beans were bland, cole slaw not up to par (cubed cabbage, lack of seasoning). The corn muffin was excellent, as was the guacamole. The waiter obligingly brought me salt and a lemon wedge to doctor the cole slaw, and my group's food was brought out quickly. Murals on the walls give an attractive, fun atmosphere, and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fajitas & 'Ritas also viewed

 

Been to Fajitas & 'Ritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fajitas & 'Ritas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.