We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar

Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar
206 Faneuil Hall Market Pl, Boston, MA 02109-1634 (Downtown)
(617) 742-2094
Improve this listing
Ranked #456 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Chowder, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lunch party of six. Good, not fabulous seafood. Chowder was a bit bland, but good. Excellent, if not a bit pricey, lobster tetrazini. Weather permitting, much better to sit outside, than in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    89
    54
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rahway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Ok food, lack luster service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The title says it all. The food was just ok, and the service was lack luster. The location. Is perfect. I should have known that when there was an hour wait for other places and they could seat us right away that there would be a reason why!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
“Food Allergy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My fiance and I live in CT and my parents live in NJ and they came up this weekend and we came into Boston for the day. We were trying to decide on a place to eat and the Salty Dog seemed like the ideal place especially with the outside seating.

My fiance has a gluten allergy and we notified the server of this. We ordered a salad (to share) with NO CROUTONS because of the allergy. While there weren't any croutons on the salad we can see crumbs on the salad as if they were on there and someone took them off. We returned the salad and the server was apologetic and served us a new salad. We were definitely able to tell that it was a new salad but there were still crumbs on it!!!! I am a server myself and I take food allergy's very serious with my guests. This is a major city with millions of visitors. They need to be more on top of this issue. I am not blaming the server per say it could of been the person making the salad or the croutons may be close to the lettuce and fall in but regardless they should be more careful considering how many food allergy's there are these days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach,Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat and take a break at Fanieul Hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a small outside restaurant and bar. It has a nice view of the crowds moving by and at the one end you can see the busker shows in the front of the hall. The food was suprisingly good. we had a lobster sandwich , which is not a roll. The lobster was meatier and more of it and less sauce, prices were fair and no rush to be moved. The bathroom was scary, but it's and old building.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I agree with "travel-here-there". The location is what this place is about. We sat outside for a nice dinner. Great to be outside where the hustle and bustle is. Our waitress suggested a few things and we actually ended up ordering them. Boston Baked Scrod with fresh veggies was great...nice and light. My son got the Fisherman's platter...mainly for the assortment..clams, shrimp, and scallops. It was good, but then again...it's fried food. My other son had the Seafood Creaole..shrimp, scallops, and scrod. He said it had good flavor...not too hot. Although the waitress was great and attentive, when we asked for some bread because my one son swallowed a lemon seed (he slurped it up his straw in his lemonade), she brought some over, but then we noticed that we were charged $0.99 for it. That was kinda wierd. i've never been charged for bread at a restaurant. I thought the prices were a bit high, but again, the location was very nice...gotta pay the rent somehow!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.