We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good seafood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar

Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar
206 Faneuil Hall Market Pl, Boston, MA 02109-1634 (Downtown)
(617) 742-2094
Improve this listing
Ranked #526 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Bayport,NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friends, wife and I had lunch at this restaurant during our stop at Boston on our cruise trip. We sat outside on a nice early October day. Our food was good and well prepared, the service was prompt and we did not have to wait long to be seated. I recommend it for a quick seafood meal, also it's a nice location for sitting outdoors if you don't mind the husle and bustle of shoppers strolling by as you eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    84
    52
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I don't know if the food was that great or I was very hungry, but the eggs, ham & flapjacks were out of this world.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Chowda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The service was great, our server explained what a lobster roll was, and kept our drinks full. The chowder was the best we ever had. It has upscale pricing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“terrific seafood! Do not miss this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had dinner for the first time here tonight. I was delighted to find the food was really, really good here. We tried scallops, oysters, clams -- everything was fresh, flavorful and delicious! Our server, Emily was one of the most efficient, friendly and helpful servers I've ever run across. her suggestions were spot on and the service completely professional, yet relaxed. It was an overall terrific experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This restaurant had been recommended by a local Bostonian on a flight from Dallas to Boston. I had pretty much put it out of my mind, then we ran across it during a visit to Quincy Market in downtown Boston on our last night. Had a great meal ( my last lobster roll), the best bloody mary I have had in years, and very nice personnel. Our waiter, Andrew, was delightful and helpful. We had a lot of fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty Dog Seafood Grille & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.