We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, Service the problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meritage - The Restaurant

Meritage - The Restaurant
Boston Harbor Hotel, 2nd floor, 70 Rowes Wharf (Atlantic Ave.), Boston, MA 02110
(617) 439-3995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Meritage - The Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Atlantic Avenue
Transit: South Station stop on the Red Line Aquarium stop on the Blue Line
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Service the problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Staying in such a wonderful hotel as the Boston Harbour, you would expect that their top dining room would be a wonderful experience. Although the food was excellent, we were left waiting long periods of time. The waiter paid no attention. The staff was not on top of things and did not look for any needs during the meal until my wife complained to the manager. Once the manager became involved, everything went smoothly. However, in a restaurant with such a wonderful chef, you would expect wonderful service and attention. Incidentally, the foie gras was delicious, the kobe beef flank steak was excellent and the caesar salad was very good. What a shame to take such a wonderful meal, and have it ruined by such amateurish service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Blew away my per diem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you are ever in Boston and are looking for a spectacular dining experience, then I recommend you visit this restaurant. The level of service was par to none and the quality of the food was simply amazing. The wine list superb and the menu is actually arranged around the type of wine that will go well with the food. You can also order two half meals and try two completely different dining experiences. And each one will come at a separate time, so your table won't be cluttered with many dishes. I blew away my per diem, but enjoyed every bite of my meal and every sip of my wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful anniversary dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary at The Meritage this past weekend, and we had a wonderful experience. We waited at the bar for a table to open up by the window which was well worth it for the lovely view of the harbor! The wine and beverage list is quite extensive and we had no trouble finding something that suited our taste and budget. Instead of doing multiple small plates, we opted to each enjoy a large plate. Both meals were fantastic in both taste and preparation. After our meal we were presented with a complimentary dessert tasting plate for two which included four delicious treats with "Happy Anniversary" written out in chocolate. It was a wonderful surprise, and made for the perfect end to a truly delightful evening. I highly recommend The Meritage for a romantic evening or special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Different, remarkable and inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved the menu concept: six separate menu segments, with three selections in each. Choose small or large dishes with each selection, with all dishes priced equally. Flawless food, exceptional wine list, and perfect service make for an exceptional dinner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

An excellent dining evening at Meritage.

We arrived 15 minutes early for our reservation. The host advised that a table at the window, overlooking the water was just opening up and would we mind waiting a couple of minutes for this table. We thought that would be great and sat at the bar to wait and enjoy a cocktail.

The bar was very nice. My wife ordered a glass of champagne and I ordered a sazerac. The bartender gave my wife a taste of the champagne she ordered. Not caring for that glass of champagne she ordered another champagne. Tasted offered again, and this one was acceptable. Nice sazerac for me.

A few minutes later we were seated at a very nice table with a lovely view of the bay.

Several choices on the menu of both seafood and meat items. The entrees are served in either small or large plate sizes. Our server recommended three small plates or one small and one large plate. We both opted for three small plates. While all of our courses were very good we were both full after the second small plate. We had the crab cake, scallops, halibut, mushroom soup, swordfish on risotto and the lamb chop. All were very good. The lamb chop was overcooked and returned to the kitchen. A new lamb chop, perfectly cooked was soon brought out to us.

The wine sommelier offered some very good advice on our wine selection from the large wine list.

Our only negative comment would be that the dining room was lit a little too brightly. But overall, a very lovely evening with great food, service and view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meritage - The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meritage - The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritage - The Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.