We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Save 20%
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights for this year's Boston Marathon. We were warmly welcomed by Stephanie at the front desk for check-in. Later, we asked Stephanie for directions to a local restaurant. Not only did she give us directions, but she immediately went on-line and made us a reservation, so we wouldn't have to wait for dinner when we arrived at the restaurant. That's what I call fantastic customer service! We stayed in the Grand King and the room was both lovely and very clean. Concierges Heather and Klejvis were both exceptional. Both of them helped us with sightseeing and dinner recommendations, as well as just generally being available to answer any questions about Boston and navigating the area throughout our stay. Honestly, both Concierges made us feel like we were the only guests at the hotel. They even set up a "sign-making" table so that guests could make their own signs to hold up along the Marathon route to support their favorite runner! It was awesome! The hotel restaurant - The Precinct, is also great. The food and drinks are top-notch. Special shout-out to Greg at The Precinct for making us feel right at home! The thing I loved most about this hotel was the personalized service. I felt like a valued customer. This hotel earned my future business.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    224
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
176
281
23
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Loews Boston Hotel during a 3 day a conference. Upon arrival the staff were very accommodating, greeting you with smiling faces and attentive service. The hotel was very clean and quite. We also ate at the restaurant onsite, which had many great offerings. I'm glad I chose the Loews as it provided comfort during a hectic 3 days. I am local to Massachusetts and would highly recommend the Loews to anyone coming to the area. It is a hidden gem!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've lost track, but I think this is the 9th or 10th consecutive year I have stayed at the Loews Boston Hotel for Marathon Weekend, my favorite trip of every single year since 2002. The *incredible* staff, convenient location (to the marathon finish, expo and shopping) and fine accommodations make this hotel the only place I want to stay when I'm in Boston. It's not too big, not too small, the rooms are newly updated and extremely clean. There's never a wait for the (2) elevators. Even the shampoo/conditioner brand they stock is my absolute favorite. The Precinct Bar has a great menu and excellent service. The sitting area off the main lobby has a wonderful coffee/expresso machine, plenty of newspapers (Boston Globe, WSJ, USA Today), all complimentary and available 24/7.

The biggest reason I return to Loews Boston annually is because I see the same friendly faces each year: Heather at the concierge desk, Sandy at the front desk/check in, bellman Deepak and doormen Sean and Tom -- these folks make Loews Boston an **excellent** hotel. They exceed expectations, have passion for their work and it shows. It's always what can I do for you today, how can I help, are you enjoying your stay. All said and done with a smile and most of the time with a wicked good Boston accent!

Can't wait to return for Boston 2016.

Room Tip: I will request room 748 every year! Two beds, huge bathroom, the tub is separate from shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loews and its team (especially Theresa Zakhari -sp?) are just outstanding! I stayed here 4 nights during the Boston Marathon and was floored by their hospitality and the overall quality of the hotel. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is in the converted old police head quarters so has it's own unique look. The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were of a high standard and a decent size for a city centre hotel. The bar in the basement is very relaxing with a variety of beers, wines & cocktails available. The location is supurb and within easy walking distance of all the major tourist attractions and shopping areas. All in all a great hotel and ideal for a short stay in Boston.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 night in the hotel during the Boston Marathon weekend. Our overall experience was excellent. As a participant in the Marathon the hotel is ideally located opposite the exit of the runners finishing area. The post race party was great and it was very nice to receive a personal memory gift.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My original reservation was at a Starwood property and I canceled it because I thought the Lowes Boston location was nicer and I was able to reserve a king room through my company. Once I arrived, while greeted by a very friendly, sincere and upbeat front desk attendee, I was offered a queen room. The front desk worker made the necessary adjustment, but first impressions count. After a few hours in my room, I noticed what I thought to be the smell of cigarette smoke coming through the vent and I called the front desk to understand if I was on a smoking floor. I was told no and that a maintenance person would come to my room and investigate. The maintenance person knocked on my door, I answered and greeted him -" Hi, how are you?" He did not say a word to me, nor did not make eye contact. He walked in the room - straight to the window. He went to the thermometer and asked if I touched it - I said no. He asked me if I opened the window and I told him no. He then proceeded to tell me that he had a keen sense of smell and it wasn't smoke, but it was something. He asked me what I wanted to do about it - and suggested that he'd have someone come and spay. Needless to say, no one came to spray. No one followed up. I thought about checking out and going back to my original, familiar hotel brand, but having travelled, I was exhausted and didn't want the hassle and suffered through it.

The irony is that I hit the star button to call the front desk and fully expected to get star service. Sadly, I was underwhelmed by the overall experience and consequently, I will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com and TravelClick so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.