We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Awesome Experience. ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wifi
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Most Awesome Experience. ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Well...the front desk found out I was there for a job interview and they surprised me with an unexpected wine & Cheese offering in the room and a note of congratulations on the offer....I left my phone in my car at valet and as I peeked out my window wondering how I would get my phone as my car was moving away...a sudden knock on my door with the concierge bring my phone to my room...Holy Crap...what a level of service not seen by me...a frequent Ritz Carlton visitor...in a long gig time! Thank You Loews of Boston...my wife and I are in awe of your customer service! !!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    209
    58
    15
    3
See reviews for
170
261
21
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel in a fantastic area. The entire hotel was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Cannot say enough great things about this hotel and look forward to a future return visit.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poundbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This small hotel is found in a corner of Boston, ideal situated for walking round this amazing city.
Which ever way you turn it is not a long walk to see any of the sites or shopping.
The hotel was clean and staff very friendly espicially the door staff.
Only downside the coffee machine in the main sitting area was not working due to over use, because of the bad weather.
The staff were very chatty and helpful and full of tips to get round the city.
Would not pay full price for the room, but we got a great deal.
we had a great time

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights on business trip in November. First experience staying at a Loews hotel and was very pleased. The room was snug but likely decent sized by Boston standards. It was clean, well appointed, pleasing and offered good working space. Two nice touches in the bathroom were a heated towel rack and a nightlight under the vanity that came on when you walked into the room. Slept well, bed was comfortable, sheet quality good and room was quiet. I really liked the historic building and they used the spaces well.
I ate at the Precinct Kitchen + Bar for breakfast both mornings as I did not have time to find other options. The food was good and the wait staff attentive. Had room service one night that likely came from the Precinct Kitchen and it was very good as well, and came in a timely manner.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here during the 'blizzard' last week. Staff could not have been more helpful and rooms are spacious and full of home comforts. We really appreciated the free hot drinks in the lobby after walking around in the cold. We were very impressed with the service we received in the precinct restaurant. Even though they were short staffed because of the weather, they coped very well and served us a delicious brunch. Well done Loews. I would recommend you to anyone staying in Boston.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel. The room was spotless with a spacious bathroom. The location is great and the staff were great. The bar was perfect. For a short business stay in Boston, it ticked all of the boxes for me.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Loews Boston Hotel is very nice and staff is very attentive. We did notice that the doormen were more attentive during the day than the night crew, but we were there in freezing cold weather and snow so maybe they were just as miserable as the rest of us outside!
Our room was upgraded from a king to a bigger king. It was pretty spacious for a city hotel with plenty of room. Also-there were TONS of charging options for our many devices! The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was huge with a tub and shower stall.
I left my cheap reading glasses in the coffee area off the lobby and was happy to have them at the front desk when I returned several hours later. They aren't worth much, but the bellman who retrieved them was very gracious. I was very happy as I didn't have another pair with me.
When we were waiting for our car to be pulled up front one of the doormen suggested that we get a free coffee in the lounge area off the lobby. I wondered to my husband if they might have water as I don't drink coffee. They didn't have any water, but the doorman soon appeared with a bottle of water for me. It's the little things!
The location of the hotels was convenient to shopping and the theater district. Sadly, it was so cold that we didn't get much chance to explore. This is certainly no fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.