We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, staff were so helpful and location was perfect, less then 10 minutes walk to Newbury street and 15-20 minutes to Downtown. We ate in the bar two nights and food was really good. Will definitely return next time in Boston

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    194
    55
    15
    3
See reviews for
152
236
20
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights. From receiving an early check in the service was great. All members of staff greeted us with a smile and a "good morning" or a "good evening".
Both of the concierge were helpful in things to do and they even helped us book tickets for the celtics and the patriots.
The location was ideal: 2 blocks from the main shopping street, the train station and the closest subway.
The "precinct" down stairs serve good food and drinks. the staff are all friendly and the service is great.
The lounge was cosy with the big screens with the news and a coffee machine where u can have coffees or a variety of teas.
We were grateful for a complimentary late check out before our departure.

My only negative view was the area around the bed was slightly small and there was no fridge facility.
Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a few days while celebrating out anniversary. Very clean hotel. Staff was great and very helpful. The restaurant and bar down stairs was great for breakfast. The room was very small but who spends that much time in their room anyway while on vacation :) very thin walls. You can hear everything that goes on in the hall ways & outside and we were on the 7th floor. Then again we are not used to big city life being from Florida so that may be normal. I would stay at the Loews again. Also pretty neat knowing that it used to be the old Police headquarters.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Loew's this past weekend. It was clean, attractive and efficient. What sets this hotel apart is the hospitality. The entire staff is welcoming and helpful. In particular, Heather, the concierge is a gracious ambassador for the hotel. She is loaded with information and happy to help with any request. My son and I felt like we had the inside scoop on the entire city. Years from now we will look back and smile when we recall our experience with Heather and the stay at the Loew's hotel in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everything was perfect and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They made it easy to book the reservation, valet was ready and very helpful. The room was amazing and immaculate. The beds were very comfortable and there were little details about the room that made it feel luxurious. From the robes and the heated towel rack, the Keurig machine in the room and the huge shower it was the little details that made it. We had a late lunch and drinks at the restaurant downstairs and the food was amazing and the bartenders and waitresses were very friendly. Will definitely be staying here my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As others have said, the primary reason for choosing this hotel would be location. If you know Boston well it's even easy to get here from the airport using the T or the Silver Line. But location is only a part of the selection factor.

I get the feeling this hotel is just aching to be trendy - all mirrors, silver and grey/gray colour themes which does look quite classy and up to date.

Note: Lobby is up 10 or so stairs - not great for disabled access - presume this is round the side by the Precinct bar (but there are no door men at this entrance?

First impressions - door men outside not overly helpful - didn't rush to help with our 5 bags (cab driver was more helpful). Reception staff very friendly and checking in was a nice experience. We booked a corner room for $285 p/n plus tax. We were given a room on the 6th floor overlooking the streets at the front of the hotel (plus all the offices in the Liberty Mutual buildings opposite)

Lobby has a seating area with a large TV wall and free coffee/tea throughout the day. I liked this spot very much as it was nearly always quiet and comfortable.

Our room was large with a huge, very comfortable king bed, 2 arm chairs, desk and ergonomic chair, TV and stand/drawers which contained coffee maker (Keurig - 3 or 4 coffee pods and one green tea pod left each day with some mini milk pots) but no mini bar or fridge. There were lots of lights but the room was still quite dark. I liked the wall art. We had a bowl for grapes and apples, plus water bottle, waiting for us when we arrived - nice touch.

Bathroom was also huge with a WC, soaking tub, sink and large shower. Amenities included non descript but pleasant smelling shampoos, soaps and such, plus hair dryer, iron/ board in large closet, in room safe, umbrellas and lovely bath robes.

First night I noticed large holes in the bottom sheet and a small hole in one pillow case. Given that we arrived late I didn't bother with it but it wasn't a great first impression. Both had been changed the next day without us saying anything. Overall our housekeeper did a good job and we always returned to a clean and tidy room.

The Precinct bar is where you can get breakfast and evening food/drinks etc. It's a nice area but every evening we were there it was packed with locals/office workers and it was very very noisy - not the best place to relax after a day the MFA for instance. Be aware that they can close the bar for private receptions leaving you no place to go for a drink. It happened when we were there - the bar was closed for 2 hours between 4-6pm but those drinking stayed on after this time and it was very busy and loud and not particularly inviting. Bar menus are on the hotel website.

As others have mentioned the room heating system is noisy but we ended up turning this off as the room was always warm enough. But this noise was nothing compared to the traffic noise and the sirens from the Fire House just a block away. The sirens in particular did wake us up on 2 nights and a third night we were woken by a tanker truck which was cleaning the drains outside the hotel - 4 hours of engine noise (can't imagine what the noise was like on the lower floor rooms which were even closer) Not the hotel's fault but be aware if you are a light sleeper!

I liked this hotel a lot more than the Lenox - the rooms were fresher and less old fashioned. And although the hotel is still in an old building its maintained to a higher standard.

Would use it again and would recommend to others - particularly if you are new to Boston and want to walk to the major attractions. Lots of places to eat are all around - you are spoiled for choice at this location.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, away from the street noise if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
Green Features: Difficult to say - they seem to change the sheets every day which surprised me (and they didn't need changing) No signs in bathrooms asking you to hang towels for re-use either? There was some info in the room directory but they didn't seem to make a big deal of any green policies in place.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A huge thank you to the Wonderful Loews Hotel, from check in we were treated so well, it was great to meet Rebecca who I felt I knew from our e mails going over and back, all your staff are a credit to your Hotel, without doubt each and every staff member enjoy their job. We did dine in the Bar, Restaurant and even had in room dining each was a delicious experience. Thank you also to Janette who took care of our room. If you are looking for a home from home experience, with a welcome that will having you coming back again and again just stay at the Loews

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.