We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back at Loews.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Like a Local
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
267 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Laid Back at Loews.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well located and laid back hotel. Close to Boston Common, Newbury Street, and restaurants. All worked well in the room. Was comfortable and had ample room. Did find a long hair in the tub, but human things do happen. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Greetings from Boston, A M, and thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the cleanliness issue. We do not take those issues lightly and I appreciate you bringing it to our attention. I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper who, in return, has shared your post with our Room Attendants and has used your comments as an opportunity to revisit training and the proper cleaning techniques.

Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies. If I may assist in any future travel plans, do not hesitate to contact me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    246
    64
    20
    3
See reviews for
192
302
25
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for business for 5 days in March 2014 and it was excellent! Beautiful hotel in a great part of Boston. Very convenient to lots of cool stuff in Boston. Very friendly staff and the rooms are very nice. Excellent doormen who always asked if I needed help getting a cab when I left for work each morning. I would definitely stay here again if in Boston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you, Matthew M, for you post. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and with 80+ hotel reviews, you certainly know your hotels! If you liked us in March, you will love us now with our newly renovated restaurant Precinct Kitchen + Bar! We hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great facility. Helpful, pleasant, and polite staff. Lovely, clean rooms with great space. Quiet - wasn't disturbed by the typical hotel noises (e.g. slamming doors, overly enthusiastic cooling systems, elevators running, neighbor's TVs, etc.) Fantastic location. All in all a great stay. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Suzanna K B and thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for completing our Guest Satisfaction survey. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great location and bed.Rooms are small but modern and well ventilated, bathrooms very comfortable.We had a problem with housekeeping that was well handled by the reception manager.The reception area is too small for the size of the hotel and the fitness room has inadequate space with too much equipment for its size and no space to lay a mat

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you, danjane, for your post. Please accept our apologies in that you do not believe you received the proper value during your visit and thank you for noting some opportunities for us to improve. We are reviewing some options for our Fitness Room and hope to identify some ways to improve the experience soon. Until then, should you visit us again, please let me know as we have relationships with a couple of high end gym’s within two blocks of the hotel and we can arrange for you to have a more complete workout. Please email me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com so I may personally tend to your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, we had a good sized room with a lovely bathroom. The service from all the staff was excellent, they were friendly and helpful at all times ensuring that you felt welcomed and valued The restaurant and the bar although not cheap were good with snart decor.
The only negative was that when we opened the room window there were a number of cigarette butts in the bottom edge of the frame ( no doubt from guests ignoring the no smoking policy), which was very unpleasant - perhaps this need checking every so often.
If we return to Boston we will stay here with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello jan221 and thank you for the review! As I have mentioned previously, our goal is to earn every guests loyalty and it is music to our ears to hear we have earned yours…Mission Accomplished! And while we appreciate the kind comments, we greatly appreciate bringing the cleanliness issue to our attention. Admittedly, that isn’t something we regularly check but I have shared your comments with our Director of Operations and Executive Housekeeper and it will be now! Thank you for mentioning an opportunity for us to improve and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the moment I arrived, all of the staff - from the entry door, to the check-in desk, to the valet, etc, - were wonderful, professional, engaging. My room was wonderful..great shower!!! The location was perfect for walking, driving, touring, getting anywhere I wanted to see in Boston. I loved every moment of my stay and hope to return again soon to Boston and would definitely love to stay at Loew's again. I have already told others about Loew's, recommending that they stay there if they visit Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Keryl D, not only do we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor but also recommending our property to others. A very heartfelt ‘thank you’ for the very gracious comments and for your support. The most rewarding comment for a General Manager to hear is that you will return when visiting again. We strive to gain every guests loyalty and we are so pleased to have earned yours. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spectacular customer service, warm and friendly - felt like coming home except better! Very pleasantly surprised with chocolates and champagne in recognition of our anniversary. Overall fabulous hotel, will most certainly stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We love the title to your review, Kathleen K! Thank you very much! We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate that you selected our hotel as the location for your special occasion. As mentioned previously, we challenge our team to create ‘WOW ‘ moments for our guests and it looks like we were successful! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.