We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loews Boston Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
1 review
“Loews Boston Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great facility. Helpful, pleasant, and polite staff. Lovely, clean rooms with great space. Quiet - wasn't disturbed by the typical hotel noises (e.g. slamming doors, overly enthusiastic cooling systems, elevators running, neighbor's TVs, etc.) Fantastic location. All in all a great stay. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Suzanna K B and thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for completing our Guest Satisfaction survey. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    194
    56
    15
    3
See reviews for
154
236
20
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great location and bed.Rooms are small but modern and well ventilated, bathrooms very comfortable.We had a problem with housekeeping that was well handled by the reception manager.The reception area is too small for the size of the hotel and the fitness room has inadequate space with too much equipment for its size and no space to lay a mat

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you, danjane, for your post. Please accept our apologies in that you do not believe you received the proper value during your visit and thank you for noting some opportunities for us to improve. We are reviewing some options for our Fitness Room and hope to identify some ways to improve the experience soon. Until then, should you visit us again, please let me know as we have relationships with a couple of high end gym’s within two blocks of the hotel and we can arrange for you to have a more complete workout. Please email me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com so I may personally tend to your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, we had a good sized room with a lovely bathroom. The service from all the staff was excellent, they were friendly and helpful at all times ensuring that you felt welcomed and valued The restaurant and the bar although not cheap were good with snart decor.
The only negative was that when we opened the room window there were a number of cigarette butts in the bottom edge of the frame ( no doubt from guests ignoring the no smoking policy), which was very unpleasant - perhaps this need checking every so often.
If we return to Boston we will stay here with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello jan221 and thank you for the review! As I have mentioned previously, our goal is to earn every guests loyalty and it is music to our ears to hear we have earned yours…Mission Accomplished! And while we appreciate the kind comments, we greatly appreciate bringing the cleanliness issue to our attention. Admittedly, that isn’t something we regularly check but I have shared your comments with our Director of Operations and Executive Housekeeper and it will be now! Thank you for mentioning an opportunity for us to improve and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

From the moment I arrived, all of the staff - from the entry door, to the check-in desk, to the valet, etc, - were wonderful, professional, engaging. My room was wonderful..great shower!!! The location was perfect for walking, driving, touring, getting anywhere I wanted to see in Boston. I loved every moment of my stay and hope to return again soon to Boston and would definitely love to stay at Loew's again. I have already told others about Loew's, recommending that they stay there if they visit Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Keryl D, not only do we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor but also recommending our property to others. A very heartfelt ‘thank you’ for the very gracious comments and for your support. The most rewarding comment for a General Manager to hear is that you will return when visiting again. We strive to gain every guests loyalty and we are so pleased to have earned yours. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spectacular customer service, warm and friendly - felt like coming home except better! Very pleasantly surprised with chocolates and champagne in recognition of our anniversary. Overall fabulous hotel, will most certainly stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We love the title to your review, Kathleen K! Thank you very much! We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate that you selected our hotel as the location for your special occasion. As mentioned previously, we challenge our team to create ‘WOW ‘ moments for our guests and it looks like we were successful! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I now live in Florida, but grew up in Boston. Stayed at the Loews for 3 nights to look at colleges with my daughter. Great Place! Centrally located in heart of city. Close to all colleges. Close to green line at both Arlington Station and Copley. Actually, easy walking to anywhere in downtown if you don't want to use the train. The hotel is beautiful and service is top notched. Staff bend over backwards to help in any situation (directions, restaurants...etc) Katie (? at desk from Tewks) very friendly and extremely helpful. Precinct bar/restaurant was great for breakfast but over-the-top for dinner. Best breakfast I've had in a while. Expensive but worth it. My daughter had the waffle and I had the brfst sandwich....awesome! Did not have dinner as it appeared very expensive and limited to choices. Seemed like everything else around hotel was 5 star dinning. I like the professional attire when traveling on business, but was trying to relax without the suit traveling with my daughter...if you know what I mean...Nothing close to hotel to sit back and enjoy watching the game in shorts. Kenmore stop or the Hayes Center had plenty of casual places, although it's about a 20 min walk.
If I had a vote, I'd recommend the precinct restaurant have some finger food added to their menu..at least at the bar area (chicken wings, cheese dip, nacho's...etc)
In sum....outstanding rooms....clean...modern...shiek....new...spacious
Staff.......the best!....Location to everything...great!
Would I stay again......without a doubt....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you charleygr for your review of your experience and we are thrilled to have earned your loyalty! Hopefully your daughter will select a college in our neck of the woods and we can become your home away from home! I have shared your review with all of our Team Members and especially Katie…thank you for your kind words. She is a recent addition to our team and we are thrilled to have her! We appreciate you noting her by name. And, yes, you absolutely do have a vote on the menu in Precinct! Since the restaurant only opened four months ago, we will look at revising the menus in the fall/winter and we will likely add a couple of the type of items you mentioned. However, should you visit beforehand, let me know and we will be sure to have some nachos or wings awaiting you! Just email me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A very nice hotel with all of the facilities needed. Well situated to get around all of the tourist sites without the need to use public transport. Friendly ,helpful staff, good size room with all amenities. Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Edicot! Thank you for your review of your experience, and for completing our Guest Satisfaction survey. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the States and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.