We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Rate Hotel - wonderful experiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st Rate Hotel - wonderful experiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You can read all the positive reviews for the Hotel facilities but I wish to comment as an experienced Traveller. I can't rate this hotel highly enough! Why? Because it is not just the perfect Boston location, beautiful modern rooms, excellent patio restaurant and bar, no, it is the superb Staff! Every one of them during our visit was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Don't usually like to "name names" but the Concierges, Klejuis and Heather were so helpful it was (almost :-) ) embarrassing, they made our stay very extra special. Thank you Guys!
We look forward to returning and the warm welcome at the front door from Brian, Tom and their Team.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    134
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
95
140
11
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited Boston for the first time on our 2014 tour of USA. We were really delighted with the three nights we stayed at the Loews hotel which was actually the old police headquarters. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Boston, shops, public parks and the freedom trail. Great restaurants all around too. The staff were extremely helpful whenever we needed them and the precinct was great for breakfast with super friendly staff. The rooms were just great, very clean, nice decor. The only tiny problem was that the fire alarm went of just after midnight one night when we were all in a deep sleep. The notifications system was very clear and asked us to wait for further instructions. It turned about to be a false alarm so we did not need to leave our room. I thought maybe would have left us a letter in the morning to explain what happened and maybe apologise for breaking our sleep. I have experienced this in other hotels around the world and again you don't know what's happened the next day so that seems standard. Other than that small hiccup the hotel is highly recommended. Stay in this hotel for business and pleasure

Room Tip: Book early and on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's not a large hotel, but the staff is friendly, the bar and patio has a fantastic atmosphere and the beds were incredibly comfrotable. The hotel is near almost everything, and there was no need to have a car. Our group rate got us here, but I would highly consider staying here again. Rooms are small but comfortable, but that was to be expected with this older building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel if you're visiting boston, the rooms are spacious and beautifully presented and it is extremely central.

We stayed here on a family trip and it was our favorite hotel of all of them, the service here is first class. This would also be ideal for a couples get away it does not cater directly for families, it seems to be a boutique type of hotel.

We had breakfast downstairs in their restaurant and I had the best pancakes I have ever had in my life. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear L0v3g00df00d,

Thank you very much for the gracious comments! We recognize that there are a number of great hotels in our area and we appreciate you selecting our hotel as your ‘Boston Home’. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, conveniently located in the Back Bay area. Within walking distance to subway, tons of great restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff are helpful and very nice. The hotel is well maintained and the business centre and fitness room were great. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate always available. Rooms are nice and well maintained. Upon our arrival we were told that our reserved room was not available. They upgraded us for just one night until the room we originally booked became available. Despite asking to remain in our upgraded accommodations we were moved the next morning into the originally booked room. Not nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Clayface08,

Thank you for your time in posting a review of your experience. While I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your visit, I can certainly understand your frustration with us not accommodating you in the original room you reserved and then having to change rooms.

Please accept my sincere apologies and please contact me at john.maibach@loewshotels.com so I may fully understand the reasons for your dissatisfaction. While I cannot change what happened, I’d like to understand what transpired so it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Loews Boston Hotel and were very pleased with the accommodations. Everyone was very friendly and the room was modern and very comfortable. The valet and concierge were very helpful! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Christopher K and thank you for not only taking the time to post a review of your stay but also completing one of our guest surveys! I have shared your survey and these comments with our Team Members and we are very thankful for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place to stay with our kids and our dog. Pampered from the moment we arrived with consistent good service from all staff. Clean and well appointed rooms, great sound proofing (we heard no one during our time there!), and we will be back on our next trip to Boston!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for the great review, DeeZee4! Nothing more enjoyable for a General Manager to hear we have earned your loyalty. I am disappointed that I didn’t not get a chance to meet your furry friend as I, on occasion, bring my yellow lab, Lola, to work…I am sure they would have had a ton of fun.

I hope to have the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.