We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a Quick Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for a Quick Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Was in Boston for a conference. Convenient location. 3 blocks from Amtrak Back Bay Station. Centrally located in a walkable Back Bay neighborhood that's close to Copley, Prudential, Atrium, etc. Friendly staff. Comfortable room. i will definitely stay here again during my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    163
    48
    13
    3
See reviews for
142
185
17
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel which is the converted old police headquarters in the city for 10 nights and it really was as good as all the reviews. Like any central hotel in a major city it's not the cheapest but thge rooms are of decent size and well presented. Lots of great amenities nearby, things to see, do and some fantastic places to eat. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the great customer reviews and were not disappointed. Perfect location, a few steps away from Copley Square, less than 5 minutes from two different subway stations, with Boston Common, Chinatown and the Prudential Center all at walking distance. Very nice ambiance, classy decor and lovely lighting, immaculate rooms with extra comfortable beds and soft towels, and last but not least top level service - far from being impersonal despite the hotel's size and category. Staff members go the extra mile to take care of customers and make the stay pleasurable. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Well firstly this location is great for exploring Boston so much is within walking distance for example the shops or even a short taxi drive to td garden or Fenway park.

I was greeted warmly in the location and checked in quickly. The hotel as all good hotels should have provide free wifi, it's not the quickest as you can upgrade but it's good to have. The room is clean and a fair size, however as I find when I travel the bathroom is in need of an update as the bath and shower are a little tired. The main problem with the room is the noisey air conditioning which comes on at random times. I realise old buildings and all but surely there are ways to put in quieter air conditioning so you don't keep getting woken up in the middle of the night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I really like this property. Check in was fast and friendly, check out the next day was equally convenient. The room was spacious, well appointed, and clean. Comfortable bed, lots of Keurig coffee, a mini-refrigerator, functional TV, excellent shower. Great location just off Copely Square. My only complaint is the free wifi really did not work, which is frankly unacceptable. Yes, it is available, but the connection speed was worse than a snail pace. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location to stay - right downtown in Boston. Very confortable rooms and beds.
It's an old police station complex that has been renovated - some old police memorabilia can still be seen in the basement level bar complex.

Breakfast offering was basic, but the night time bar offering more than made up for this.

I liked this place as it had windows that could be opened up slightly - so I didnt need to run the air con all night long.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have stayed for business many times at the Loews Boston hotel, and each time I have been glad that I chose the hotel. The people are very friendly, and the location is in a prime spot in Back Bay. The rooms are not huge, but many have glassed-in tile showers, which are very nice. The hotel is very clean, and has a lot of charm. The Cuffs bar in the lower lever is excellent - great food and great service. I highly recommend this hotel for a trip to the heart of Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TravelClick, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.