We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at great location in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food Credit
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quincy, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay at great location in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

All staff encountered were very helpful and friendly from doormen to check-in to maintenance. The room was very clean and bright during the day. The stereo there is a bit old with no iPod hookup and still has a tape player so bring a wall charger if you need it. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of sheets/comforters. Climate control panel is simple to use, just arrow up or down to desired temperature. My wife and I booked this for a good rate on Hotwire for our 1 year anniversary and the location was great, a short walk to our reservation at Top of the Hub in the Prudential building. We ordered a breakfast for the morning as well which was delicious. To order the staff leave a menu that can be checked off and left on your door knob before midnight, it'll be picked up during the night and ready for when you specify in the morning. There is valet parking and is a short walk from the Green Line.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    144
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
103
152
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

visited late following exciting trip to New York. The hotel was lovely and staff helpful. The hotel is well situated in the city. I cannot comment on food as did not eat at the hotel. The staff more than helpful. Would stay here again if in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arrived from UK tired and too early for check-in, but staff immediately found us a room. This level of customer service was matched throughout our stay. Friendly and well-informed concierge staff, and a perfect location for exploring the city and for restaurants, theatre etc. Very comfortable rooms with excellent standard of cleanliness and house-keeping - drinks and bathroom supplies replenished on a daily basis. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Situated just blocks from Boston Library and the Copley station. 10mins walk to Prudential Shopping Mall, the Loews Boston Hotel is a recommended choice.

Staff are friendly as well and that's always a plus. Room is comfortable and sleep is undisturbed with just the occasional police siren on and off.

Breakfast is not included but has great ala-carte items on weekdays and buffet only on the weekends.

Getting to Quincy Market is a short 4 train stop away from Copley to Government Center station. There is also Shaw's Supermarket beside Prudential Shopping Mall, and this has allowed me to stock up on some food items in the room as its hard to get food and water in the night.

Great hotel in great location with easy accessibility to the city's sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Last weekend my husband and I stayed at the Loews Boston Hotel with another couple. We had a double deluxe room with 2 double beds (room 448, I believe). Our stay was incredibly comfortable. We arrived in Boston late by train (Back Bay train station is ~4 block walk to the hotel). The hotel doors were locked which I expected at 2 am. Ringing the door bell, I was immediately greeted by the hotel receptionist who buzzed us. Finally, when we reach our room, all I could think about was sleep. The beds were comfortable and I slept like a rock. The next morning, we were rested and ready to explore Boston. I asked the hotel receptionist for a map and told her our general itinerary (Sam Adams Brewery, Harpoon Brewery and dinner at the Union Oyster House). She was very friendly and helpful and told us which "T" stops to use and the best route to get to our destinations. I want to thank her because although I had researched how to get to our stops, her advice added that extra level of knowledge that made traversing Boston easy. Overall, the staff at the Loews Boston Hotel was very friendly, from the doormen to the receptionist to the staff who brought us an extra set of towels. If I were back in Boston, I would consider staying here. My only complaint was that it was a little pricey for me, but the hotel was in a nice area with convenient access to the Back Bay train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited this hotel in September and would recommend it to any tourist.

The staff are excellent and the door staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room had views of offices at the back because we asked as usual for a quiet room.

The room and bathroom were very good and the dressing gowns were a nice touch.

We ate in the hotel and would recommend the fish and chips in the bar. The fish was delicious and very fresh, The hotel has the feel of somewhere that is under someone's eye. It is due for a refurb so will probably be more expensive afterwards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a fabulous 30th Anniversary stay at the Loews Boston in the Back Bay. I stayed here prior to Loews' ownership for a Marine Corps reunion. Nice place. This time, however, was far superior in many unexpected ways, and I believe, reflects the Loews philosophy of graciousness which we also experienced in Philadelphia. There is a sense of something special about the place, beginning from the moment we stepped from the cab. Each person greeted us warmly, without affectation. Every person on the staff seemed genuinely happy to work there; every exchange had a pleasant way of making our stay a positive and memorable experience. A good example is how, with so many guests, they somehow remember your name. Meaningful touches, like sending us fruit and chocolate covered strawberries, along with an anniversary card signed by the staff AND management, were a truly welcoming surprise. In addition, they thoughtfully put us in a room near the elevator to make it easier for my wife, who has difficulty walking.

As a former Jarhead who appreciates great leadership, I attribute the difference in this intimate setting to the hotel's overall management, which is headed by the GM, John Maibach. He is completely accessible and entirely committed to creating a great customer experience. His people all share that same, joyful interest. Also a particular standout is the night Manager, Robert, who couldn't have been more helpful.

When Mr. Maibach learned that we were unable to make reservations for our anniversary dinner at B&G Oyster House, he and his excellent Concierge, Heather, used their good relations there to reserve us the best seats in the house! We were greeted there by our excellent waiter, Brent, who poured us champagne and served us a house specialty appetizer, courtesy of the hotel. After a superb dinner, we were also treated to a special desert.

This is a clean, classic hotel, run in the stylish European model that I experienced working in some of the finest hotels in Europe. Even they might learn a few things from this stand-out destination. This is a place to bring your hopes for a great experience - and see them met, or likely, surpassed. Kudos!

Room Tip: If possible, tell them ahead what you are looking for. They do their absolute best to accommodate y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.