We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Loews Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% Off
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another great Loews Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Loews Boston on business, at the low season and got a great rate. As usual, they did a great job - spectacularly clean and well maintained, as well as great design. If it's in your price range, I would highly recommend this hotel - great staff, location, and rooms!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eloquentlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. The hotel is charming yet very modern and is in an excellent location close to shopping on Newbury Street, the restaurants of the South End and the T. The rooms were lovely with some nice features: spacious bathrooms, bathrobes and a great TV. The standout at this hotel is the service. They sent a bottle of Prosecco, a nice torte and a birthday card signed by several of the staff for my mother. Very thoughtful. Most impressive was Justin the valet - he went out of his way to try to help me find my phone charger which I thought I left in my car. He lent me his personal charger for a quick charge and then tracked down an extra charger from lost and found and sent it to our room while we were out. Fantastic effort. Excellent hotel, excellent location and excellent service makes this easy to highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've stayed at a number of hotels in Boston. Thought I'd try Loews , and was more than pleasantly surprised. Excellent front desk staff and concierge . Extraordinarily Friendly and very helpful.
Rooms are nice, good size bathrooms and king size room. But.. The winning solution was their restaurant. Excellent, superb and unique , fresh food choices. Dinner with two other big foodies who would also rate their Precinct restaurant very high!
We went out for lunch and wish we simply stayed at the hotel restaurant.

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was attending a conference at The Westin and wanted a smaller hotel nearby. Loews fit the bill. Room was on the small side however tastefully furnished, wonderful for a solo travelled but perhaps a bit tight if I were with my husband. Bed was among the most comfortable I have slept in ( when I'm replacing my mattress at home I will think about this one. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower ( not in all room types) and plenty of space. Lots of lighting both task and indirect. There's a room off the lobby with comfortable seating where I waited post check out before heading to the train. The staff are very helpful. Definitely a place to return to. Only issue was the safe, on a high shelf in the closet, difficult for shorter travelers to reach!

Stayed January 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. Hotel is beautiful and close to many great amenities. The rooms were on the smaller side but very comfortable and well kept. I particularly loved the heated towel rack! There is a great bar called Precinct in the lower level of the hotel. The hotel was a former police department and the bar is themed accordingly. I was at this hotel for a business meeting and the catering was excellent. This was some of the best food I have ever had at a business meeting. Would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank All7Continents7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I regularly stay at Loews, it is in a great location, very close to shops and restaurants etc. The one thing I occasionally complain (hasn't changed in all this time) is that they would leave you a tiny bottle of complementary water and you have to pay $7 for a top up. The bottle is also the same price if you buy it at the bar. Also, they would never renew your complementary bottle,so over a stay of a full week, they only give you 330ml of complementary water. Inadequate.

Also, the rooms facing the back are rather dark, if you intend to spend time in the hotel, try and get a room facing the street.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I brought my husband to Boston for a birthday getaway weekend (from Houston) and wanted to stay in an interesting and fun hotel. I quickly found Loews because of it's history as the former Boston Police Department. I liked the "feel" of the hotel and the ambiance that the restaurant pictures displayed. Prior to our arrival, I had conversations with Ellen the concierge as how to make some items special for my husband's birthday. When we arrived, I could not have been happier. The hotel itself is modern, but decorated with hints of its history. The hotel staff was polite and happy. The concierge, Heather, was AMAZING. LOVED her. She was always attentive and provided some very nice surprises in honor of my husband's birthday. They definitely went out of their way to make the experience special.
As far as the hotel, it is located very close to the Arlington subway stop and also Boston Commons (which is pretty much close to everything you would want to see as a first timer in Boston). The hotel restaurant, which we had a dinner and breakfasts at, was great. Highly recommend the clam bake and clam chowder for dinner and crab benedict for breakfast. The restaurant and bar area also pay homage to the police station history in the décor, colors, lighting fixtures, and photos hanging on the wall. One of the best features of Loews is that they had a coffee (all kinds: Americano, Espresso, etc) and hot chocolate machine in the lobby, open at all hours. When you are out touring in the snow and come inside, that hot chocolate is waiting for you!!
The hotel is downtown, so you will hear urban noises, like police cars, at night, but this was the only negative and it was not a huge deal. The professionalism of the staff from the concierge to the maintenance man as well as the historical experience in a modern setting puts this hotel on the list of places we will certainly stay at again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better in case of urban noise, like police cars, at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaibach, General Manager at Loews Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Carla H, I am thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations. I have personally shared your review with Heather and Ellen and they join me in thanking you for your kind comments. I have also taking the liberty of sharing your comments on our communications board for all of our team members to see. We are very appreciative for you selecting our hotel to celebrate your special occasion and we hope to be able to celebrate more with you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,875 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#41 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 5,461 reviews
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing