We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glen Head, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Loews is located in the back bay area but because it is a short walk to boyleston and newbury (the main areas of shopping and dining) -just slightly away from the hustle and bustle, it made the location perfect for us. My husband, myself and our 2 children (9 & 19) enjoyed our stay, the room, staff and room-service were all wonderful. Best of all, the Yankees won!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    196
    56
    15
    3
See reviews for
158
236
20
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with the family in one room. Room was a good size for 4, and very bright and clean. The location is excellent as very close to everything to see and do in Boston. Would definitely stay there again if in Boston. Cannot comment on the food in the hotel as didn't eat there at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We did some research before going to this hotel in terms of location. In this respect we were not disappointed as it offers a position mid way between the shops of Boydston Street and the Prudential Centre and the attractions of historic Boston and the harbour area.

The room was large and well furnished, and the linen was crisp, on very comfortable beds. There were nice touches in the rooms like the good quality coffee makers with complementary pods of coffee. More were available from house keeping if needed at no extra cost. Like a previous reviewer however, we would have preferred china cups than the paper cups which were not of much use after one coffee, and certainly would be more in tune with the star category of the hotel.

Having stayed at numerous 5 star hotels around the world we were not quite sure that this merited that high a rating, but it would certainly be higher than 4 stars, so 4.5 would be our assessment.

There were delicious complementary drinks on offer daily in one of the lounges, of particular appeal to both of us was the strawberry lemonade.

The staff were courteous, helpful and in the main eager to assist us. The door staff, reception staff and man who helped us with our luggage left us with a very pleasant impression.

The only downside we found were the breakfasts, which we found to be somewhat limited, expensive and we felt not of the standard we would of expected. As a consequence, we only ate there once.

Our overall impression was that we were very happy to have stayed here and would certainly consider it again on any subsequent visit to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I did a lot of research on the Internet before booking somewhere in Boston. We wanted a quality hotel in a good location, and that's exactly what we got. The premium king room was a good size, with a large bathroom. The room looked fresh and had a modern finish that still had that classic edge to it. The coffee maker is a nice touch.

Staff were friendly and very helpful, which always puts you in a good mood when arriving/leaving. A gentleman named Klevis was very helpful/friendly on arrival, as was a Canadian gentleman on check-out.

The one things we didn't do, was eat in the hotel - so we can't comment on that. The bar area looks nice though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really lovely hotel, beds very comfortable, rooms and hotel very clean, staff helpful and welcoming. Enjoyed my stay very much no faults to report apart from the breakfast although lovely was very over priced. For a hotel of this standard I would have preferred china cups instead of paper ones in the room and a kettle instead of/as well as the coffee machine because not everyone drinks coffee. There were no tea bags amongst the drinks selection. Also, the opaque glass in the bathroom door didn't provide any privacy at all. Hotel is very well located to be convenient for all attractions. It was a good choice and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent four nights at the Loews, Boston. Couldn't have chose better. We had a twin room, two queen size beds, bedding like silk, room opulent and very clean. Every member of staff made us feel comfortable and welcome. Concierge very approachable and helpful. Only negative was breakfast price. We felt it was rather high although cannot fault the restaurant staff or the food on offer. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice quaint hotel. Staff are friendly and it is well located.
Rooms are good, but the front doors seem to not be overly sound proofed, you can hear what goes on in the hallway which is a bit annoying.
But overall a very good stay

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a king. I got a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.