We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality went downhill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Quality went downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for the second time after 2years. Although I enjoyed my first stay, it was not the case for the second time.
As we arrived, no one helped us with our luggage nor opened the door for us. The check-in was cold and totally unfriendly.
The room was the same as I remembered but just really warned out. Less decoration, furniture old and dated. The air cond made lots of noise so impossible to have it on at night. Thank god, the weather wasn't too great when we were in Boston so we were ok at night. The gym downstairs is tiny.
What really did it though is that on our last day the fire alarm went on at 7am..... No one was sure what was going on so I phoned reception and they told us to go down. Once down at reception, no apologies just a: that's nothing you can go back up to your rooms!
We were checking out an hour later and the lady still didn't apologise about this (even after I mentioned it).... She however didn't forget to charge me SEVEN dollars for a small bottle of water!
Definitely not a 4stars experience... Won't be back and won't recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    213
    58
    15
    3
See reviews for
172
272
22
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels in the area. This by far was the best. Is it perfect, no. Is anything? When in this area of Boston, all hotels are priced about the same. However the difference from other hotels in the area was every member of the staff was friendly and courteous, from the Doorman to the General Manager.

The rooms were clean and fresh smelling and quite. I read several of the reviews and as did many of the reviewers had a great stay. I didn't experience the noise and I don't drink coffee so that wasn't an issue for me.

The hotel was recommended to me and I will recommend this hotel to others. Thanks for a great stay. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Property and rooms ok, previously this was the Back Bay Hotel and is not up to Loews standards. We turned the A\C off as it was noisy, and opened the window, we were woken at 11pm by building work outside which went on all night and continued all day. The hotel claimed not to know about it despite there being a building permit, so they would have had to known. Even when the window is closed it makes no difference to the noise levels, the windows aren't double glazed. They offered us a late check out till 12' we demanded until 3pm so our child could have a sleep as he had been awake all night. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, not the standard I expected for a $ 400 night stay. It's on a pretty busy noisy road and next to an intersection anyway. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 830 and I think all of the rooms around the 28 and 30 on all floors are next to the lifts so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul,MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Paid $506.04 for two nights for a deluxe king room. Walking in we first noticed the carpet looked dirty/stained. The TV countertop also looked very dirty but was actually damaged. It just looked bad when walking into the room and was very noticeable. Room was large enough for the king bed but not much more. The bathroom garbage can foot control opener did not work, so we had to open with our hands. After walking all day we came back to the room and discovered that the room temperature was very, very warm (actually hot). We couldn't turn the heat down or off! We waited in the hallway until the problem was corrected by the hotel maintenance person. This problem was handled efficiently.
On the positive side the staff was very friendly. The doormen were always smiling and cordial. Starbucks coffee offered in the main lobby area in the morning, however there wasn't a coffee maker in the room. The location is very convenient to the subway or within walking distance to many sites. The bed and pillows were comfortable and we didn't have any problems with noise from the hallway or adjacent rooms.
Our room certainly needs some updates to improve it's appearance. Not sure I would pay this much for the same type of room again. Definitely not a luxury hotel room. If I stayed here again I would request to see the room first before committing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our first visit to Boston, and we scored this lovely hotel on Priceline. It's in a terrific location close to Public Gardens, Boston Common, Back Bay, in fact, we found it a great home base for walking everywhere in the area. The standard king room was a nice size, very clean and well-maintained, with blackout curtains and nice bedding, and had a huge bathroom with towel warmer, storage, and a motion activated night light. The complimentary toiletries were truly a step up in quality from the typical ones provided. I'm a light sleeper, so when the a/c kicked on, it would wake me up in the middle of the night, but it was easy to go back to sleep. From the time we pulled up outside, the staff were all consistently friendly and helpful. Brandon (valet) and the girl at front desk (didn't get her name) patiently and knowledgeably answered all our questions and offered good suggestions. The hotel is beautiful both inside and outside, and there was an attractive bar downstairs that had tables and couches outside we didn't get a chance to try. Can't comment on any of the other amenities because we didn't use them. Overall, give the hotel a 4.5, and the staff get a solid 5 stars for friendly customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Decided to introduce my husband and kids to Boston in June. Since I have not visited since my late teens, I really didn't remember alot about places to stay, eat, etc.... Loews was a pleasant surprise! You are never really sure if a hotel will live up to the comments but let me tell you that Loews in the Back Bay really did! Really great location and close to the T.(You can absolutely walk around boston and ride the T to get around pretty easily.)

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The hotel has an upscale appearance and a great value, when you consider others that are comparable. I cannot say enough about the staff. The front desk staff was helpful and always smiling (Maybe it was our accents and they just didn't completely understand us). And the concierge steered us to great places to eat and visit. She was always available to help us plan our days (we stayed 4 and saw alot!).

So if you go to Boston, give Loews a go! Very close to the commons and the Patriot Walking Trail! Oh, and I almost forgot...you have to do the duck tour and go to a Sox game!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located. It's modern, the rooms are large and the staff are friendly. We liked the fact that coffee making facilities were available in the room and that the shoe ploishing is free (although a good tip is expected.).
A decent breakfast is served at 20 Dollars and the bar serves tasty snacks. As everywhere in the US beware of the price of wine!!
We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Boston
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.