We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Boston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel) (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Would completely stay again. We were taken care of from the moment we arrived as valets helped us unload the car so my husband could return the rental car and I checked in. The bellhop and front desk were terrific. Well appointed rooms. Nice amenities -- robes, plenty of outlets so the three of us could plug in everything, great light switch system so no fumbling when you come into a dark room, a HMDI plug so we were able to watch Hulu. Cannot think of a thing to complain about. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Nice location in Back Bay. Not next to a "T" stop, but it's a 10 min walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    136
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
97
141
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Back Bay and would highly recommend. Central position, great for sight seeing. Rooms were large, elegant, comfortable and clean. Really good breakfasts and execellent restaurant for evening dinner. The busy but cosy bae also served good food. Large lounge area with open fire where after dinner we enjoyed a quiet read of the newspapers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel was amazing! The room was very well appointed and the bathroom was outstanding with both bath tub and shower. Really comfortable beds and nice linens.

Central location - walking to fun shopping and restaurants.

The service was outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good room size and really, really comfortable beds. According to front desk, Loews is in the process of renovating the entire hotel and should be completed soon. Our room had been completed and was great! Location was awesome for us. We were able walk to Fenway Park and Faneuil Hall. The only minor inconveniences to the entire 5 night stay was the lack of a microwave in the room and no vending machines. Eating leftovers cold is not my fave. Luckily, there is a CVS for the Coke Zero fix in the morning that is just a few blocks away. Nice, friendly and helpful staff. When we visit again, we would happily stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Found Loews Back Bay on Priceline Express so was a little trepidation as to what to expect. Had a great experience. Service could not be beat. Everyone from the doorman to the manager were helpful. Love the historical element - former Boston Police Station. We had to change rooms due to an engineering issue. The staff had no problem accomodating us and that room was even better! We ordered quite a few times from room service. Food arrived within 15 minutes. Loved the bathroom - large and up-to-date. The common area is pleasing.

Room Tip: Read what other viewers recommended so requested a high floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of March, we booked it through Virgin Holidays. We had a deluxe twin room that had two double beds in it and was a lovely size. The bathroom was spacious with a big shower that I could have stayed in for hours!

The beds were really comfortable, we were on the 7th floor overlooking the courtyard and never had any problem with noise it was nice and quiet.

The bathrobes deserve a special mention, they were like being wrapped up in a big cuddle!

The only thing the room lacks is tea/coffee making facilities but again this was not a huge problem, there is free tea and coffee in the morning by the lobby area but we did not know this until the 3rd morning as the reception area did not mention anything about it, so we kind of just came across it.

We drank and ate in Cuffs bar which was nice, the waitress from Virginia was really friendly. We did want to eat in the restaurant one night went down just after 9.30pm on the off chance to find it closed which was a shame

It is in a great location just a short walk to shops, bars, starbucks, tourist trolley stops and the subway.

We did the Old Town Trolley tourist trip which we booked in advance via Viator, this was brilliant and so worth the money, its valid for 7 days of travelling. We did lots of tourist things, Harvard, Boston Tea Party Museum (free entry with trolley tour ticket usually $25), USS Constitution (free tours by serving naval officers), Cheers bar. We also went and had a drink at Top of the Hub which is a bar and restaurant on the 52nd floor of the Prudential Tower, this gives fantastic views of Boston.

For shopping we went to Wrentham Common Outlet via the Boston Common Coach Co ($42) great for bargains, picks you up from your hotel and drops you back great service

Boston really is a walking city and you can get about by foot really easily, such a great city

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland MA, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Who knew that the former headquarters of the Boston Police had been transformed into a very fine hotel? Generous sized room, pleasantly decorated, with a large bathroom. Continental breakfast was reasonably priced and had a good mix of fruit, yoghurt and breadstuffs. Located between the shopping of Newbury St and the restaurants of the South End. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 944 was a very nice corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Boston Hotel

Address: 154 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly Loews Boston Back Bay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Boston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not often that a hotel embodies all that a city stands for, but the Loews Boston is just that place. Housed in the stately limestone building that was once home to the Boston Police Headquarters, our recently renovated boutique property is-like the city of Boston itself-a unique and unforgettable blend of historic charm, urbane sophistication and authentic New England hospitality. Our exclusive Back Bay location, which is ideally situated between three of Boston's hottest neighborhoods-the South End, the Theater District and the Back Bay-puts you in the heart of all that Boston has to offer, with everything you want to see or experience, including the shopping on Newbury Street, just moments away. If you are in town for an event at one of Boston's many colleges and universities, we offer effortless access to the campuses of Boston University, Boston College, Harvard, Northeastern, Emerson and Tufts Medical School, to name just a few. Our 225 spacious guestrooms, two luxury suites and an expansive Presidential Suite have been freshly renovated and bring you the ultimate in modern convenience and comfort. And our recently updated 1,024-square-foot Harrison Room-with its vaulted, 20-foot cathedral ceilings and crystal chandelier-is an unparalleled event space and the perfect location for your next intimate gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Loews Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel
Hotel Back Bay
Jurys Hotel Boston
Jurys Boston Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.