We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   811 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

A southerner, I went to Boston in January to investigate possible medical treatment at Dana-Farber. From the price, I expected I'd be staying at a big-city hotel with muffins or donuts and coffee for breakfast and few amenities. Instead, I found an attractively modern, comfortable hotel, with courteous and prompt no-cost shuttle service to and from the hospital and airport, and a full, hot breakfast available, at no cost, in the morning. A couple of local restaurants delivered reasonably priced dinners that didn't taste like fast food. Staff were pleasant and helpful. A pool and exercise equipment were available (alas, I left my bathing suit at home), as were rental movies and wifi connection. My only regret was not having time to get to the Fine Arts Museum.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    202
    90
    33
    20
See reviews for
160
90
54
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

the hotel itself was great cute pool area, good restuarant. rooms were great size. very comfortable...only draw back was location...we were told the shuttle would take us to fenway but when we got there we were told it drops you a few blocks away from fenway which would be fine if we were not there with a child in a wheelchair. we ended up taking a cab which worked out fine. all and all great place not a great location

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Too bad this hotel is so far away. Shuttle makes it do-able. I would stay here again. Of course staying in town would be better, but price was about $140/night cheaper. Good shuttle personel from airport to all the other places to visit or eat,Pickup every hour. Few times we were too late for the shuttle. It was a $13 cab ride from Quincy Market to hotel. Great bedding.,

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in September 2007 in a king suite. While not large, the room was pleasant and clean with a refrigerator and microwave. The wireless worked well the entire visit. The included breakfast was OK to good, depending on the choices and saved us money and time. The shuttle was great; we used it both for airport transportation and to access the downtown area. The shuttle even took us to the JFK Museaum one morning (also great). The front desk staff were very accomodating. The pool on the 9th floor was very nice. Given the price of Boston's hotels, this one is a good value. My two complaints are 1. the location is away from any attractions/shopping/restaurants (need to use the shuttle or cab) and 2. no safe in the rooms. I would definitely stay here again if needing budget aoomodations in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Hampton Inn Crosstown is a very nice hotel. I would have given it a 5 rating except for the fact of its location. It is in a bad area of town and unless you have transportation accessibility, it's not a safe area. As for the hotel, it is a very clean, well-maintained facility with friendly and helpful staff. The buffet breakfast was a plus and the manager of the hotel mingled with the guests during breakfast, which I thought was good public relations. There is a Boston tour that comes to the hotel and picks you up. That was a real convenience. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to and from the airport. We did wait for the shuttle almost an hour, but that's to be expected in Boston. Another guest staying at the hotel told me that the shuttle never came, maybe because they didn't realize that it could be a long wait, so they took a cab to the hotel and the hotel was gracious enough to pay the cab fare. There is also a hotel shuttle that takes you to a few local destinations. I didn't take advantage of the service, but one person I spoke to said the service was very helpful. The hotel recommends that you do not depend on the shuttle for your total transportation. We were in town for a convention so it had it's own shuttle to and from the convention. My overall experience at this hotel was very pleasant and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We just came back from a stay at the Hampton Inn in Boston (Mass Ave) and I did something I had never done before. I sent a thank you card to the staff telling them how great they had made our stay. We came in on the red-eye flight and the shuttle was there as soon as we got our baggage. Ramon at the front desk let us check in early so we could catch a nap. Anthony and Bobby the shuttle drivers were fantantic and kept us laughing everywhere they took us. Everyone on the staff has a great attitude. The beds and the pillows were better than home. The girl at the desk (Elvira?) was so nice about keeping our bags for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Trust me after the dump we stayed in in Manhattan (Hotel Pennsylvania for twice the price) I would stay at the Hampton Inn in a heartbeat! I have stayed in hotels all over the world and never had such nice service.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

Over the years my family has had good luck staying at Hampton Inn’s. Hampton Inn and Suits at Crosstown Center was no exception. The staff was extremely helpful, from our shuttle driver at Logan Airport, to the front desk staff who allowed us to check in early and who, upon our checkout, held our bags so we could enjoy a final day of sightseeing. The room we had was a very comfortable studio with a nice kitchenette, spacious bathroom, and living room/bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and the entire room was clean. The only complaint regarding the room would be the curtains. They would not close and did not have any kind of light blocking. As a result, at night the lights of the city would come in and during the morning, the sun would wake us up. Besides that, the room was wonderful.
As far as amenities go, the pool was kind of small and cloudy and seemed as though it needed some cleaning. However, the complimentary breakfast was very nice and well stocked. Another plus was the free internet access (wifi) and the computers and copiers available for complementary use just off of the main lobby.
Located to the side of the lobby is Ground Round, a family style dinner/sports bar with American food. The staff at the Ground Round was friendly, however they were very slow with placing orders. The food was adequate. Located off of the hotel grounds, just across the street, is a Dunkin Doughnuts and a Quiznos Subs (both were very good options for fast food with friendly staff).
As far as location goes, the hotel is located just on the outskirts of town but only about 10 to 20 minutes away from most attractions. To make up for this, the hotel offers free shuttle service to many sites and has the ability to arrange a cab within minutes. The views are not spectacular either. There is a major construction site located right next to the hotel which was noisy in the morning and throughout the day. In addition the hotel is right near Boston Medical Center and you do hear a lot of ambulances, even at night. Finally, if you walk a few blocks away from the hotel, you end up in a kind of seedy area which I would not recommend visiting.
Overall, I would recommend the Hampton Inn and Suites at Crosstown Center. If you are on a budget and don’t mind being somewhat away from the attractions, than this is the place for you! We really enjoyed it.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center

Address: 811 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
#54 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Boston Crosstown Center features a unique, hip, urban design. The 175 room hotel which features 56 suites is conveniently located just off Boston's central artery near the world renowned Long Wood Medical Community. The room and public space decor are exciting, and reflect the comfort - and style of the new Boston.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Hotel Boston
Hampton Inn And Suites Boston Crosstown Center
Hampton Inn Boston
Boston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Boston Crosstown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.