We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and freshest tasting sandwich I have ever had. To die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salumeria Italiana

Salumeria Italiana
151 Richmond Street, Boston, MA
(617) 523-8743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Description: They will make a sandwich on fresh baked Italian with any meat they have in the case...
Restaurant details
Description: They will make a sandwich on fresh baked Italian with any meat they have in the case...
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best and freshest tasting sandwich I have ever had. To die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Browsing around on a Saturday night with a friend. Happened upon this place and after recognizing the name as a top rated place on trip advisor, my friend and I decided to check it out. Get the Italian sandwich on focaccia. Three types of lite, thinly sliced to order, Italians meats piled on top of fresh baked bread drizzled (on order) with imported balsamic vinegar and olive oil and other amazing ingredients. So glad they cut the sandwich in quarters so we have plenty left to take home. A must have when visiting the north end!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Maryland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great panini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Yes, this is a little Italian grocery store with an amazing selection of meats & cheeses. Order the original Panini. It is fantastic, filled with the staff's favorite salumi & a chopped olive dressing. Yum!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A delicatessen, not a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Delicious sandwiches, olives, imported cheeses, etc. We ate sandwiches there and then took some on the plane!

I really did get a feel of a true Italian salumeria.

This is definitely on my list to repeat on my next trip to Boston!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Authentic and Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is posted as a restaurant review (not my fault!), but Salumeria Italiana is not a restaurant! The closest translation of salumeria to English is, "delicatessen," and this place is that and much more. I cook Italian. Vitello saltimbocca, marinara, caprese, fra Diavolo, penne vodka, and on and on. This is the ONLY place where I will buy my provisions for entertaining with an Italian meal. That means driving in town, finding parking, walking however far. Simply put, if you want the best, this is where you will find it. Oils, vinegars, cheeses, imported tomatoes, olives, what Americans call, "cold cuts," breads, and a thousand other items in a compact space. If you need to know what something tastes like, the incredibly knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff will give you a sample - because they know (with me, at least!) you will buy it. There is a meat market nearby where I purchase my veal, sausage, etc. The two provide everything a cook needs to cook as though s/he were in Tuscany.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Don't miss this grocery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

They have a wide selection of groceries and are happy to tell you about the cheeses, meats, etc.
If you're traveling they have unique little items, easily carried home, that make great mementos and gifts.
The aroma is tantalizing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salumeria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salumeria Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.