We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - good spot for private party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hawthorne

The Hawthorne
500 A Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 27203
624-8717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service - good spot for private party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented out the side room for a birthday party. Fantastic atmosphere - it feels like you're borrowing someone's spectacularly-decorated living room...with full bar service. Great appetizers, cocktails (favorite is the Airmail) and relaxing atmosphere. The main bar was packed and lively, but great to have our own space. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    46
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Dunday Jazz Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The Hawthorne is a great taste of old New England. We went for Sunday brunch. There was a pianist with a bassist who played very nice music. The brunch was $19.95 and gave choices of three courses. I started with a melody of fresh fruit which came with some yogurt and granola. I then had eggs Benedict which was good but I've had better. My Mother loved the corn beef hash and sister had crab cake Benedict she said was great. I chose the flour less chocolate cake which was dense and moist. Most chose the doughnut bread pudding which they said was over the top! Nice cocktail selections for brunch as well. Service was the only lacking feature. Scornful looks when we asked for additional items, not one smile, sidebar audible conversation amongst them how they quit working at another near by restaurant as they weren't making any money..spilled a whole tray of bloody Mary's etc. I would go back for music and food though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Craft cocktails and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love the Hawthorne and a great stop for a cocktail before or after a Red Sox game. Very knowledgable staff but also friendly and helpful. There is a limited food selection - but it is very good and interesting choices, not typical bar food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A rare treat in Boston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While we are not huge cocktail people, The Hawthorne came highly recommended and did not disappoint. The atmosphere was genuinely friendly...everyone working there seemed to be happy to be there and to serve us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
2 reviews
“Lots of Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The drinks were terrific. If you get the pretzels and mustard - Be warned the mustard is hot! My favorite drink was the wild Redhead it was spicy and different in a good way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hawthorne also viewed

 

Been to The Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.