We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to fault!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International - Boston to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Boston
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   19 Stuart St., Boston, MA 02116 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Difficult to fault!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, and have to say it is really difficult to fault! Rooms and bathrooms are so clean, facilities are really new and modern, right next to a Citibank which was really useful for me. Bathrooms are really unique (and super clean!) - each cluster of dorms has a few single bathrooms (with toilet, sink, shower) which I found really convenient. Close within walking distance to all the big sights. Would be back again if ever in Boston solo!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    137
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
44
203
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for 2 night as part of an organised tour in December 2013.

We arrived just before lunch and as we were a big group, the hostel was good enough to give us our room keys as long as we didn't check-in until the afternoon. You can only park outside the hostel itself for a short period of time, so we unloaded our bags and left them in the secure storage room behind reception.

We came back about 4ish and headed to our rooms - 7 of us had a room just for members of our group. The hostel itself is really modern, with wide corridors and halls and new lifts. Our room had 3 bunk beds and a queen double - there were good sized lockers (everyone could get their whole case in the lockers, so security isn't an issue). Built-in behind your bed is an alcove with a light and 3 plug sockets, so you can charge you stuff by your bed - always handy. There was a vent through into next door's room and they did make a bit of noise early-on, but other than that, the rooms are at the end of the corridors, so are relatively quiet and we couldn't hear any noise from the street.

The beds were really comfy and the bedlinen provided (sheet, duvet & pillow cover, plus an extra blanket each) and the room were spotlessly clean. The beds are modern, so no creeking frames when you're trying to get in or out quietly! The wireless signal was good and the speed was quick. The only issue with the room was that we couldn't alter the air con - there was a plastic cover over it, but the room temperature was generally okay, even for December.

Next to our room, there were 2 bathrooms, which both had a toilet, shower and sink in them - one of these was also a disabled bathroom, so was quite large. Didn't have any issues with hot water, nor water pressure. It's also good that these are in the corridors, so if your bathroom's busy, you can just head to another one on the same floor.

There's a kitchen on the first floor (second if you're American), which had plenty of cutlery and space to sit. The free-breakfast was ace - waffles (sadly only on a Sunday), toast, cereals, porridge, fruit and yogurts, plus fruit juices and tea and coffee - the staff even wash your plates at breakfast! There's also a pool table, a TV area and some board games, plus a laundrette on this floor. There's a conference room too and because it was wet one night, most of the seating areas were quite full, so the staff let us sit in here which was nice. On the ground floor, there's a big lobby and a small shop selling food and drink. There're also free cookies by the front door - really recommend these! There was a film night down here one night too.

Location-wise it took us about 5 mins to walk to Boston Common (you can start the touristy things from here). You're also just around the corner from the main shopping street, Washington St., which is great.

Overall, I was really impressed with this hostel - the facilities are pretty much faultless and it's in a great location - I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed HI Boston for 3 nights. All 3 nights hot water NEVER came during a shower. I had to take a shower with dead cold ice-temperatuer water. I told this problem to a staff and he said it's not usual. Perhpas it only happened to me? hope other folks won't have this problem.

Rooms are cold so be prepare if you visit during a winter season.

Bathrooms and rooms are clean and seemed to be managed neatly. I loved their new facilities and interior decor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
This is certainly not normal. I'm terribly sorry to hear that our team was unable to resolve this issue immediately for you. I would not expect that you would have to deal with this for three days.

I'd be happy to refund you for your stay or provide you a COMP stay the next time you're in Boston to make up for the inconvenience. Please contact me at iain.baker@hiusa.org and I'd be happy to personally follow up with you.

Cheers,
Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

HI-Boston was a fantastic place to stay.

Very modern building, with plenty of facilities and super helpful staff. Right near Chinatown, the hostel is very well located. Easy to get to the subway and many of the main sights.

Pub crawls every night we were there were really fun. The tours that ran during the day were also good. A handy thing to know about those, though, is they generally consist of someone from the hostel simply taking you to an official tour - eg we went on the Fenway Park Tour, and they just take you to Fenway and show you where to buy tickets for the regular tour. It is good because you will meet a bunch of people from the hostel and you won't get lost. But, if the tour on the hostel schedule doesn't line up with yours, then you might as well just go and do it yourself.

Breakfast was pretty good - bagels, cereal, eggs, juice and oats (wouldn't recommend those, though) This was one of the few places in the USA where we had included breakfast.

Room was always impeccably clean, and great standard for a hostel. One of the best hostels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

You will be impressed by this hostel. Easy to reach on the subway system and close walk to town. Breakfast was included when we stayed and following a note on their website they managed to sort tickets for the basketball. Tickets that were advertised as 100 USD each were available for just 20 from the hostel.
Great advice given regarding the free Harvard tour which I would highly recommend. Would definitely return to this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hostel is in a great location near the Boston Common. It is only 18 months old, having been resigned a built in an old warehouse but to a modern and ecologically sustainable design. It is the best hostel we stayed in during our 6 weeks in the USA, and we stayed in some great ones!
Our private room was fitted out to a very high standard and the common areas were also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hostel clean, spacious and is ideally located downtown. It's really close to the subway, Boston Commons, the lovely green space in the center of the city ( which is the starting location for the Liberty walk), and really near the theatre district ( I watched a ballet that was only one block from the hostel). The hostel is large with spacious quiet rooms ( I stayed in a four woman dorm). There was a really nice free buffet breakfast and I met travellers from all over during this time. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. There were free lockers in the rooms. Very affordable too. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I chose to be in one of the dorm rooms that had less beds ( I think there were four beds) rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Boston

Address: 19 Stuart St., Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Boston 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean contemporary hostel with great amenities including free linen, continental breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International - Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.