We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect size, perfect spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect size, perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have been to Boston many times and prefer to stay on Copley Square area as this is close to many of the places we like visit. The Courtyard here is in a great spot two blocks from Newberry street and close to the shopping for my wife. The Marriott is near by but so much bigger and harder to get in and out of the hotel each time. The Courtyard is a much bette size and they have queen size beds for the family that needs two beds. That is a huge bonus for us when we travel with the kids. I would highly recomment this hotel as it was clean, friendly and not too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    286
    43
    8
    11
See reviews for
240
229
71
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights to attend a conference, location is good and services are fine. Breakfast is too good. WiFi is free in lobby and speed is good for Skype etc. Concierge was rude but front desk staff was friendly enough to compensate.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good hotel in a good location, perfect for a private visit or for business, location of this hotel is in a perfect place in a nice city. Public transport very close and convenient to the hotel.
Nice restaurants around the corner and a shopping mall to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is situated very centrally and is a great base to explore Boston on foot. The room was very comfortable and reasonably spacious. I only had breakfast in the hotel once and whilst there was a lot on offer I thought that it was quite expensive as were the bar prices. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a good neighbor, and is convenient location for spending the day exploring the city. It was very clean, safe, and the staff was very helpful (holding our luggage for us an extra day so we could explore more).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I got a great rate through priceline. Our room was very small and the television mounted on the wall in an odd place. But we were out so much that it didn't matter. The bed was very comfortable and the staff very nice. The gym looked pretty nice but we never got a chance to use it. The location wasn't bad either for sight seeing. The location was fairly central to everything we wanted to do. Boston is a great city. Go to Figs on Charles Street for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Boston can be an expensive city. On the weekend I stayed at this hotel, their website was showing rooms at $399/night! For that price, this dated property with irregularly shaped and compact rooms would be a horrendous value. Luckily Priceline came through and got me a room for $140 for the night. Even at that price point, the value was a bit dubious. But given what Marriott wanted to ask, I felt alright with it. As stated in other reviews, the location is fantastic. Amenities and decor standard Courtyard fare. Do yourself a favor and roll the dice with Priceline to avoid being woefully overcharged.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear VoyageurK,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not feel your experience was a good value. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us again to create a better memory for you.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square

Address: 88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Copley Square Hotel Boston
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.