We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersGold level
Stony Brook, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Second (or third) stay here - I think the best value in Boston. Rooms excellently furnished, beds very comfortable. Staff very friendly. (I had asked the desk Clerk for some parking suggestions in the "downtown" Quincy Market area. When I returned from breakfast (the doorman suggested the "Pour House" on Boylston Street), the clerk had not only printed out directions and maps for three parking lots / garages, but also found some discount coupons.) I always self-park in the Prudential Center underground garage across the street (only $ 28 for 24 hours with coupon.) Rate at this CourtYard was good (via e-mail from my Marriott rewards membership.) Love the big "bay windows" with seat in most of the center rooms. Only minus, which is not the hotel's fault, is that a new skyscraper is being built across the street, and during the week construction started at 7:00 a.m. Nonetherless, I get up early and will stay here again. Location is great. Around the corner is the "T" stop, a short walk to all the restaurants and bars on Boylston and Newbury Streets, and the shopping centers at either the Prudential Center or by the Marriott at Copley Square are within several hundred feet. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Center room with bay window. And self-park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear LIGINI,

Thank you so very much for your kind review! We are so pleased to have had the pleasure of welcoming you with us and we look forward to your next stay!

Warm regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    237
    42
    8
    11
See reviews for
203
191
63
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ryan Maliff and the rest of the front desk staff of the Courtyard Copley were courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. The room had bay windows with beautiful views and the valet parking service was prompt and courteous. We walked around the Copley Square neighborhood and reminisced about the times when we were students in Boston 35 years ago. We intend to be back to this hotel when we are in Boston again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Bomhin,

Thank you for your lovely review of our property. We are tremendously proud of our hotel, Ryan (whom you mentioned by name!) and our neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you again when you next return to Boston.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here thus past summer and loved it. Great rooms, friendly staff, and hundreds of great dining options within walking distance. Perfect place to stay if you like to walk around the city - it's convenient to just about everything. It is also reasonably priced for its location, and has the charm expected of a place in the center of one of the oldest cities in the United States.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear SoVeryCarrie,

We are so pleased to hear your lovely comments relative to your stay with us this past summer! We hope to see you again when you next visit Boston.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We liked this hotel, overall. We like its location, it's usually reasonably priced, the room is the right size, and the reception, like other Marriott Courtyard facilities, is very friendly and accommodating. Our request for a quiet room on an upper floor was accommodated. However, I did have a wish list that prevented me from giving this otherwise fine hotel five stars:
1. The shower was weak. It was barely adequate for shampooing one's hair, and the shower head could not be adjusted for flow.
2. Many Courtyards have nice little bars tucked near the reception and sitting areas- this one did not. Sure there are bars in this neighborhood, but none offered the option of having a nice, peaceful after dinner drink.
3. Breakfast was fine but pricey- even the continental buffet.

Still, we'll be back. Especially since we get good deals from Marriott for this facility, and it's in such a great location- a five minute walk from Back Bay station, across from Copley Place and minutes from many attractions in this area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor- try for the corner rooms with the bay windows. They are bright and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear JCArchT,

We are delighted to read your comments relative to your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast, location as well as being friendly and accommodating. I am sorry to hear that you did not find any of the many neighboring bars and restaurants in Boston accommodating for an after dinner drink. My engineering department has been made aware of your comment relative to the water pressure. Thank you for sharing.

Regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was late in registering for a business event in Boston recently, but delighted to find this charming hotel in the Copley Square neighborhood. Located away from the main street traffic, it was nonetheless absolutely convenient with great dining and beverages only a short and pleasant city walk. This is an old Boston "upper crust" apartment building given a new life as a charming small hotel. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Gyrfalcn,

Thank you for your lovely and sincere review of our property. We are tremendously proud of our hotel and genuinely hope you will return and allow us the opportunity to serve you again!

Regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice accommodations -- great location!! tucked around the corner from the big hotels... this hotel was a find for us on a weekend that everything seemed to be booked... STaff was very helpful.. although there is not a bar at the hotel there are options within a block...area was safe with many reasonable dining options nearby.. We had the full breakfast buffet that was well worth the price charged. Rooms were comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
Do tell cab drivers that it is the Courtyard on Exeter ST.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen F, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Tropss77,

I would like to personally thank you for your lovely and honest review of our property. We are tremendously proud of our hotel and sincerely hope you will return and allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Flanary
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel which has a nice bar / restaurant downstairs as well as is attached to the copley square mall. Comfortable accomodations, and got an upgrade to a nice 1BR suite. Very close to the Pru, trinity, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square

Address: 88 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Copley Square Hotel Boston
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.