We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great; hostess/owner is AWOL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Cappella Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Cappella Suites
Save
You added La Cappella Suites to your Saves list
290 North Street, Boston, MA 02113 (North End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Bluff, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location is great; hostess/owner is AWOL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Arrived after dark from Logan as planned, and couldn't get through the stuck gate to the courtyard to use the door code. Adult daughter jumped the 5ft. iron fence, and the friendly grocer next door helped out with a cell phone number...which rang inside the building, but no one answered. The code did open the front door, daughter slammed the gate open for me, and we lugged our bags up the 5 flights to our room. Very nice views, odd shared kitchen and unattached bath, but we were warned. The B&B breakfast was frozen waffles in the refrigerator, little cereal boxes, and a hank of bananas. Computer did not work, and rooms had quite threatening warnings about the consequences of not returning the maps provided (which were not provided). Location in Little Italy was superb. We chose a B&B to extend the experience, but a well-located warehouse would have sufficed as well. After 3 days, we lugged our bags back downstairs, passed an open door with a lady at a computer, said "We're leaving", and she answered "OK". Hmmm....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
65
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed here last december with some friends on a weekend trip to Boston. Great location, very friendly owner - we had a fantastic time and the idea of self catering made it easy for us to have a lie in following a late night. Would recommend. The only downside was the apartment we stayed in on the top floor did not have a comfortable seating area i.e. a sofa if you wanted to chill you needed to sit round a table. If a sofa was added this place would be perfect!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The building and the rooms are nice, and we were prepared for the five flights of stairs and the situation with the bathroom outside of our room and the fix-your-own breakfast. We had no problem with any of that. However, we DID have a problem with the fact that both our e-mail response from the owner and the letter waiting for us when we arrived indicated a direct phone number for our room, yet when we got to the room there was no phone to be found. We had given that number to our children so they would be able to reach us in case of an emergency, since we do not own a cell phone. We also found that the code given to us in the letter did not open the door to the fifth floor. Luckily there was a cleaning woman in the vicinity who eventually determined we had been given the wrong code and was eventually able to reset it and/or give us a new code (we're not really sure what the situation was because she could speak no English). Later on that evening, we tried turning the TV on and found it did not operate at all. There was a computer in the kitchen area right outside our door, which was a bit temperamental as well. I got it to work several times during our two night stay, but the woman staying in the other room on the fifth floor complained that she could not get it to work at all. She also commented on the lack of a phone in her room (but said her TV did work) and the difficulty of getting ahold of the owner. I kept an eye out for the owner every time I went out or came in, hoping to be able to ask where our phone was and how to get the TV working, but never caught sight of her except when we first arrived and she was in the midst of rushing off somewhere so could not accompany us to our room. The breakfast situation was convenient because my husband had to leave to work at 6 a.m. each morning, and he was able to grab something before leaving; and the location was also great for seeing the North End. That's actually why we chose this hotel. However, I can't help feeling we were victims of false advertising because of the lack of a phone and working TV--if there's obviously no phone in the rooms, why would she purposely indicate a phone number in those communications??? It seems a bit dishonest. I expect we'll stay somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay here and the warm reception of the Innkeeper, Tricia.
The room was comfortable, clean and good size. We had a balcony and great views of the Boston Skyline. Tricia was also very knowledgeable of the area and helpful with our restarurant choices and getting around Via public transportation.

Great value in every aspect.

We will definitely return with friends in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

This was our 4th trip to Boston but the first time we stayed in the North End. La Cappella has the perfect location in this neighborhood filled with wonderful restaurants. We stayed on the top floor in a very large bedroom which has french doors opening to the city views. Since the top floors were built less than 10 years ago, everything is modern and in excellent condition. The innkeeper, Tricia, was very helpful with restaurant & sightseeing recommendations. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We had the entire forth floor - which had two bedrooms - one of which had a balcony overlooking courtyard patios below and peek-a-boo tops of buildings. The best feature is the proximity to the Italian district. Felt like Florence. We happened to be in town during the Saint Joseph festival- a street fair with music, dancing, and food glorious food. The hotel was abundant in hardwood, brick, and decorative iron. Small liquor/grocery store just off the front entrance is handy. If you are taking a cab from Logan, make sure your driver knows how to get there before he turns on the meter.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at La Cappella 5 nights during a recent trip to Boston. The website shows quaint rooms in the heart of the north end. Since there were 3 of us, we got the second floor room, with no access to the kitchen for breakfast. We were okay with that, since the north end has some great pastry shops. The, Tricia, emailed us a couple of times before our visit, but we never saw her during our entire stay - ever! The room was up 2 flights of stairs. The room was very dirty, with hair in the shower from who knows how many previous guests. The bedding was thread bare and the furnishings were mismatched and looked like they were bought in a garage sale.

The area is extremely noisy at night, so we had trouble sleeping.

When we returned to the room at night we would see that the beds were "made" - meaning the bed spreads were pulled up. The bathroom was never cleaned, not even wiping off the counter.

The location is great, only steps from the Freedom Trail and so many great Italian restaurants, but we would never stay here again. There have to be other places to stay in the north end, or close that are better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cappella Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cappella Suites

Address: 290 North Street, Boston, MA 02113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Little Italy by the waterfront, our elegant but affordable suites offer a European setting and convenient access to downtown. Our 4th and 5th floor rooms are bright and airy, some with balconies and city skyline views. All rooms include a private bath, TV and DVD player, as well as complimentary wireless service and access to the kitchen area. Wander the North End's winding streets, visit the home of Paul Revere or Old North Church, sample delectable food or check the wares at the many boutiques all within a few blocks of La Cappella Suites. We are also in walking distance of Faneuil Hall, the financial district, TD Banknorth Garden, New England Aquarium, theater district, as well as universities, hospitals and government offices. We are just minutes from the subway and access to Fenway Park, the Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, Back Bay and the rest of Boston. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Cappella Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cappella Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.