We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Onyx” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
1 review
“Love the Onyx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

The Onyx hotel is a great place to stay in Boston. The hotel is a boutique style hotel like most Kimpton properties but what really made the difference was the staff. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are a little smaller than I'm used to but they are nice. The view I had from my room wasn't so great though. Overall the hotel was very pleasant. I highly recommend

  • Liked — The hotel staff
  • Disliked — Room could be bigger
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    290
    91
    46
    21
See reviews for
134
300
48
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

This was the first time I chose to stay in a "boutique" hotel in Boston. We got what was supposed to be a great rate ($180) plus taxes and parking and ended up paying at over $240. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in, and I have been traveling for 30 years. If you have read any other reviews on this site you will find reference to the maddening humming noise that actually made our room vibrate. The staff was over-friendly and the one hotel bar was closed for a private function. Complaints at checkout about the room size and noise were just ignored. Unless you are in town for a sporting event at the Fleet center you can do far better at hotels closer to Faniuel Hall.

  • Liked — bedding
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed four nights at this hotel. The location is great-close to the airport, North End, Faneul Hall, and T access. The rooms are a bit small but for the rate it was fine and comfortable for two of us. We also enjoyed the Ruby Room bar that they had in the lobby for a pre dinner cocktail.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto De Caza, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

This was an okay hotel. I found the rooms to be very small and bathroom was tiny. It was very 'boutique' type hotel.More modern than I like. Lots and Lots of RED. I wouldn't think it would go over well with a hangover. I had an early flight out of the country so it wasn't an issue....The beds were comfortable, not ultra wonderful. I think I would probably like to stay somewhere else next time. I can't say I was so thrilled that i would go back. It was nice. Just nothing too special.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The street it was on
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Onyx overnight. If you are not familiar with Downtown Boston, you will have trouble with finding this Hotel. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly. The room was an average size with a above average bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Overall, the Hotel is nice; however, if you stay on the weekend, and are a early riser like myself, find somewhere else to get coffee or have breakfast. Breakfast doesn’t begin until 8:30 on the weekends. It looked ok at best.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

Although the hotel itself appeared quite nice to begin with, we were met with problem after problem throughout our entire stay. Here were just some of the problems:
- There was an obvious sewage problem in the hotel causing a horrible smell of waste in our room in the evenings. We would come back to the room after being out and our entire room was overwhelmed by the smell.
- The bar staff were horrible. We went to the bar for a pint most nights and faced the same problem each night. The woman serving us was slow and most days, I believe, forgot that she was actually working. We would request our drinks and then just wait. On one night in particular, we asked for our bill three times over the course of an hour! Another night, there was a dj that set up in the bar (that just happened to be in the middle of the lobby) and they blasted music until the middle of the morning - It bothered us and we're 22!!
- The staff were consistently rude.
I would defintiely not recommend this hotel. It has mistakenly been given a 4 star rating.

  • Disliked — The fact that our room smelled like feces!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the states. We thought it was very reasonably priced and the room was a good size. The only negative was the area, but I guess that's why the rates weren't too bad.

We thought the staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.