We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Details!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast/Cocktails $1
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Attention to Details!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our stay at the Onyx was fabulous. This was our second stay at this hotel and it was wonderful both times. Their attention to our family was second to none. From the pet fish in the room to the special treats before the big game, nothing was overlooked. The staff were all incredibly friendly and made my entire family feel welcome. The gentleman who helped take care of our luggage was particularly kind to our son! Thanks again... we can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We think you are pretty fabulous Jill K - thank you for not only staying with us but for coming back to us!

I hope your time with us exceeded your expectations and I hope you choose to come back to us in the future.

Best,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    320
    107
    48
    22
See reviews for
164
352
52
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The Onyx Hotel was perfection from start to end. It truly feels like you're walking into a small European boutique hotel with the style of Paris or Milan.

I was greeting by the fabulous front desk team and checked in quickly and in a very friendly manner. I was informed my room was one of the first which have competed the new renovation.

Kimpton and especially this hotel, are all about the details. The room was spotless with colors, textures, patterns and lighting all completely thought out and in perfect harmony. The bright red stenciled wood desk harmonizes with the houndstooth carpets, gray and red wallpaper and cowhide lined mirror. Just an amazing feast for the senses.

My food and drink down at the bar was superb, as was watching the transition from quiet lobby bar to roaring post-game venue. The people watching here is great.

When my work travels take me back to Boston, I will for sure stay here at the Onyx!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I don't think we've ever been described as perfection - thank you ittessot! I hope you had a great time with us overall and look forward to hosting you at the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A perfect spot if you are in town for an event at the TD Garden.

We had one of the newly restyled rooms, very nicely done.

Save yourself some hassle and pay the Valet parking, it's worth the extra.

We did not join the crowd in the Ruby Lounge but it was a popular spot.

All staff were very friendly.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the review Joe B! Hope to see you amongst our guests in the future!

Best,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Dava at the front desk was excellent and arranged for us to stay in the penthouse suite at no extra charge for two nights of our stay after we informed the front desk that the bathtub drain in our first room was not working properly. The penthouse suite was great: comfortable, clean, and spacious, with a beautiful view of the city. We will definitely stay at the Onyx again the next time we come to Boston.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review Amanda L!

Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richford, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

*sigh, I can't list them all; we'd be here until next Thursday. The staff at The Onyx has done it yet again! Dava, Mike, and Ken made us feel like we were at home from the start. In my last review, I stated that this would be our "go to place" when we weren't on Longwood for medical business. No longer true. This is the place we will stay at when we are in Boston. Period. Absolutely LOVE the citrus waters waiting to refresh the weary traveler. Got to stay on the 10th floor this time and in one of the new rooms. Still cozy, still very true to what The Onyx represents: classy, clean lines, contemporary boutique design and ultra comfy bedding and linens. We headed out to dinner and got back to the room only to find that, once again, Dava and the gang made sure to put our child first, and left her a wonderful surprise in the room with a personalized note from Ken. We hadn't been there in about 9 months for medical reasons thankfully, and didn't stop to fill out the questionnaire when we made our reservations, so our names could have blended in with 100's of other reservations. But it was as if we never left. They remembered our first names, remembered our preferences for dining from last time, remembered small little tidbits about us that totally made the stay THAT much more to us. The piece de resistance was of course TONEY. We didn't see him when we checked in, but evidently when my husband and daughter were getting on the elevator to come back up from breakfast (which is exceptional in both quality and pricing) he hopped on the same elevator and after a few seconds blurted out her name and said Welcome Back!!! She has a memory like a steel trap for names and remembered him right off. He remembered she was a medical patient and wished her well. 15 minutes later there's a knock at our door and there's Toney with a get well gift. The Kimpton Group really has an asset in the genuine nature of the employees at the Onyx. Granted, no hotel wants to be known for treating their guests terribly, but my goodness. There's acceptable, and then there's exceptional and Onyx staff has cornered the market for exceptional. We can't wait for our end of school get-a-way trip! Thank you again for another pleasant and memorable stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Hi Carrie F,

I don't even know where to begin! Thank you so very much for the amazing review and for the shout outs.

I hope we get a chance to see you again,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Recently I stayed outside my normal network of hotels and gave this Kimpton hotel a try.

I was very pleased at every aspect:
Great service
Great room decor
Great location

A bit pricey but most downtown hotels fall in that price range.

It was great to enjoy the wine event at 5pm and they gave a gift card for a $10 drink.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us a try Pnieboer2, I am so happy you were not disappointed!

Hope you come back to us soon,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Onyx Hotel was exactly what we were looking for. We were looking for a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable hotel that was close to TD Garden. Faneuil Hall and The Science Museum is just a stone's throw away which was a plus. The staff was very pleasant and they gave us some great suggestions on what to do in Boston with our kids. We weren't able to take advantage of the restaurant at the hotel because we were constantly on the move. I am not a big fan of the parking fees, but with limited parking in downtown Boston, it is totally understandable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Great to hear we fitted your needs Donte T!

Hope you enjoyed your time in Boston,
Michal Penek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.