We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, very run down property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service, very run down property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whenever I book a Kimpton hotel I don't worry about the quality of the property and I anticipate a great experience - there are varying levels of comfort but this is the first time I've been flat out disappointed. The place is run down (furniture banged up, carpets are old and filthy - both the rooms and the common areas - and it smells musty). The service, as always is very good - friendly staff, seeking to provide a good experience - but they can't make up for the fact that Kimpton management has let this one fall apart.

Room Tip: Top level rooms have less noise from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
This one hurts but your feedback is appreciated. We have plans to refresh/renovate our lobby this summer and to do our guest rooms later in the year so hopefully this will address some of your concerns.

Thanks again,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    331
    109
    48
    22
See reviews for
174
377
55
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was a good base for exploring downtown Boston and near T stations if going further afield. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The Ruby room area was pleasant for drinks but I felt rather small for the number of guests using the hotel.
Complimentary tea and coffee am was appreciated as was the complimentary wine hour each evening,
No free drinking water in room was disappointing and the small bottle provided was $4 which i felt was outrageous. When paying a good amount to stay, a free bottle of water could be included!! The last hotel we stayed in was cheaper and provided all if the same facilities including plenty of bottled water........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I appreciate the feedback.

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Onyx is a boutique type hotel in a great location. It is right around the corner from TD Gardens and a short walk to the Quincy Market and the Freedom Trail. The staff was friendly and helpful in providing dining recommendations and directions when needed. The only down side was the room was a bit cramped, but the location and service more than made up for it. Although I wasn't traveling with a pet, this is a very pet-friendly hotel judging by the number of dogs I encountered in the lobby. They even have a bowl of water and a blackboard with their "pet guests" names on it. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay in Boston!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review and feedback!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I chose the onyx based on the reviews and the location as me and my wife went to see P!nk at the td garden. What an amazing location,close to faneuil hall,and the td garden,as in minutes.

We had email contact with Dava inquiring about parking etc etc ,fast response to all.

Dava made an already fantastic night out "Magical" I would highly recommend the onyx,pricey but worth the memories, Dava and the staff were exceptional.

If you are thinking about this hotel ,don't, just book it! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am glad you chose us and and even more thrilled that your stay was "magical", I will make sure Dava is recognized for the great service.

Thanks for sharing your feedback!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Awesome hotel and great customer service. Favorite thing about Kimpton's is they are pet friendly so it makes it easy and stress free when bringing our little guy with. The manager e-mailed ahead of time and asked if there was anything he could help us with before our stay or any special requests. Wine HH is a nice extra. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for choosing our hotels when you travel and glad we made you and your little guy feel right at home!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved this place! Great location, funky decor, friendly & helpful staff... My amazing experience started about a month before our visit when I emailed the GM. I never thought I would even get a reply. Not only did I get a reply, but it was a quick response with lots of detail! Thanks Joe! You are awesome :-)

I can't believe you had a room ready for us at shortly after 9am! How fabulous! That never, ever happens and we really appreciated that. We also thought the wine and snack tray was an extra special touch...

Thanks to everyone at the Onyx for making our short stay a perfect one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Glad you had fun, we think you are pretty awesome too! Thanks for choosing the Onyx for your trip to Boston!

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Another Kimpton property I'm very pleased with. Off for a long weekend to enjoy Boston and having a good hotel starts a good trip. Arrived at Logan and trip to hotel by GoBoston Shuttle was 10 to 15 min. Hotel was right by The Gardens and very easy to walk to the Freedom Trail and the main sites of Boston. A great farmers market about 3 blocks away to pick up snacks. The hotel was very clean, nice room, comfy bed and had their free wine happy hour each day I was there. A small restaurant in the lobby area I was able to get an appetizer to go with my wine. Bartenders there very friendly to talk to. The staff at the Onyx was very friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel suited all my needs and I saw many other travelers checking in and they all sounded and looked happy also.

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor and there was a Celtics game one evening and the noise level did not effect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Ahh the Farmer's Market, that means Spring has sprung! Faneuil Hall Marketplace is famous for their fresh fruits and veggies in the Spring, Summer and Fall. So glad you got to experience that along with everything great the Onyx has to offer!

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@onyxhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Jetsetter so you can book your Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.