We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel - comfy and great location in the heart of North Station!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool hotel - comfy and great location in the heart of North Station!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I. LOVE. THIS. HOTEL. Boutique and trendy....plus a block from Canal St. and walking distance to the T, Garden...awesome spot to stay! $10 credit to the mini bar in our room - whom doesn't love that! Comfy bed and nice pillows as well. You can also have a goldfish as company in your room for the night if requested. We refrained but it was nice to walk to our hotel tipsy from Boston Beer Works. Next time we are back in the city I am sure we'll crash here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
AND. WE. LOVE. YOU. TOO! Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    346
    111
    49
    22
See reviews for
177
392
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I just stayed for 2 nights at the Onyx in Boston. Typically I would book and some of the larger brand name hotel's (4-5 star) but I thought we could try something a little different with more of a boutique feel. I can tell you we were not disappointed. I stay at quite a few hotels and would come back to this one again if I were in Boston. The rooms are a little smaller than a typical chain but not an issue. They were well appointed and tastefully decorated. I think Boston is a walking city so exactly where your hotel is plays a big part. This is a great spot if you want to be close to the hockey/basketball action of the North End (Italian District). That being said, my wife and I walked the entire city from this hotel. Down to the commons, all through Newberry street, etc. So overall, great location. One last thing is that I was particularly impressed with the front desk staff at the hotel. Overall maybe a little younger than most hotels but in a good way. Their enthusiasm to help you was genuine. We had lots of sightseeing questions and some reservations for restaurants, and they were nothing but helpful (thanks to Dava and everyone else). Overall great experience at this hotel, especially for couples. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am impressed you walked the whole city, very ambitious of you! Our staff is the best (I am biased i know) so thanks for pointing that out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We just returned from the Onyx in Boston and we had a super time. Great hotel in a great area...never seen so many Irish pubs and bars. A stone throw from the TD Gardens where we watched the Celtics play (highly recommended for the atmosphere). We took our Labrador and Terrier with us and they were made so welcome...with a doggie bowl and treats in the room. They say they are pet friendly...and they really are!!! The room was great...complimentary wine and treats from the mini bar. The ambience of the hotel is wonderful...small and friendly, unlike some of the modern 'mall like' establishments. If you like to feel valued as a customer, then this is the place for you. We will be recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Sweet! I am glad you felt welcomed and thanks for recommending us to your friends. The more the merrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location for us, since we were attending a concert at the Garden, and also wanted to go to the North End for an Italian dinner, both short walks from the hotel. The staff was excellent, good continental breakfast. Room was a little warm for me while sleeping, though - thermostat wouldn't go below 65 degrees. Otherwise, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. Sorry that the room was too warm for you, but please know that our maintenance team has the ability to override that 65 degree setting should you need it. Just give the front desk a call and we will happily send them up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here Fri night 11/24 for a last minute getaway as we had tickets for the Celtics game that night. We did a quick search for hotels near the TD garden center and the Onyx came up. The spot could not have been better! Literally right around the corner from the venue for the game. Also, we got their at check-in time ( 3pm) and Fanueil Hall was also a quick walk from the hotel, so we decided to stroll around there before we grabbed some dinner. The staff at the hotel was very friendly, rooms were smallish but perfect for our needs and decorated very nicely. Loved the bed/ comforter.......... so nice!! Went to the Ruby room for an appetizer and drink after the game, very nice spot and atmosphere. Also, had breakfast there in the morning prior to checkout, food was good, prices reasonable. So, very nice hotel, great service would definitly recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are a stones throw away from the Garden (if you have a good arm), so we are definitely the perfect spot. Thanks for the great review! This is going on the bulletin board in the employee break room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I really liked everything about this place. The decor is sharp and modern. Room was spacious. Comfotable bed. Excellent complimentary wine at 5 pm in the colorful bar. The hotel is in a perfect location, close to the Freedom trail, Fannueil Hall, ect. We are runners and the hotel provided a good map of running routes that began right at the hotel door. The hotel is not cheap, but I belive it is good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
As an avid runner myself, a good map is important when you are in unfamiliar territory! Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First the good: the room was well furnished and comfortable. If a little small. The TV was enormous, and frankly was a bit too large, as it ended up dominating the room. Otherwise it was a good room.
However, i slept on the 4th floor, overlooking the street at the front. This street appears to be somewhere where trucks come to park up for the night. They leave their engines running whilst they are parked. I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, and each night was woken at 3 by trucks running diesel engines outside. This made my stay intolerable. The staff were totally ambivalent to this.
Otherwise the hotel was at best average. There's no atmosphere in the downstairs. The reception is tiny, and very cramped. They shut down the lift for an inspection right at the time when most people were trying to leave for breakfast, or to get on with their day.
All in all. i would not recommend this place. The location isn't great. The price is high. The rooms are small and tired in terms of decor. And the noise is unbearable.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room at the back and as high as possible (assuming that they don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnyxGM, General Manager at Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for the candid feedback. I wish we didn't have some of the city noises or as I like to call them "urban rythyms" that we do, so I apologize your stay wasn't more enjoyable. As for the elevators, they were shut down for state mandated inspections. I know the timing wasn't great, but it is necessary to ensure everything operates as it should (for all of our safety!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#11 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onyx Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel in historic downtown Boston, offers exceptional service in stylish surroundings. This gem of a hotel is situated on a charming side street within walking distance of the Boston TD Garden (Fleet Center), Bunker Hill, the Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall and North Station. The notable neighborhood is harmoniously met with the old-world hospitality of this Kimpton Hotel. The mesmerizing Ruby Room lounge adds to the bejeweled ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onyx Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onyx Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.