We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The College Club of Boston

Save Saved
You added The College Club of Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The College Club of Boston
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

everything was so pretty and cute
i would come here again when i visit Boston
i was very lucky to find a such place.
your money is worth it. maybe more than just worth it
friendly people
the place is quite and have cd player and a couple of CDs.
i cant really explain how good the place is
you can visit and try
you wont regret
just so great

they also have makeup remover tissue, shampoo, and hand/body soap.
cookies and tea, coffee, and hot chocolate

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    61
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
49
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Its been almost 3 months since my return from Boston, but I cannot stop thinking about my stay at the College Club. It has to be one of my favourite places thus far. I could live here and I would be happy. The location is ideal as its so central, the decor is absolutely amazing and its incredibly clean. I felt like I was at home at the College Club. Its the little things that add the extra element to this place, the books in the rooms, the freshly baked cookies in the dining area, the old feel and look of the place and the fact its nestled between residences, so one feels more like part of the community. There is nothing I could fault about this place and I will be returning. They just need to keep my room vacant when I make my reservation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We chanced upon this as a place tyo stay whilst visiting Boston for 2 days, with our 25 yr old daughter. It was a beautiful, gracious old building, tastefully renovated and offering peace, tranquility and a really great location for all of Boston's many sights! It runs as a B & B, 11 rooms - all doubles have ensuite bathrooms - the singles share a bathroom, one between two. We had a fold away bed for our daughter, in our VERY large double bedroom. We had the front room on the 2nd floor, overlooking Commonwealth Ave and with all the most tasteful of christmas decorations both in the house and out and about in Boston - it was amazing. Entery is by a keypad, which makes access really easy at all times. There are facilities for storing luggage and coats so that after Checkout and before Checkin, there is somewhere to leave all your bits and peices. Also the breakfast room is available for sitting and having a cuppa - day or night or even after checkout. We sat and had a drink and cookie (they are a house specialty, bked daily and freely available 24/7). We arrived into Boston by train from NY and realised that we could alight at Boston, Back Bay Station and easily walk (we only had carryon luggage) the 10n-15mins to the Collage Club, so convenient ( and return the same way). The rooms are very dark and make reading difficult but the very comfy armchairs can be moved toward the window to make this easier. We were very snug ( all the windows have shutters and blinds) - it was minus 4 celsius on our first day!!
Lots of great places to eat in the immediate vicinity - Bistro du Midi, Tico's, Geoffrrey's Cafe to name just a few. We walked the Freedom Trail, took the trolley bus tour and explored Beacon Hill. Its a very classy city. Not time for everything ut would love to have visited Harvard and Fenway Park. iIt leaves something to come back for!

Room Tip: We had a front room and didn't find any traffic issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

What a find! You cannot ask for a better location in the heart of Back Bay yet convenient to the South End, theater district and downtown. My room was comfortable, cozy and clean. The shared bathroom was spotless, and I had no issues with having to wait to use it. The continental breakfast was terrific. Checking in an out was a breeze. This is an amazing find at an amazing price. I would absolutely return on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Located on Commonwealth Avenue, it is centrally located for Boston's many attractions. Rates are reasonable especially for Boston. Floors have two rooms with bath and two rooms that share a bath. This time I shared a bath without encountering any problems. Elevator may be a little crowded at times but it's better than walking stairs. Rooms have a radio but no TV. My only complaint about the rooms is that they can be dark at night since there are no overhead fixtures. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Go for a room in front if you want a view but be prepared for some traffidc noise (Bostonians seem to be in love with their car's horn). Breakfast is adequate but go the The Paramount for a real breakfast. Staff very helpful in getting a room and at check-in.

Room Tip: Check the website for pictures and descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

Location great! Room rate was good. No tv not so good. Over all was happy for the location. We had a great time in boston! Close to everything! Got a 3 day tour bus pass and used all 3 days.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We loved our stay at the College Club in a large room with a lovely bay window on the second floor facing away from Commonwealth Avenue. The room was quiet, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. There are no TVs in the rooms but this didn't bother us. The hotel is in a fabulous location close to shops and the Boston Common. A good breakfast is included, as is free wi-fi. The only thing I didn't like was the liquid soap in the bathroom and the rough toilet paper! Apart from these very minor concerns, this is a great place to stay in Boston and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The College Club of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Club of Boston

Address: 44 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The College Club of Boston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The College Club's eleven guest rooms offer Back Bay charm and personal comfort to visitors. Six rooms have decorative fireplaces and private baths, while the five single occupancy rooms have shared baths. Each room's decor is unique to the college it represents. Free wireless internet is available. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered daily. Located in Boston's historic Back Bay, The Club is within walking distance of the Freedom Trail, Theater District, Beacon Hill, Public Garden, and Copley Square. There are many excellent restaurants and shops all within walking distance of The College Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The College Club of Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Club Of Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The College Club of Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.