We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compassionate staff in our time of trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-44 Charles River Avenue, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Shopping Package
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Compassionate staff in our time of trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My Dad recently had to come down from Maine to Massachusetts General Hospital for some vascular heart sugery. My Mom, sister, brother in-law, and myself were able to get two rooms at The Marriott Residence for the expected 7-10 day hosptal stay. We were offered a VERY reduced rate for the rooms under a program for helping families/patients at MGH. The reduced rate still included full breakfast and all amenities. Unfortunately, everything that could go wrong with my Dad's surgical procedure did, and this vital man of 72 years eventually was removed from support measures and died the next day. When we returned to the hotel late that night, we advised the desk manager of our situation and were able to cancel the remainder of our reservation without penalty. Lisa also offered us as late of a checkout the next day as we needed. The angel then sent me and my brother in-law back to our rooms with several cold beers on the house. The next day as we were checking out, Lisa had returned for another shift and asked us if there was anything we needed. As my Mom made her way to the lobby to get in the car for the ride home, Lisa approached her and offered her condolences, and a gracious sympathy card. Yes the rooms were clean and well appointed. Yes the facilites were nicely decorated and located. Yes the reduced rate helped us a great deal. But the most important thing to my family was that the hotel was staffed by friendly and compassionate human beings. They truly cared.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    186
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
201
142
25
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
home
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf was a great place to stay while we recently spent a 4-night weekend in Boston. While not “in the heart of town” it did offer some other benefits, like quiet neighborhood, close to USS Constitution, and close to stop #3 on the Trolley Tour. Also, the front desk showed us a shortcut, walking along the locks over the river rather than the bridge which was very windy. It is, literally, 8 minutes to the Boston Garden, if you’re lucky enough to have tickets for a Celtics or Bruins game. It was also less than a 30 minute walk to Boston Commons and 20 to the North End.
Rooms could use a little TLC, with newer TV’s and a better HVAC system, which was very noisy at times. Front desk staff was helpful with local places to grab a beer and sandwich – check out Max & Dylan’s, Warren Tavern, or Tavern on the Water (good appetizers and views), all less than 10 minutes walking distance.
Nice breakfast buffet, which was crowded, but the staff managed it well.
If flying into Boston, skip renting a car and pack your walking shoes!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Moldy bathroom. Bad smell in the kitchenette. Like a mouse died or something. Beds uncomfortable. Will not stay at a Marriott Residence Inn again. Especially for $175.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrett, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I want to apologize for your unpleasant stay and want to you know that your stay isn't a typical experience. I have reviewed your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and our team. Please accept my heartfelt apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Our daughter lives close so we always stay there. It is not a 5 Star but the service and staff make it so. Free WiFi and other amenities. We initially stayed in the Marriott in Copley Sq and found it to be overpriced and lacking amenities. Our first choice was the Residence Inn but all was booked.

A drop in to see our favorite Guest Service Supervisor found us a room, and as SHE had done so many problem solving non-isses over the years - WE will ALWAYS choose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I traveled to Boston alone to sight see. I could not have been more pleased with this hotel. The service was outstanding, the staff (Lisa, especially )was very helpful assisting me with finding a way around the city as well as great places to eat and shop
The complimentary breakfast was incredible too
I road the Upper Deck trolley to see the sights & walk around the city. I also walked across the bridge to the North End a few times. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone
I even took the Commuter Rail to Rockport to see the beach/ocean for a day - Spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is a typical Marriott Residence Inn with standard amenities. However, tourists will find its location inconvenient. The hotel is located on the far side of the Charles River just over the Charlestown/Boston bridge. Public trnasportation is not readily available. It is about a mile walk one way to the nearest MTA (subway/train) stop at North Station, and a little further to the stop at Government Center. OK if you're in reasonable physical shape, but what about when it is raining, snowing, too hot or cold, etc?

There is no taxi stand anywhere near the hotel. Cabs arrive sporadically, and the hotel desk will call a taxi for you, but at peak times and when the weather is inclement, the waits for a taxi will be long.

This hotel is OK if you have a car, but most visitors to Boston don't (and shouldn't) have one. On our next visit to Boston, we will choose a hotel that is more conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My husband and I had a reservation for a studio room and when we arrived at the hotel, they were overbooked for studios (there were two weddings going on when we arrived), so we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. The room was very nice and clean. The kitchen even had silverware, dishes, glasses, knives, pots and pans, and a dishwasher!

The FREE morning breakfast was always yummy, with your choice of waffles you made fresh yourself, yogurt, toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, eggs, meat, cereal (both hot and cold), juice, and coffee. Also, during the week, they have either free food or reception.

The hotel is across the Charles River from downtown Boston, but is easily walked in 10-15 minutes. It's also a five-ten minute walk to the Water Taxi that takes you to the Aquarium (and sites nearby, as well as a Metro stop). When you are downtown, you can easily either walk or take a subway to the Aquarium stop.

If you're going to be in town for more than a couple days, be sure to buy the 7-day Link Pass ($15). It's good for unlimited travel on the bus, subway, and the water taxi (without a pass, it would have been $3.50 from the airport to the hotel, individual rides on the bus or subway are $2 each and the Water Taxi is $1.70 per ride, so you can see it's a great deal!). We purchased ours at the airport and used it to get into town (we took the Silver Airport bus inbound to the South Station, then caught the Red line to Downtown Crossing, walked upstairs, then around the corner to Franklin and Washington Streets, and caught the #93 bus that dropped us off at Chelsea and Warren Streets, a block and a half from the hotel.) There's supposedly a faster way to get there (using the Blue subway, but since we weren't yet acquainted with their subway system and this was the route suggested to us, we opted for it and it worked great!)

We found the Link Pass to be a time saver (as well as keeping us from overtiring ourselves hiking everywhere), as it was easy to hop on a subway or bus to get between places that were quite a walk. And it was great taking the Water Taxi at the end of the day, as it was a calm, quiet, and serene way to end our day of sightseeing and it dropped us off a few blocks from the hotel.

Even though the price was way higher than what we normally spend on hotels, Boston is an expensive town and the price was not out of line with other hotels. I would definitely recommend staying here!
:)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Address: 34-44 Charles River Avenue, Boston, MA 02129
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Residence Inn
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.