We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stay Here - Exceptional Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-44 Charles River Avenue, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 77 hotels in Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stay Here - Exceptional Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My parents and I stayed here one weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be sure to return here when they're in town next time. The front desk staff is very friendly. They even helped us buy our tickets to go on the Boston Duck Tour and told us directions to places once we arrived. The bellman was also super helpful in recommending great places to eat nearby, one of which we tried and very much enjoyed- Max & Dylan's.

The rooms are just right in size and they have a view of the Tudor Wharf Harbor. I slept on the couch bed and it was as comfy as can be for a couch bed. They have a mini kitchenette area and large fridge which is nice.

The breakfast every day is wonderful! It's constantly being stocked with hot items such as sausage, eggs, bacon, hash browns, etc. They have muffins, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and a make your own waffle station which was almost always in use and busy. It's way more than just a continental breakfast and pleasantly surprised us- it certainly adds value to the room rate.

One of the best aspects of this hotel is its location. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the North End of Boston which is directly across the river. The walk isn't scenic, it's across the highway, but it's close at least. This hotel is also very close to TD Garden. West of the hotel there is a new walkway that goes all the way to North Point Park which is a scenic walk right along the Charles River and right under the Zakim bridge. Heading slightly east, the hotel is within walking distance to the USS Constitution & Museum, worth checking out if you have time.

Staying here is perfect because it's in close proximity to downtown Boston (especially the North End), but being across the Charles River it feels more relaxing and it sometimes doesn't feel like you're in Boston. It goes without question that my family will be staying here again next time they're in the Boston area- the friendly hotel staff, fantastic location and spacious and clean rooms make this place a fantastic hotel in Boston!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
The level of detail that you’ve provided for our future guests, especially regarding our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, is greatly appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your review. It’s always nice to learn when our location works out great for a guest’s stay and we truly appreciate your kind recognition of our staff. We’re delighted that your recent experience has inspired a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    152
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
155
115
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during the week of Christmas 2012. It was very close to the North End and we walked there daily for meals.
The suite we had was perfect for a family of four. We had two queen size beds in one room and a sleeper sofa in another room. We had originally requested a suite with a roll away but since the roll away was not available when we arrived we were given an upgrade at no extra cost. the room comes with a small kitchen and an eating area. Breakfast is served on the first floor near the lobby and it is a full breakfast. It is served on plastic plates which is no big deal. the breakfast is very filling and a very good value.
the only complaint I have is the bathroom, it needs to be ronovated. The bathtub is old looking and is peeling which is a little gross. It just looks very outdated. Staff was very friendly and very
helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Since we highly value all of the feedback that we receive, we greatly appreciate you sharing your impressions regarding our bathroom. Though it was our pleasure to accommodate you and your family during the holiday week, we truly regret any inconveniences that may have impacted your stay. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who writes a bad review on this hotel must be crazy! Everything from the amenities, to the location, to the service is excellent. My husband and I stayed only one night for New Year's Eve, so we weren't expecting much, but the front desk staff was wonderful in accomodating my preferences at check-in, even though we were early and the lobby was chaotic.

I've never felt the need to take down employee's names at other hotels I've stayed at, but I wanted to say thank you to Julia and Tiana at the front desk for making us feel so welcome. We booked a city view and really wanted to see the fireworks, so they were nice enough to give us a water view upgrade with no cost! And Raul in valet was helpfful. Although it was very busy for new years eve, the staff still took the time to give us the details on the hotel and tell us to contact them if we needed help with directions or restaurant recommendations.

The rooms are huge, great local attractions nearby, with a (small) but clean pool and fitness center and an amazig staff. What more could one ask for!! Thank you! We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to mention our staff members by name. We’ll certainly pass along your kind words! It’s always our pleasure to be able to accommodate the requests of our guests so we’re delighted that our staff could upgrade you to one of our Harbor view rooms to enjoy Boston’s spectacular New Year’s Eve fireworks! We’re glad that you enjoyed all areas of your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It was not our intention to stay in Charlestown for New Year's Eve in Boston, but our first choice hotel, right off the Boston Common, did not work out. So we used Marriott Points to try the Residence Inn. The location, though picturesque, seemed out of the way for our plans, but we knew we could make it work. And we did.
There are no subway stops close by, but North Station was less than a mile away. Happily, the snow that fell the day before had been mostly cleaned up and we were able to tote our wheeled suitcases along the streets, over the Charlestown Bridge, and right into the Residence Inn. It's visible from North Station, so finding it was no problem.
We were greeted warmly at the front desk and given a room on the eighth floor with a view of the beautiful Zakim Bridge. The room itself was the standard L shaped Residence Inn room, with a small kitchen and nice bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy, always a plus.
After a whole day of First Night activities and a dinner in the North End, the bed was extremely welcome for the short time between our return and midnight. Roomy, comfy, and very nice bedding (Pure, I believe it's called. No allergens.) For me, the lack of a heavy, typical hotel spread was appreciated.
Rather than go back into Boston for the fireworks show at midnight, we opted, thanks to a tip from the very helpful young woman at the front desk, to watch from the pier right outside our hotel. We were joined by a number of families, and a few locals, while we watched the beautiful pyrotechnic display over the harbor. The air was cold, but we knew our warm room was just steps away. The view was unimpeded by buildings and we could pretty much just look out, instead of up, which made it easier on our necks. It was delightful.
All was quiet over night, a plus, especially on New Year's Eve, we had a big breakfast that was included with our room. It wasn't made to order, but there was a big selection and enough for most anyone.
At check out, we were given a little Happy New Year gift of a Lindor Truffle and a Ghiardelli Chocolate Square, plus a fridge magnet for the hotel. A very nice touch to complete a pleasant stay.
Rather than go back over the bridge to North Station, we took the path, on Constitution Road, that went from the hotel, beneath the Charlestown Bridge (N. Washington), to Paul Revere Park, which is a dog park, but lovely for all to visit. We walked along the path, through a twisted pedestrian walkway, a set of boat locks, over the water, very close to the Zakim Bridge, and finally back to North Station. Looking back, we could see how close we were to the Bunker Hill Monument and The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides). We think we will probably be back for July 4. It is a very good location for sightseers, local or out of town.

Room Tip: Eighth floor, facing the Zakim Bridge was nice and quiet with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It was our pleasure to comfortably accommodate you after the New Year’s Eve events in Boston! No matter the circumstance, we’re glad that you found your way to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf and we’d like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. You are correct about our allergy-friendly accommodations. Our PURE Rooms are a healthy alternative for our guests to enjoy and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed a peaceful night’s rest. It seems like you really made the most out of your Boston trip and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back for the Fourth of July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in late December for family holiday visit to Boston. Great location. I was sceptical about the walk to the North End across the Charlestown Bridge, but it turned out to be no big deal, even in the snow. And there were lots of people doing it, even at night. And being in easy walking distance of Quincy Market, the North End, and the downtown stores was a bonus. During our three-day visit, we never used the car or the subway.

The hotel was what you would expect from a Residence Inn: rooms were clean and good sized. Hotel services were good, inlcluding a small fitness center that like everything else in this property has a great view of the skyline and the water. We had a two-bedroom suite for our family of four including two older teenagers and it met our needs really well, especially the two bathrooms. Desk staff was very helpful and recommended a great North End restaurant for dinner. And did I mention the views? We could see the water and the masts of Old Ironsides from our room and even the windows in the corridors had spectacular views of the city. We were very glad we picked this property for our holiday visit to Boston and had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
December is a wonderful time to plan a trip to Boston and enjoy all of the sights and sounds of the holiday season! We’re honored that you chose the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf and thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the many views from our property. We couldn’t be happier that our convenient location worked out so well and that our accommodations met you and your family’s expectations. No matter the occasion, we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We traveled to Boston to catch an OKC game for my son. The location of this hotel was perfect since it was right across the street from TD Garden. Upon arrival we were greeted by the valet who never once cracked a smile of any sort? when entering the hotel to check in we realized that must be the hotels policy because the front desk also greeted us in the same manner. We brushed it off went up to our rooms bringing our own bags up since everyone just looked at us as if we were invisable. We soon unpacked and off we went. We enjoyed a nice walk around the marina and to the battle ship then to the Oyster House for lunch which they more then made up with the friendly smiles! Woudl I travel back to this hotel? probably not even though I have traveled many Marriott's in my days just check this one off as a experience that was not much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Harbor view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. While your feedback is very much appreciated, we truly regret that your experience at our hotel did not match the high standards of customer service that we’ve set. We can assure you that your comments will be passed along to the appropriate departments to re-emphasize our commitment to exceptional customer service. It seems like you truly made the most out of your trip to Boston and the next time you are in the area, we hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family just spent three wonderful nights at the Residence Inn on Tudor Wharf. The staff was very friendly and the service excellent! The entire place was clean and well maintained. The free breakfast included a large variety of choices and there was always plenty of everything. As we left we watched the front desk staff deal with a difficult customer pleasantly and effectively, giving her excellent service even as she was unpleasant.

It was a quick walk to the T and near a very nice park.

We would certainly consider staying again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff members, as we couldn’t be happier to learn that your experience reflected the exceptional customer service that we strive for. A trip to the park sounds like the perfect way to spend a relaxing afternoon with the family and we’re glad that our convenient location worked out so well for your stay. Thank you for sharing your family getaway with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf. It’s so nice to read that you would consider staying with us again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Address: 34-44 Charles River Avenue, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Residence Inn
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.