We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-44 Charles River Avenue, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 77 hotels in Boston
cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

A great hotel! My husband and I traveled to Boston for some fun and we found it. This hotels location was perfect for us. We flew in to Logan and jumped on the T to get to hotel. It was very easy and cheap. We loved the hotels Charlestown location. The neighborhoods were beautiful ane we loved the Warren Tavern. The hotels location made it easy to walk to the North End, Thaniel Hall, even Newberry Street. I will say we are big walkers but it was all managable. The hotel was very clean with great views. We were very pleased over-all.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    152
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
155
115
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed at the Inn for 9-27-29th for a concert. Honestly, I wasn't thrilled with staying here but the hotel was paid for so I wasn't expecting too much. I read reviews about the parking behind the hotel but did it anyway. Our car had an alarm which was a rented vehicle and I took the chance. I noticed the day we left there had been some window glass in the spot next to me so it appeared as though someone's window had been broken into.

The location was great. This I cannot stress enough. Get a high floor room if you can. We aksed for a waterview but they were booked up. The room was clean and was big enough for us. I would think anymore than two people would be too cramped. The front desk was more than helpful and accomodating. They even printed out my boarding passes for me since I forgot.

Bunker hill was a short walk from the Inn and beautiful. Breeder's Hill, the climb of 294 steps was worth it and the walk around the neighborhoods was great. We walked to the north end right over the bridge and ate Pizza Reggina(cash only) and a great atmosphere.

We got to the Inn on Thursday, Friday went to concert in the evening and we really hustled to see everything. We accomplished quite a bit and my legs feel it for sure. When we have more time we will go back to Boston. It has a wonderful feel to the city with so much history and beauty.

Cons: Granted it's not a hotel they could have had a better selection of late night room service. Room service ends at 9:30 p.m. The parking is a risk.

Pro's: Great location. Good service. free breakfast with plenty to chose from. I would stay here again since the location was great and the people were nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

The Marriot had a great location if you don't have a car. It's a 10 minute walk to the T, right outside the North End (Little Italy). I stayed with 5 other women for a long girls weekend. We were accommadated with an early check in, the front desk was extremely helpful. They offered help even when we didn't ask. They called Duck Tours and booked tickets for us at the last minute and had the tickets faxed to us. We had requested adjoining rooms, but no rooms there are attached. We just had rooms next to each other. The rooms were clean, bright and cheerful and pretty comfortable. The couch was a little "industrial", but no big deal. The shower was wonderful, nice and big and a great showerhead. Beds were very nice also. The only thing wrong about the rooms were that we were on the 2nd floor and our view was the side of the bridge-the one with the Freedom Trail across it. Other than that -the rooms were great.

The breakfast you get with the room was better than some you pay for in restaurants. The selection of food was tremendous, always hot and always plenty of it. Coffee was good too. You could make a plate and bring it to your room if there wasn't enough seating. The lobby basically held the buffet which seemed a little odd-but as I said-if you couldn't get a table or you felt funny eating out in the open-go back to your room. The cafe was open for lunch and dinner-same set-up-in the lobby. Food is simple-sandwiches, salads, nothing special. With all the great choices just outside your door-go to the breakfast but forget about anything else. They do have a tiny "store" in the lobby for candy, beverages, frozen food and ice cream. A nice touch if you really need it.

Dollar for dollar the suite was well worth the price and the breakfast included made it even better. We never made it to the complimentary dinner-not sure what that was all about, but I heard the front desk staff telling people about it. The pier was nice and when the weather was warmer and all the tables were outside I'm sure it was very pretty. The airport is only 3 miles away, a great plus. The staff made sure we got a taxi van that fit 5 people instead of two taxis that would cost much more. I can't say enough about them-the front desk staff-my brother broke his glasses and they found some crazy glue for him. I would defintely stay at this hotel again and I highly recommend it when you go to Boston.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — the view
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

My husband, daughter and I stayed at this hotel Sept 13-17 in a waterfront suite. We were on the 7th floor at the very end of the floor. The harbor view was fantastic! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The morning breakfast was quite good and fresh. The walls are thin and we could hear conversations and the T.V. but they stopped at a reasonable hour. Location was good. Walking distance to the North End where there is an abundance of excellent restaurants and pastry shops. We took the water taxi and the T to get around to other parts of the city. We have no complaints and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We had a great stay at this hotel when traveling with our 8 1/2 and 5 year old. We had a room with 2 queen beds which was plenty big for us and the bedroom was closed off from the living area which meant when the kids went to bed, we could still stay up and hang out (and they could slip out into the living room in the AM to watch TV and not wake us up right away). The hotel had a great breakfast every morning--scrambled eggs, taco shells, potatoes, cheese, french toast, pancakes, cereal, oatmeal, etc. The indoor pool was small but just fine for our 2 kids every morning and no one besides us ever seemed to use it. We were able to park for free in a small "lot" right behind the hotel--we were told by the staff that we were parking at our own risk and were warned of a recent break-in back there but it's an extremely well-lit area, visible from the hotel rooms and we had no problems leaving our car there for the 5 days we were there. The location is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest T station (North Station) and getting around Boston was very easy from this stop. The water taxi was also only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and took us right over to the aquarium. It's also about a 10 minute walk to the North End which made for lots of great Italian dinners and pastries. Oh, and there's a small playground area in Paul Revere Park which is across the highway from the hotel and on the way to the T station. It's a pretty scenic location too, located right on the Freedom Trail and the wharf with some really nice views of boats and a very cool bridge that is lit up at night which the kids really liked. All in all, we were very happy with our stay, although it was a little pricier than we usually spend on a hotel. But...I guess considering we were all able to comfortably live within one room, our breakfast was included, we had a pool available, and we ended up not having to pay the $30+/night parking fees, it all worked out okay!

  • Liked — free breakfast, size of suite, good location to T station
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

This is a clean pleasant hotel in a great location for tourists. A quick hop across the bridge and you're at north station with easy access to the rest of the city.

The bedrooms are large and clean with a kitchenette. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable - despite jetlag I slept very soundly! The bathroom was the only disappointment - very small and somewhat shabby, although by no means dirty.

Breakfast was fine - there is the usual selection of fruit, bagels, muffins etc together with some hot food which varied from morning to morning.

We didn't eat in the hotel - Boston has some great eating places and we didn't think this would be one of them. However, the terrace is the perfect place for an early evening drink overlooking the marina.

Small gripe - we asked twice about public transport options into Boston if we didn't want to walk across the bridge and were told there were none. It was only towards the end of our stay that we found out there was a bus that went from just over the road, straight into downtown Boston. A little disappointing having wasted money on taxis.

  • Liked — The really comfy beds
  • Disliked — Poor local knowledge of staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

I used the Marriott website to book our 7-night trip to Boston. I debated between taking this hotel and another Residence Inn in Cambridge but ultimately decided on this one. The location was great because it was within a 10 minute-walk to the North Station metro stop or the water ferry that was also part of the public transportation system (BIG HINT: at the airport buy the weekly pass that gives you unlimited rides, then take the Metro line to the Aquarium, and from there take the water ferry to Charlestown. More interesting than a cab anyday.) The hotel is just off the Freedom Trail, and is walking distance to good restaurants, a supermarket (but it looks a little run down, especially if you are used to the Publix Supermarkets here in Florida), and a small branch of the public library with free internet. It is beside an office park and condos --- not in a typical touristy area but that works for some folks!

Don't bother eating at its restaurant because you can get better food at the same price (North End Italian and Todd English's restaurants are walking distance), although the buffet breakfast is okay (comes with the room). The rooms come with a full-size fridge, a cooktop, and a microwave so you can always heat up any leftovers. We had a king-sized bed and a sleeper sofa; comfortable for a couple and a pre-teen but probably cramped if you had 2 kids or an older child. The swimming pool was tiiinnny --- but then who comes to Boston to swim when you're from Florida? We had problems with our shower but the maintenance guy came and fixed it right away. When you ask for your room see if you can get a higher floor facing AWAY from the bridge, so you get a view of the water and don't have to deal with road noise.

I wouldn't mind staying here again but would like to suggest that their reception staff get to know the area so that they can give clear, concise directions to guests. Marriott should make it mandatory for all their hotels to have a printed fact sheet on hand with important info (directions using public transportation if available, location of nearby churches, supermarkets, etc.).

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Double billing of hotel stay vs prepaid package
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Address: 34-44 Charles River Avenue, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Residence Inn
Boston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.