We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Lincolnshire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just got back from a four night stay at this hotel. We couldn't fault it. It was ideally situated at Copley Square just a few minutes walk from the T station. The hotel itself is a bit dated but clean and the rooms are of good size with everything you need in them. There is free wi if in the lobby and use of two computers. For a budget hotel in the centre of Boston you couldn't go wrong. The front desk staff were the only thing that let the hotel down being very sullen, efficient, but not friendly and welcoming. To say you were in the middle of Boston it was very quiet and the bed was comfy. The breakfast was basic but more than adequate with Danish pastries, bagels, croissants and both English and American muffins as well as a choice of cereals and a couple of choices of fruit.
It is about a thirty minute walk to Fenway Park and roughly the same to the harbour.
Just be aware if ordering a taxi from around here. The hotel ordered us one to take us to South Station and we waited for it with our luggage on the main street corner. A black car stopped and said it was the cab we ordered so naively we got in. It had no meter and a cab which two days before cost us $7.50 to go to South Station cost us $30.00. We were late for a bus or would have stood our ground and refused to pay but when we questioned it the driver got quite aggressive and as we were three women we felt intimidated and paid it. This slightly soured an otherwise enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    170
    153
    62
    34
See reviews for
71
167
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in this hotel which we found to be excellent. The breakfast was very filling and healthy which is something that is some times missing from large hotels. Terri on the front desk was very friendly and helpful with great knowledge and information on her city. In all it was a pleasure to be a guest in this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was not expecting luxury or anything, but the room I stayed in for 2 nights at this hotel was not only dirty, dusty and needed a heavy does of re-decorating, the bed folded like a taco when my husband and I tried to sleep - it needs to be replaced!!! I had the worst neck pain from it. Also, the "Free" breakfast was meager and the in-room coffee was pretty terrible. I won't be staying here again for sure. Oh, and there is not any unloading room in front of the hotel so be ready to park your car in the nearby garage and carry your bags down the stairs to the street and carry them up the stairs to the front desk since there are not any bell hops!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, VT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here with another couple for a weekend of baseball, biking and walking about. While we were checking in the young lady at the front desk answered the phone in a most abrupt manner, then said quickly" I can"t talk to you ". Friend or foe? We all couldn't be on the same floor...even tho we'd booked in January....but we got to be across from the ice machine, a blessing because my knees were killing me the whole trip. The room was average.... but clean ...when you are not paying an arm and a leg, you don't mind as much. The surrounding area was wonderful for restaurant/ shopping choices and gawking at beautiful architecture. We zipped all over Boston on the "T"..... Breakfast was average but the green house like eating area was cool.... Loved the night light ..ankle saver...The shower power was great, the curtains really did shut out the sunlight and we slept like rocks......all good things. The garage next door totally took advantage of the fact that my husband lost his wallet and they would not honor the $27/ night agreed upon fee... showing them our hotel receipt didn't change their greed. But that is not the hotel's fault. And the wallet did turn up at the police station the next day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Boston Common Hotel serves a daily complimentary continental breakfast. A 24-hour business center offers computer hookups and wireless Internet access. Built in 1925, the restored lobby still features the original marble double stairway.Guestrooms at this Massachusetts hotel feature cable TV with all channels. Rooms include coffee/tea makers and separate sitting areas. Bathrooms provide Bath & Body Works toiletries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting better. Location was good for event I was attending but it is pretty small and hidden. ( Cab driver didn't even know it and took me to Boston Commonwealth hotel, so just make sure you don't make that mistake.)
There are no amenities that you might expect at other hotels for this price in other cities.

Bad for business travel - only wifi in the dark dingy lobby, so not inviting. Bad for romantic getaway - good for solo traveler on a budget.
Bed was clean and comfortable enough. But carpet and bathroom really lacking. Rusty and worn out fixtures. No deep cleaning seems to happen as dirt and guck hidden behind bathroom door, thick dust around carpet perimeter and around furniture.
Didn't use bag check as it was a common room where you dropped it yourself.
Really nice staff, but management needs to put some money and improvements into this place or it will remain a two star.
Price seemed variable. I booked weeks in advance but found about $50 lower rate on their site the night before I arrived - not sure what was up with that.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Checked in quickly and friendly staff. Room was very clean and comfortable at night. Bathroom was very dated but no biggie as long as it worked. We drove so it was a really good location to the highway and a parking garage across the street. Staying at the hotel got us a discount to park. It was close to an area that has been growing with great food locations. We'll stay here next time we come.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.