We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grungy, but well located.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Grungy, but well located.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel itself was pretty bad, the shower was really old and the bottom looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly. There was water damage in our room and it was really cold at night. The pictures on their website seem to either be false advertising, or we got a really bad room!

There were 2 good things about this hotel. 1) The location is great. It is down a weird alley/street, but it is right next to the John Hancock tower (you will never get lost!), and right by Copley Square which has a T stop, and numerous shops and restaurants nearby (including the posh Newbury Street). 2) The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    140
    132
    56
    30
See reviews for
62
152
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not our first stay in this old Boston hotel, I can remember the John Hancock vividly. Not as glitzy as some, but the staff bends over backward to make you comfortable. The convenience to the Back Bay and the rest of the city are unmatched. The continental breakfast on the beautiful veranda is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

FALSE Advertising Alert! This hotel is nothing like it claims to be. It's situated on a dank,dead end street, the whole place was depressing and smelled foul, the carpet was stained and the furniture was banged up. The bathroom door wouldn't even close because the toilet was in the way. I made sure to flip the covers and check the mattress for creepy crawlies and although nothing could be seen by the naked eye...I am not convinced! Didn't bothered with the "free" breakfast...I couldn't get out of there fast enough. The YMCA situated one building over probably offers better accomodations. I paid over $200 for the room and feel like I was robbed. Back Bay gem...my BACKSIDE!!!

Room Tip: The "Marriot" Copley Place has rooms for the same cost and a reliable name behind it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you are looking for something not so fancy, well positioned and comfortable look no further. This hotel is not fancy at all but it does look nice. the bed, bathroom and others were clean and fresh, the front desk staff was friendly and breakfast was served in the morning! i agree with all other reviewers on how great the location is! While parking is not offered by the hotel they give you a lower rate for the lot that is right across the street from it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is an inexpensive old school hotel that is in desperate need of a paint job. It is well situated behind Copley Square down a dead end alley. They advertise free internet but forget to mention they can't guarantee it in the room. The woman at check in when I asked her why they advertise it threw up her hands and said "Don't ask me. That's what I am told to say." I tried a new hotel this trip to Boston and I learned saving a couple bucks is not always worth it. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was so pleased with this hotel for a number of reasons. First off, it's right IN THE MIDDLE of Copley Square, so you can jump out and have dinner or grab the T at Copley and scoot around to anywhere in the city (or beyond). So, I flew in and got the T from Logan. Took the blue line to Government Center and then switched to the Green line to Copley Square. The hotel is right there in the shadows of Trinity Church and the Prudential. This is an historical building, so while it is old in spirit, much has been renovated and spruced up. Rooms are small, but adequate for most purposes. (We're not hanging out in the room. We're here to get out and do things!) What I loved about the hotel was that it had every amenity (big continental breakfast, computer and internet WiFi access, accommodating staff) and it's smack dab in the middle of everything. The Boston Public Library is right there, Copley Place, the Prudential Center with tons of great shopping, Newbury Street, night life, just everything you could want RIGHT CLOSE BY. This was particularly convenient because it was extremely COLD!!! There's a huge Shaw's supermarket two blocks away also, so you could buy a bottle of wine or something to eat and stop in at the hotel for a respite before running around the city some more. All-in-all, this is a great place to stay and my nightly rate was even better because I booked it online. Very very enjoyable! I am planning a summer trip to see the Red Sox and stay right in the city. None better!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been using this space for several years for working events and always stay overnight. Yes the place is older and the overnight room smaller than the more modern hotels. But the place is immaculately clean and the room rates of latter are multiples of the incurred cost of this facility. The public areas are spectacular with real character but the super bonus here are the staff. Arguably the most accommodating and helpful I have ever had the pleasure to work with - and I've used hotels in every major city all over the country. Many of the professionals who participate in events we run here - even long time residents of Boston - note they have never seen this place before --- and then tell us that they now routinely stay there when they are in Boston. Great location and well priced.
The sad part of this is that a Developer has snapped up this place for a fraction of its real value and will be knocking it down to build yet another 'luxury' multistory hotel and condo complex. Our loss!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.