We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served the purpose!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
West Springfield, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Served the purpose!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I want to give the hotel a higher rating because the cost was fabulous and the location to things to do and transportation was perfect but I can't. It is really old in the sense that it just looks worn out. It was clean but often looked unkept just because things were old and worn. It absolutely served our purpose of needing an inexpensive place to stay after an event we attended. And since we arrived later at night and left pretty early next morning for another activity we weren't effected by it too much. We did try to get water from the vending machine and that was sold out. That was a bummer. Breakfast was very continental but again, for our purposes, fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    140
    132
    56
    30
See reviews for
62
152
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My mom and I were out looking for an apartment in Boston so chose this hotel as it was conveniently located near Back Bay and South End. There were other hotels we looked at booking but went with this one as it had free WiFi and breakfast. That, however, was not the entire story. They did have WiFi... but only in the lobby, and it was so slow that my Blackberry was still faster to pull up websites than my iPad, which should never happen. We ended up going to a nearby Starbucks to use their WiFi. It sort of defeated the purpose of having WiFi to lookup the areas around the apartments however. Secondly, the breakfast was just sad, only coffee, juices and assorted pastries and dried cereal. You could get a better breakfast at Starbucks or Au Bon Pain nearby for about $5.

In addition to issues with internet and breakfast, the room itself was in need of repair. The knob to the bathroom was very loose and we didn't shut the door because we almost got stuck in there as the knob wouldn't turn. The main door did not fully shut on its own, and you had to make sure you pulled it shut. The room was very dated, especially the yellow bathroom tile. And the coffee pot leaked. Overall, not worth what we paid - would recommend Boston Park Plaza (which I have stayed in before), which is much nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The location is around the corner from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the Common.
The rooms are small, the furniture shabby and the carpet threadbare.
The "continental breakfast" was bagels, cold cereal and mini muffins and Danish.
The girls at the desk did their best with what they had to work with!
Don't stay here until they make big changes

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with my son for five days whilst visiting the city, the Cape and several games at Fenway Park. Conveniently near a T station, the room was comfortable, the breakfasts enjoyable, and the staff welcoming. A good atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you need a twin, insist. US hotels usually don't offer twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My close friend and I recently stayed here for 4 days on a weekend football trip to Boston. We didn't spend alot of time in the hotel so we weren't looking for luxury, just a comfortable place to catch some z's. The hotel is old but it served its purpose. The room was fresh and clean and the housekeeping staff were awesome and very friendly. The front desk girls and night security were incredibly fun to talk to and extremely helpful at all times. The bathroom was a little dated but it was clean so it was a minor detail! Complimentary continental breakfast was good as we were just looking for a quick bite before we headed out. Free wifi and access to the business centre allowed us to keep in touch with family at all times. I would highly reccomend this hotel if your just looking for a good room at a good price.

As for location this place is awesome. By cab its about 15 mins ($25 cab) from Logan International. Within walking distance is the Prudential (a must see at about 5 mins away) and Copley Square and Trinity Church (about 2 mins away). Trinity Church is stop 8 on the Old Town Trolley Tour which is hands down the best way to see Boston. Its also minutes away from a pile of convenience stores, restaurants, fast food joints, pharmacies and cafes so everything you could possibly need its just a few steps away. Most importantly though the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Back Bay transit station where we caught the train to Foxborough to see the Patriots play (the whole point of our trip).

If your heading down to do what we did then theres really no better place to be than this hotel. Good value, good people and wonderful location. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed for a long weekend (4 nights) for fun, photography, and food. Can definitely say that the hotel was clean, has a great location and a great staff. The hotel itself is a bit dated and the breakfast is adequate(good muffins). But the location is superb! Could walk for shopping,Newberry Street,etc. and the transport was at most a block away. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed two nights. Best thing about the hotel is its location -- right near Copley Square (Trinity Church, Public Library) and a very short walk to the Public Garden. Best thing in the hotel is the skylit breakfast room on the 5th floor. As for the creepy parts...it's a little hard to find the entrance to the hotel (we drove past it once), which is on a nondescript stub of a street right next to a parking garage. You can get somewhat of a deal on parking, but the garage (at least on the weekend, when we were there) is kind of deserted & you have to find the management office (and not just use the payment machines) to get the discount. Lobby quiet & spooky, though they do have security there at off hours. Room was small & bathroom (though was clean & functional) looked a few decades old. Like I said, location of the free breakfast was nice but the breakfast itself was on the bare-bones end of the spectrum of cold continental stuff. Would stay here again, assuming again that the price was right. Hotel itself felt perfectly safe but would not recommend the parking garage to nervous single travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.