We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in need of an update.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center) (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location but in need of an update.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for our recent stay in Boston after reading the reviews, so I had a good idea of what to expect out of it. The location is excellent: about a block from Trinity church, a few blocks from Newbury Street and a short walk to the nearest subway stop. The hotel staff we found to be very friendly and helpful in answering any questions that we had.
Our room was tiny. Once we set our bags down there was little to no space to walk around the room and it would have been too small to spend any extended amount of time in. The bathroom was adequate however the fixtures are in great need of being updated/replaced. We felt the room was cleaned prior to our arrival however since the fixtures and carpet are so old they appeared very dingy and dirty. We also felt that when we were sleeping and early in the morning there was a lot of noise coming from doors being slammed shut nearby and the noisy elevator which we were very close to. The breakfast was fine, nothing out of the ordinary was served but we each had cereal and coffee each morning. I would have liked there to be a larger selection of fresh fruit but was satisfied with the cereal. I appreciated that the hotel offered a discounted rate for the parking garage which was next door, it saved us quite a bit of money during our stay. The discounted parking ($23 for 24 hours) was one of the main reasons that we chose this hotel over 2 others that we were looking at. Overall our experience was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    140
    132
    56
    30
See reviews for
62
152
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands england
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

On first impressions the the hotel seems a bit dated and the fittings in the bedrooms are a bit old fashioned but the facilities are fine. Breakfast is served in a fifth floor atrium. It is all self service and very extensive. Free wi fi in the main areas and a business centre with free computers and printers

Just two blocks from Trinity church and Copley Square. great location friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was really nice... at some point in the past. The lobby was dark but had some beautiful stone tile work. The elevators mad quite a few banging noises that made use question the mechanical soundness of them. Our room had scuffs on the walls and chips in the multiple layers of paint. The carpets were in need of replacement, but even just stretching the wrinkles put would help quite a bit. The bathroom was tiled floor and ceiling with a color that hasn't been made since the
1970s. The shower curtain was stained black with mildew. For the price they charge for this hotel, they should be able to invest back into the property and modernize it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked at the Boston Common Hotel for an overnight. Front desk personell were very efficient and friendly. Because I booked on line through travelocity secret hotel deal I think they put us in the smallest room they had. Shower was fine and toilertries were provided. The blowdryer was better than my own. Continental breakfast was convienent. Parking was discounted to $23. The garage was adjacent to the hotel but difficult to get to. You got to the garage via the train station which was a bit of a maze.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wanted to thank the hotel for the great service...loved the breakfast included...total location! Just where we wanted to be...handy to subway. Great neighbourhood to walk in...great shopping and eating. This was our first time in Boston, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our stay was great! Air conditioning was working very well, we had plenty of fluffy towels and cleaning ladies did a great job through our stay of 4 days.
Internet is free, but only accessible inside common areas (lobby and 5th floor's breakfast area).
The location is GREAT: a short walk from Copley square and even shorter walk to Back Bay metro station.

I dare add that some employees at front desk should work a little on their welcoming skills... when I arrived and asked where and how we could pay for parking, the lady "aswered" with a condescending tone. Bad days happen in any job, but it's kind of disappointing when you're a customer paying a few hundred dollars for a stay! Anyways, later on, another collegue explained clearly where the parking office was. The fare is only 23$/day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was concerned when I read all the negative reviews, but my stay was great. Friendly staff on day and night shifts. Clean room and bathroom. Plenty of good towels. Strong shower. Good Internet connection. Quiet. Nicely painted walls.

Room Tip: 8th floor was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.