We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B near Jamaica Pond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Taylor House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
50 Burroughs St., Boston, MA 02130 (Jamaica Plain / Mission Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“B & B near Jamaica Pond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great B & B convenient an very near to Jamaica Pond, and restaurant scene on Centre Street, Jamaica Plain, MA. Fantastic daily breakfast with fancy egg dishes, fruit, Quinoa, homemade pastries. Coffee always available via Kuerig machine on 2nd floor, and great coffee served with breakfast, of course. In window air conditioner was noisy, but necessary in summer heat. No King size beds available, so can be a tight squeeze for some couples. Bathroom was small, but shower had excellent water pressure and good stream to relax in. Easy walk to public transportation and easy trip into downtown Boston or other sights. Always interesting to talk to other travelers at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    29
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
73
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We reserved the 3rd floor in this beautiful victorian home for our 3 day tour of Boston. Having come right off a cruise ship, we were greeted by Darryl & Dave-offered a lovely tour of the house & enjoyed some wonderful gourmet foods. The weather was extremely warm (not unual for the time of year) but airconditioners were running full board in each room. The location was actually very good for seeing Fenway Park, Boston Commons & the Freedom Trail. There is a lovely park & arboretum within walking distance. Our hosts provided us with wonderful maps and advice about where to avoid traffic tie ups. For not having traveled to Boston before, I found the location very nice and would stay again on future visits.

Room Tip: higher floors will be extremely warm & have plenty of a/c noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you have reason to travel to Jamaica Plain, a subset of the city of Boston, you only have one choice for accommodations there, Taylor House. There are no other hotels or BnBs in the neighborhood. However, Taylor House is so wonderful, even if you had other choices, they could not measure up to this place.

Taylor House is actually two houses next door to each other on a small side street in a beautiful part of JP, the Red House and the Main House, both just a stone's throw from the Pond. The two houses share off-street parking and are older beauties that have been thoroughly remodeled inside. Each room in the Red House is unique, and so is each room in the Main House, while people who stay in either house all eat in the same spacious breakfast room looking out on the carefully tended garden. We have been staying in Taylor House for over a year now during various trips to the Boston area and have sampled, as a result, 5 different rooms in the two buildings. They are all completely eclectic in décor, each one different from the next, and all very interesting with high ceilings and a mix of bathroom designs. My favorite room is the Agassiz Room on the second floor of the Red House. It has a larger bathroom than some of the rooms in the Main House, and has a tranquil theme.

None of this is important, however, in comparison to the marvelous food. Every single morning of the week, Darryl produces an elegant spread for guests -- various egg dishes, fresh muffins, always generous amounts of seasonal fruit salads, different side dishes to complement everything, plus fresh juice and coffee, and an array of granola and yogurt offerings if the main daily dishes are not enough. There is a very relaxed atmosphere in the breakfast room, and the Boston Globe and WSJ are always available. It's just so great there, no matter what you have on the schedule for the day, you'll want to linger over breakfast.

Finally, there's the live music one Friday night each month in the Salon on the first floor of the Main House. The room seats about 40 people and is always packed when Darryl and Dave showcase local musicians playing everything from jazz to blues to 'classical'. Tickets are around $10 at the door, many in the neighborhood come to listen, and the music is followed by a wine reception with more great nibbles.

Taylor House is a long block away from Centre Street in JP, the heart of the neighborhood, so you don't really need a car if you like to walk. You can catch the 39 bus to Copley Square, or walk 8 more blocks to the Green Street T station, which will get you to Logan if you know the Orange to Red to Silver route. Taylor House is beautiful, historic, eclectic, wonderfully located, peaceful, and comes with great breakfasts. Whenever we stay there, I always wish we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Agassiz Room on the 2nd floor of the Red House is great for two people. The Park Suite on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Totally amazed that this B&B has received so many 4 & 5 stars. Makes me wonder if they are written by friends of the owners!! While the house is indeed beautifully restored (enjoyed seeing the restoration pics) and the bed was very comfortable, most everything else was neglected. Let's start with the Pros - Nice plush bed with soft sheets which made for a good nights rest. The bathroom, while small, was very nice with thick towels and very clean. Window unit A/C did a nice job of keeping our room cool. The chairs in the room are in need of cleaning so I sat on the bed. The gardens were quaint but in need of upkeep and removal of overflowing stale ashtrays. We were the first to arrive so we had a nice little picnic with a bottle of wine. I'm glad I had a beach towel to throw over the chairs. Location makes it convenient to the heart of Jamaica Plain, which we really enjoyed. The breakfast was mediocre at best but did allow you to partake as late as 10:30 a.m.

Con's - The room did have a flat screen T.V. but it wasn't much larger than my laptop screen. Landscaping is not being kept up. Weeds and overgrown plants reach out and attack you while walking on the paths and main sidewalk. The garden hose is left out haphazardly across the walking path making it an obstacle course. There was a bag of mulch or fertilizer that had just been left sitting in front of a bench. The porch and entry walkway needed sweeping and tiding. Walking into the house (Arriving at 2:30 in the afternoon) the first thing you notice is the breakfast room with tables that have not been cleaned. I would definitely give a sanitation rating of F. The homemade trail mix along with other oats and nuts were left out all day without covering. Left over food and garbage was on the breakfast counters and in the sink. The sink still had food sitting in it with towels that were in great need of washing! The next morning during breakfast we had to use the microwave to heat the frittata ... Most disgusting microwave I have ever opened. It looked as if there had been multiple food explosions with no bother of wiping it out ... ever! By the time we sat down to eat I was coming unglued from all the uncleanliness. If this is how they keep the area that everyone can see, I would NOT want to see the kitchen in which the food was prepared.

The lower level of the house was dark and worn. Chair coverings are in great need of washing. There was not a room that was inviting for you to want to sit and linger. There certainly wasn't any music playing. Fresh linens were just sitting out on a dining room table with stacks of hangers. Had someone been there cleaning it would have made sense but they were still there when we checked out the next morning. We did not see one of the owners until later in the evening and then we were the ones that had to say "Hi" and introduce ourselves. We felt as if we were imposing on him. We saw the other owner during breakfast and he looked as if he hated being there! While my husband ate his toast one of the owners asked if he could go ahead and run our credit card. Like we were holding him up or something and it wasn't even checkout time yet. He never said "Thank you for staying" or "We hope you enjoyed your stay" or "We hope you will come back" ... Nothing!

We were in JP bringing our daughter her things from college as she has gotten a job in Boston. We told her and her roommate to never recommend this B&B to anyone visiting them in the future. This could indeed be a nice B&B if the owners would just put forth some effort. Most of us keep our own yards in order and eating facilities sanitary. I expected at least that much from a place I was paying a handsome price for. I came away telling my husband I never wanted to stay in another B&B. He has assured me that out of all the B&B's he has stayed in, this was his first negative experience. Maybe I won't give hope just yet.

I HIGHLY recommend eating at Canary Square. From drinks, appetizers and main meal, all four of us were more than pleased. The outdoor seating was so welcoming with the hanging pots of flowers and ornamental grasses providing privacy from the road. The pork tacos are incredible and my daughter had duck confit for the first time and loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great find! A beautiful B&B in a lovely grand Victorian home in a residential area of Jamaica Plain, outside of downtown Boston. Walking distance to a lake and the arboretum. Comfy beds, fun decor, delicious breakfasts and music!

They have been instrumental (really -no pun intended) in creating a venue for classical and jazz musicians to play in the early evenings- a beautiful aria was being sung by a talented singer accompanied by a concert pianist one night when we were there.

There is a harpsicord that was built by a friend of the hosts and artistically painted by another to resemble one which was present when they were in vogue. I have heard that there are concerts on this instrument at times.

These recitals are not intrusive if you are not into this, lasting maybe an hour with a small reception afterwards and they lend a charm to the wonderful home and gardens. There is a $10 donation suggested probably not even covering the dessert and wine reception afterward.

The breakfast is delicious and plentiful with 2 hot items every day plus a varying fruit salad, granola bar , breads etc. The breakfast room was self serve buffet style and a popular place. In addition to this you can make yourself a tea or coffee at any time at a little kitchen on the second floor, where there are also many CD's to choose t watch on the flat screen TV in your room.

Our room (second floor front left as you are looking at the house from the road) was spacious and lovely. Our bathroom , while a little small was gorgeous with trompe l'oeil clouds on the ceiling. Thoroughly charming!

Another plus is that, even though you are in a residential area with amazing examples of vintage architecture, you are a block away from great restaurants, a pharmacy etc. a booming Main St. Quiet and convenience.

We love the resident pups. Check out the website for details about their lineage. They are friendly but not intrusive.

We love this house and feel like it is a home away from home. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B&B in a restored Victorian home in the lovely Jamaica Plains neighborhood of Boston was a complete delight. Our room on the second floor, restored curved stairway, was spacious with TV and free WiFi. The bathroom, with large window, has an extraordinary shower with 4 shower heads and good water pressure! The bathroom itself has ample room for toiletries for two with plenty of clean towels.The rooms in this house all have names and wonderful period furniture, with ample space for clothing. Breakfast is served downstairs daily and is included with the room.. The second floor has a library of DVDs one can watch on the room's DVD player.

We were visiting a relative in a nearby hospital and received a substantial discount on our room because of this. There is parking in the small parking lot, but easy free parking on the street in this upscale quiet neighborhood. And the rate was surprisingly good: $135 p/night.

The house has gardens with a place to have breakfast outside in good weather, and we note a harpiscord and baby grand piano downstairs. Apparently concerts are held here.

We'll be back.

Judith Beiss

Room Tip: Actually there are two nearby houses on either side of the parking lot. We stayed in the original wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in historic Boston and had many places to choose from to stay. The Taylor House was definitely a good decision!! Dave was extremely helpful with info on how to get from place to place. And Darryl's breakfasts were exquisite!! We were within a few miles of everywhere that we wanted to visit and the accommodations were great!! I don't know that we'll get back to Boston, but if so, I know where we'll be staying!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 50 Burroughs St., Boston, MA 02130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Jamaica Plain / Mission Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Taylor House Hotel Boston
Taylor House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.