We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shenannigans Irish Pub & Restaurant

Shenannigans Irish Pub & Restaurant
332 West Broadway (D Street), Boston, MA 02127
(617) 269-9509
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #618 of 2,672 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Restaurant details
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Was here with a group of friends for dinner, I can highly recommend the steak tips they are very good as was the draught Harpoon IPA, nice clean bar with a good atmosphere and quick and friendly service, will certainly return on my nex trip to south Boston.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always excellent!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is one place in Southie I always hit when it's time to eat. Terrific staff, amazing food and big portions! My personal favorites are the Shenannigan's chicken pasta and the chicken curry.

The front of the house is always very welcoming and helpful, as well as attentive. Haven't had a bad experience yet!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good burgers/pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Shenanigans is a better than average place to eat among the many pub options in the Southie area. You get relatively quick service, a good burger [or pretty good Steak & Cheese] without much of a wait. In the summer they sometimes open the big front windows so it almost feels like a patio but is a worthwhile lunch stop within the area. I haven't been on weekends or at night so I can't rate the bar scene.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Consistently good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Their food is always delicious. Their salads are huge and all come with well prepared and seasoned protein choice of steak, shrimp or chicken. The turkey tips are hit or miss. There are times they are swimming in BBQ sauce and other times when they have just the perfect amount.

The daily specials are always interesting. They offer a lot of varieties.

One of my favorite wraps the California chicken wrap which is featured on the daily specials every so often is beyond amazing. Substituting fries for grilled asparagus is a nice touch. Lately they have been extremely busy during lunch h hours as I've noticed one of the Boston hop on hop off city tour bus lines now stops directly out front with bus loads of tourists. This kind of sucks as there have been times when we've had to wait for a table to free up or ended up sitting at the bar after asking others to change seats to accommodate our party.

Their homemade chipotle mayo is delicious. I highly recommend trying it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Went into Southie for lunch with my husband today. We wanted to try a place we haven't been to and we're very happy we chose Shananagans. I had fish and chips and my husband had a pastrami sandwich. Everything was fresh and made perfectly. Very happy and will return soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenannigans Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shenannigans Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenannigans Irish Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.