We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Westfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I booked this hotel through Groupon for an overnight stay in Boston to see a concert. We were immediately greeted by a friendly bellman and valet. The bell man took our bags and showed us the way to the temporary lobby entrance (due to construction). The concierge was also very friendly and we were upgraded to a junior suite at no extra charge. The room was beautiful, clean, and huge. The location was great. The T-stop was right next door and Bruegger's bagels is a short walk across the street for breakfast. We would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,307
    419
    78
    37
    12
See reviews for
885
827
141
576
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My parents, sister, and myself travelled from out west and were all extremely happy with the service we got at the Commonwealth. Rooms were clean, and the staff were all respectful and eager to help us pick out dinner options each evening. The view of Fenway was a nice added bonus!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel have great location. It have 2 excellence restaurant plus Starbucks and convenience store close. The hotel is very clean and personal was very friendly. I really recommend the hotel. We visit in January and it was pretty cold, but we could walk to a shopping near and it was very nice.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a quick overnighter in Boston and friends recommended this hotel. Have to concur - coolest decorated hotel room I've ever had - go Boston U! The Staff were friendly and professional. Renovations had no bearing on the quality of the experience. Excellent location and easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel Commonwealth is nice but it was being renovated while we stayed. There was construction noise. The lobby is nonexistent. The entrance to the hotel is hard to find!!! The staff was efficient but not really friendly. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location. Large clean rooms. Much better value than other hotels in the area. The lobby was under construction but I'd still recommend the hotel as a first option for anyone attending event or looking to stay in Fenway area.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCasillo, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our lobby renovation will be over in a few weeks and we are delighted to showcase the new look lobby and entry way to our guests. We hope you will return to us soon to see finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoyed this well situated hotel. Construction was the only downside to a great stay. Hotel had some construction going on and the Fenway view looked on to a steel structure with construction workers. ;)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCasillo, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Many thanks for your review. It' great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We are thrilled to be developing our hotel to accommodate more guests however we take very seriously the impact that this may have on our current guests. We do hope that the steps we have taken to ensure the least amount of impact helped you, triple pained windows ensure noise is kept out and we are pleased that many guests report not knowing of work taking place at all.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.