We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Sag Harbor, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I love this Hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. I recently stayed in one of the newly decorated Junior Suites. The vibe is that of a Boutique Hotel. The decor was clean, sleek and modern. The bed linens were of a luxurious quality with a high thread count. The bathroom was clean and elegantly decorated with great choices for wallpaper. I loved the fact that there was a decorative floor to ceiling curtain that could be used to partition off the part of the room that had a desk and two chairs to accommodate a work space for someone while keeping the sleeping area separate. The Hotel is in a great location and has the Island Creek Oyster bar and The Hawthorne (which serves specialty cocktails) within the building. Overall, this is a wonderful hotel and I would stay here again when visiting Boston.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,228
    398
    71
    36
    12
See reviews for
852
790
138
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth two weekends ago. The hotel has a great location and I was excited to stay at one of the top Tripadvisor hotels in Boston. When I got in the hotel staff was friendly and they even upgraded my room. The room was very nice and was indicative of what you would expect for a four star hotel.
The second night of my four night stay, the fire alarm went off at 2:30 AM. Of course, this is something that can't be predicted by the hotel. It took 30 mins to file everyone back into the hotel. Basically, I couldn't get back to sleep because of this incident and I was unable to attend the morning conference that I had flown across the country to attend.
This incident should not be indicative of a one star rating. What is indicative of the one star rating is the hotel's complete lack of customer service. After the incident with the fire alarm I emailed the hotel and asked for some compensation. Well, the hotel never emailed back, so I decided to call the general manager. I left a message with my email address and phone number. Unbelievably, the hotel still never responded to my request for compensation. Due to two attempts to contact the hotel regarding this incident, this hotel falls in the one star category. In fact, I think I would have better customer service if I would have stayed at a Motel 6.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here with our 3 kids in a suite for my husbands 50th birthday and it was lovely! The staff acknowledged my his birthday with a nice amenity. The staff was so friendly & accommodating! We had dinner at the Island Creek Oyster Bar and breakfast at the Eastern Standard, both terrific restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent hotel. Very close to Boston University, Malls and eating places. Found the quality of rooms to be great. Train station is next door, which connects the whole city and several other good places.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved it. The facilities were clean and beautiful, and the staff were very accommodating, including rebooking us into a room with two beds despite the booking error being on our end. The location was also very convenient to public transit, only some paces away from the Green Line's Kenmore stop on Commonwealth Ave.

Loved the view of Fenway. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Commonwealth for a family wedding in Boston. I was a little leary after my first encounter, which was the reservation phone call (on a scale of 1 to 10, was a 1). However a subequest call was much better. Valet parking, checking in and out all went smoothly, staff friendly and professional. Information about hotel amenities was not easily accessible, as the "tablet" in which it was contained kept "freezing, we had wanted to order room service but could not view the menu or prices. There was noise from staff walkie talkies in therror hallway, in the morning time, and through the adjoining room door at about midnight. Would stay here again, will be better when construction is completed.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth earlier this month during a business trip. The staff were warm, helpful and good humoured, with Sean and the door men being stand-outs! The location was excellent - upstairs from the Kenmore green line station and taxis were easy to flag at the front of the hotel. There are excellent restaurants within the hotel complex - the Island Creek Oyster Bar is a highlight. The rooms are beautifully appointed and quiet. It is an easy walk from the hotel to the Newbury Street shopping precinct. All in all, an excellent hotel and I enjoyed my stay very much.

Room Tip: The junior suite was roomy and quiet. The bed was super cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.