We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Mount Kisco, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stay in Boston every summer and try a different hotel each time. HC was nice, but not worth the price. Staff was extremely helpful and professional. Location is great. But otherwise it was rather ordinary. Lobby areas are bland and the layout of common areas is choppy and disjointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,084
    365
    64
    28
    10
See reviews for
798
743
135
509
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Commonwealth (July 18-20) on a recent trip to Boston to visit my daughter who was at the Boston Conservatory. HC is terrific!! The location is convenient to the Boston Conservatory, Newbury St. and Fenway Park. The property is very well maintained and the rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious. Both restaurants that are attached to the hotel are fun and loaded with activity - one is an oyster bar and the other is a gastro bistro. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful in recommending dining options. Boston hotels seem to be expensive in general and although HC falls into that category it was a great value compared to other choices that I considered. You will not go wrong staying at this property. Only one minor complaint - the hotel card keys were difficult to use while activating the elevator and room entry. Minor complaint and certainly not worthy of a downgrade in rating. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While not in downtown of Boston, this hotel is convenient to Red Sox and the Back Bay - easy to manuever the train and walk along Beacon or Commonwealth. Nice stroll along the River finished by a dozen or so oysters at the inhouse oyster bar with a cold frosty beer - doesn't get much better!

Room Tip: Higher up is better facing Fenway - you can't see the field yet you can see the Green Monster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel. The staff and service were friendly and extremely helpful. When they found out we were heading to MGH in the morning they offered a car service to bring my husband and I the morning of my surgery the and following morning for my husband to come back. It took the stress off of taking the MBTA on the two mornings.

The room was large and impeccably clean and comfortable we could see the big green monster (at Fenway) from our room.

If ever coming into the city again I would definitely check out staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for 3 nights during the 4th of July Holiday weekend. The location of the hotel is wonderful. We walked to Fenway Park in minutes, and were only a few blocks from watching the fireworks on the Charles. Newbury Street with its great shopping and restaurants is also a convenient walk. The first day of our trip was hindered by Hurricane Arthur, but the staff and amenities more than made up for it. The rooms are spacious and super clean. The beds are extremely comfortable, and I loved the big bathroom. We stayed in a Fenway Room and had an amazing view of Fenway Park, and coincidentally the seats we were sitting in for the game. We had breakfast in the room every morning. The food was amazing, and the portions were huge and definitely worth the prices. Hannah at the front desk is a gem. I swear she never went home to sleep. She was there when we left in the morning, and when we returned late at night. She always gave us a warm and friendly greeting, and was beyond helpful with any questions we had. She made us feel as if we had been staying there for years. Jeff, the front desk manager was equally as hospitable. Haney, the night manager, was extremely pleasant and helpful on the phone with me prior to our trip. Yohann brought our luggage to our room when we checked in, and was there again for us at checkout. He is so polite and personable. We will definitely be back to the Hotel Commonwealth in the future. Our daughter starts college in Boston next month, and we are big Red Sox and Bruins fans. The staff was an absolute delight, and made you feel like you were their only guest. The hotel is beautiful and has 2 of Boston's best restaurants attached to it. We ate dinner one night at Eastern Standard and loved it. I later found out that the room service food comes from there. Hence, our delicious breakfasts. If you have the chance to stay at Hotel Commonwealth - you will not be disappointed. I can see why it is the #1 rated hotel in Boston, and it is well deserved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We originally booked the Boston Harbour Hotel and then decided based on trip advisor reviews of room sizes to switch our booking to Hotel Commonwealth, and so glad we did......

Whilst this hotel is out of the main central part of the city, it's an easy cab ride away to Boston common etc or if you are feeling fit, a good walk (which we did easily on a slightly cooler day and enjoyed). It's obviously a great location if you want Fenway Park and Red Sox - we didn't watch the game that was on as we had a reservation to see the Blue Man show but enjoyed seeing fans turn up and we weren't troubled at all by the crowds around.

The hotel itself was lovely, very comfortable and room sizes large and decor beautiful. The beds were much bigger than other hotels we stayed at ( we are a family of 4 with 2 teenage daughters) and so comfortable, we had a great nights sleep and very quiet.

Hotel service was first class, very friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. They were fun people and not stuffy which is probably what this hotel is about - decor very contemporary and loved that everything was modern, even the suite details were on a tablet in room vs all that paper nonsense that usually covers the desk areas.

A big plus for this hotel is the Island Creek Oyster Bar which is attached to the hotel. We booked weeks in advance which you need to do as it's rammed. The food and service there was fantastic and it meant we could just fall into our beds from here. We tried to get in the second night as well but the wait was too long so we ate at the other restaurant attached (Eastern Standard) which was fine but nowhere near as good as Island Creek (and it's not meant to be - we had breakfast here too, it was fine, big portions so shared on the second morning).

Really glad we swapped our reservation to this hotel (although BHH did look beautiful and the wharf was a fun place to hang out) and trusted previous reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and will definitely consider staying here again. A bonus is how close it is to Fenway Park---an easy walk for day or night games.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.