We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, even for one night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous, even for one night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed with my husband when going to back-back Red Sox games. We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite, very nice! The room was spectacular and service was wonderful. The only thing I would have done differently would be to physically go to the restaurant for breakfast rather than have in room breakfast. Food was cold and just wasn't all that good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,405
    448
    85
    40
    14
See reviews for
934
864
148
595
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I hosted my daughters baby shower in the "Gallery" at Hotel Commonwealth. Kelly Shea, event planner, handled every detail well above my expectations. Service, food, staff, rooms, and cost was amazing. My family of 12 that was staying at the hotel could not of been happier. We now have beautiful memory's of my daughter, Amber's, baby shower. Eastern Standard staff was the best service I have ever seen and the food was to die for. I am back home in Detroit now and wish i was back in the comfort of Hotel Commonwealth for just one more day, one more meal, one more smile with the staff that i adore. Five Stars across the board. Thank You to Hotel Commonwealth. We Love You! Mary Bischoff

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Boston and I am glad that we chose Hotel Commonwealth for those days! Room, breakfast, staff, service - everything was on the highest level!

Don't hesiate - book your stay here!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We arrived earlier than the 'check-in' time & the front desk gave us the option to upgrade to another suite which was available.
Reception personnel were very cheerful & helpful. Give them 5 stars!
Very clean comfortable room. The bed was super comfortable.
Fantastic location, close to Fenway. Short taxi ride into city. Like the 12 noon check out time. We were allowed to pay a small fee to remain parked at the Hotel for a few xtra hours while we extended our stay exploring Boston.
Will be back again, soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Offering olde world charm with modern convenience at an amazingly convenient location. Attention to customer service is matchless. The Oyster Bar takes shucking to a new level. Local pale ales combine with fresh seafood made my day.
Would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I like to think I'm a harsh, but fair critic. If a hotel is going to have 4.5 stars on Hotwire you expect near perfection. The Hotel Commonwealth is very nice, but it needs some work. Here were some issues encountered during the stay:

* The room was missing an ironing board. A small table top one was brought to the room, but made ironing very difficult.
* There was a carpet staple sticking through the carpet. My wife stepped on this, but thankfully wasn't injured. We brought it to the Front Desk not because we wanted anything, but because we thought they should know. It was explained to us that the hotel was renovated recently. We suggested they have the staff look for such hazards.
* The TV in the sitting are of the room didn't work.
* When we requested non-feather pillows due to allergies they failed to bring the pillows to the room. We went to the front desk, and were told the staff member went to the wrong room, and they didn't know which room to go to after. Why didn't they call?

Overall the staff is very nice, the hotel is in a great location, and the facility is very attractive to the naked eye. I just feel that if you're going to get such a high rating you have to deliver a flawless product which the Hotel Commonwealth failed to do in this case.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here the weekend of the Red Sox home opener. I booked on Hotwire for a decent rate. The location is spectacular, just around the corner to Fenway and a short walk to the bars on Boylston St. We arrived too early for our room to be ready but were given the option to upgrade to an available junior suite for an additional $30, which we did. The room was spacious, especially the bathroom, and very comfortable.
On the negative side, I would echo some of the previous comments- noise from other rooms, including construction work on a Sunday morning(!!), water pressure was actually too hard, and biggest for me was the lack of a coffee maker. I really do like to have a cup of coffee before hitting the shower so there was no way I was going down to SBux. The lack of coffee and water in the room is the only reason for my v.g. rating, otherwise it would have been excellent.
We did order room service and while expensive, it was quite nicely presented and was delivered promptly. This is what the Commonwealth really gets- the service is outstanding. From the doorman, the front desk, housekeeping and the room service wait staff. All were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.