We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to Fenway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location to Fenway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We absolutely loved our hotel stay. We came in town for a Rangers/ Red Sox game and the location was perfect to Fenway. It was a short walk around the corner and the nicest hotel around. Our room had new carpet, a new bed and was newly renovated. We stayed in a junior suite that was huge! The staff was amazing. The doorman gave us a map of the city, circled all the popular attractions that he recommended and gave us directions to the nearest shopping. If your going to a game the Cask n' Flagon is great for a patio table before the game. The Eastern Standard was a great restaurant just a few feet down from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    406
    72
    37
    13
See reviews for
867
808
138
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My family stayed at the hotel for the home opener for the Red Sox. We have stayed there many times and the past and have never been disappointed. The staff is wonderful and is always willing to offer information and suggestions to make your visit special. The concierge was great in helping us to obtain tickets and assisted my husband in having a beautiful floral arrangement in the room. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We love the corner room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was in Boston for a conference. My room was very nice and clean. The service was excellent, and everyone I met was pleasant and polite. The hotel was in close walking distance to a cute shopping neighborhood and also an indoor mall. I will definitely return if in the area again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went to Boston to see the Red Sox opening day at Fenway and wanted to be in walking distance to the game. This is hotel is the perfect spot. We requested early check-in and were not able to get into our rooms right away. But they did get us in by noon, which gave us time to check in and get to the game on time.
it is a beautiful hotel, however, they have no amenities such as water in the room, or coffee in the lobby. they instead direct you to a restaurant at the far end of the hotel that is always packed, so you can't get a seat or a drink. if you want water for your room, bring it with you. And if you want a quick cup of coffee in the morning, try Starbucks down the street. these rooms are very pricey, so you would think that they would treat you a little better with simple amenities such as these.

Room Tip: if you are a baseball fan, tell them you want a Fenway room that faces the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the valet to the front desk to the bell boy, they were equally delightful and helpful. The room, while not exactly chic or contemporary, was clean and quite large. And any room that looks right out onto fenway park, can be as plain inside as it wants to be. Room service also fast, and quite helpful. We ordered some beer cheese (yum) and some beers, and the room service waiter came back in a flash when we requested some extra chips, as they were so good. Overall a great hotel, great location and great staff.

Room Tip: ask to be on the side with fenway park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are frequently in Boston to visit family and it is always a pleasure because the city has so many great hotels and restaurants. We heard a lot of buzz about the Hotel Commonwealth and decided to give it a try. Happy to report that we enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to the Reading Suite, which for this bibliophile was a treat. Oversized library chairs, autographed letters from Raymond Chandler and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and photos of authors and library interiors decorate the room. Pictures of Edgar Allen Poe hang in the bathroom, which made us laugh, because let's face it, some toilets are terrifiying (although not this one!)! There is also a Nook in the reading nook! The Hotel Commonwealth is less expensive than some of the five star hotels in the city, but it feels every bit like a five star hotel. There are some small differences. The room has a refrigerator, but no mini bar, and as best we could tell, room service is offered only for breakfast. There are two restaurants in the hotel that are open quite late, so this is not a major problem. We did take advantage of the room service breakfast and it was delicious! We have spent a lot more for rooms in Boston, and honestly, our experience here was comparable to other more costly rooms in the city. It is convenient to Fenway and Boston University if these locations are a destination for you. We will be back....

Room Tip: Some rooms face Kenmore Square and the iconic Citco sign, while other rooms face Fenway Park. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I'm giving three stars because the service was so great. All the staff was wonderful, efficient, and friendly. The room, however was what can only be described as a dump. Nothing matched nor harmonized with anything else. There was a big ugly stain on the couch. There was a strange wide construction around the windows making it difficult to reach the curtains; it looked like it might be a window seat, but there was no cushion. And there was bare, unpainted plywood above the windows. A bare unused mini bar looked sad and tired, and should be removed. Altogether, I was terribly disappointed in the room, after all the wonderful reviews.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear crulezim,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback about your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and level of service. I do apologize about your disappointment with your room. We are in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms, however that does not excuse the poor appearance of your room. We hope to welcome you back soon when this process has been completed.

Warm regards,

Lucas Mulkern
Front of House Manager
Lmulkern@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.