We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Great stay - Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Terrific hotel - great rooms (very large for a downtown hotel), great decor & a great location (easy stroll to Newbury St, Boston Common, Fenway etc.). Excellent service and both adjoining restaurants are very good. Excercise room is room is small but has everything you'd need. All in all - great place to stay when in Boston.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,363
    438
    81
    39
    13
See reviews for
908
851
146
584
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here two nights during a visit to Boston University. The service was excellent- easy and very friendly. Room was excellent as well--very comfortable and homey, but not sterile. Bed was stellar with real down and feather pillows. Just a nice, comfortable retreat. Really appreciated that they did not charge extra for the WiFi, which many hotels of their caliber do. Bravo! The Oyster Island restaurant was special, with interesting seafood well and interestingly prepared. The Eastern standard was just ok for breakfast. Service and atmosphere was wonderful, but the coffee tasted like gas station 'bilge' coffee, and the food was just ok for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Hotel Commonwealth is our go-to spot. Extraordinary restaurants, wonderful hotel staff, easy access to everything. Hotel size is manageable (you don't spend half your day waiting for the elevator, for example). Rooms are clean, comfortable, and are equally great for a work trip or a romantic stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for one night this past weekend and had a very good experience. The service level was apparent right from the beginning: I knew that check-in time was 3 p.m. but came by around noon to leave a bag. When I pulled up in front, the valet parking attendant pointed out that there might very well be a room available; it turned out that he was right, and I was able to check in at that time, making things easier for me later on. The folks at the front desk were also extremely nice. We were impressed with how quiet the room was, particularly given that the hotel is right in Kenmore Square, which is a busy and noisy area; they must have used very good sound-deadening windows. The convenience of the location would depend on what you're there to do - it was great for us, but if you were in town for a short business trip and had to be in the financial district most of the time, it would be less ideal. We didn't have a chance to try the spa, the restaurant, room service, or some of the hotel's other capabilities, but we were impressed with our experience there, would be glad to return, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A brilliant hotel with great service,Nick at the front desk is very efficient and always there to help.
There two great restaurants downstairs and the hotel is very close to some great shopping areas.
The bath in our room was very strange,but other than that I can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, with great service and beautiful rooms. I highly recommend it! The hotel is very convenient to public transportation, or you can take a fairly inexpensive cab ride into the heart of town. The restaurants are fantastic! Also attached to the hotel are a camera shop, photo gallery and Starbucks. In case you forget anything, it's a very short walk to a convenience store and a fairly close walk to a CVS. Our room was spacious and spotless, housekeeping did a fantastic job, and the front desk folks were awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our second time visiting the Hotel Commonwealth and it was perfect once again. The room was a great size for a family of four, spacious and clean. The location is perfect, we spent a great afternoon and evening on Newbury Street- all within walking distance. The people who work there are just wonderful. Customer service at its best!

Room Tip: Ask for the oversized room with the foldout sofa if you have kids! The room is plenty big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.