We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Quick stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had travel delays and arrived quite late, finding the night staff very kind and understanding. They quickly got us settled and comfortable. Room service was prompt and the food delicious for two weary travelers. We look forward to a return trip when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,062
    363
    63
    28
    9
See reviews for
783
738
134
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our first time in Boston so we were Hypersensitive to where we were going to stay. Boy did we hit the nail on the head!! Three restaurants/Bars not sure if affiliated/owned by the hotel but highly rated.Very personalized service in a very nice part of town. Just to give you a sample of what I mean, I stayed on Christamas eve with two little ones concerned that Santa was not going to know where they were. The staff made it possible for the gifts to appear on their tree and at 6 am they called the room.Not only that they even wrote a letter for my kids!!! On their own!!!! First time but not the last!! Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel Commonwealth again exceeded our expectations, from check-in to departure. Spotlessly clean, with wonderful amenities, this hotel is truly worthy of Trip Advisor's Number 1 rating. Our Junior Suite was lovely and quiet. Room service was great, and the shower was steamy with good water pressure. Hotels can't get better than this in Boston. Thank you to the staff at the Hotel Commonwealth, who cheerfully worked Christmas and made us feel like royalty!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We realy appreciate for the every employee in hotel. They were very kindly and friendly. My wife was very glad that they suggested the Disny on Ice and support for us to purchase tickets. And they were taken care for my daughter kindly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've been staying at Nine Zero downtown more often lately when in Boston (mainly due to getting a free night after 7 stays) but occassionally, I find reaosn to stay in the Kenmore area and occassionally, the Commonwaelth has some decent deals.....this was one of those times. Coming back here made me remember that this is a fine hotel. Service is top notch, the rooms are clean and the beds comfy. The in-house restaurants are a plus as well. When the deals is right, I'm back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The highest standard for everything - service, room, bed, bedding, bathroom and amenities. No in-room coffee maker, but we brought our own so were okay. The room is generous in size, with a nice layout. The view of Fenway is spectacular. I could do without the odd color of green (split pea?) chosen as an accent, but that's a personal preference and not a negative. Housekeeping did a wonderful job on Christmas day. We had a terrific rate through booking.com and it was a HUGE bargain. There are enough elevators! Parked around the corner in a parking garage so didn't pay the higher valet parking rate. The green line could not be closer. Really! Would pay substantially more to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Hotel Commonwealth does everything right! From its managers to its front desk staff to the room attendants and doormen - everyone was welcoming, upbeat and genuinely helpful and friendly. Their attention to service and customer satisfaction is simply the best in Boston. Great restaurants nearby in the Island Creek Oyster Bar and the Eastern Standard. And for outstanding craft cocktails, the Hawthorne must be tried. Boston has some very fine hotels but Hotel Commonwealth always earns our pick for a first look for a reservation. That they have such comfortable, attractive rooms and offer them at reasonable prices compared with other hotels in Boston is well-worth a traveler's loyalty!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.