We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
“great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel was central to the places we wanted to visit. The staff was extemely helpful and genuine. The room was very comfortable. We traveled on the city escape package which included valet parking and a gift certificate to a restaurant. Very convenient and enjoyable.

Room Tip: The room was a suite with a separate sitting area convenient for reading and relaxing away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Maureen M,

Kenmore Square allows easy access to everything Boston has to offer. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of this with our City Escape Package. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    407
    72
    37
    13
See reviews for
867
808
138
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Everyone in the hotel was do cordial and helpful. It's an elegant , lovely hotel in a heart setting . The location near Boston Univ. And Fenwick stadium was perfect ! I would highly recommend it and look forward to returning !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Julievwells,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed our level of service and our location. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Commonwealth. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. The hotel staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Our only concern was what appeared like poor communication between the hotel staff and the porters and valets. We drove to the hotel in the early afternoon and after they unloaded the bags, we checked into our room and then headed out into Boston. We returned close to dinner time to get changed for a dinner reservation. When we went into our room, our bags were not there! We telephoned the front desk and they said they would have the bags sent up right away. About 20 minutes later, after another call to the front desk and a visit down to the desk, the bags were finally brought up to our room. Lucky we rushed and still made our dinner reservation! Before I checked out, I called the front desk to let them know I would be checking out in about 20 minutes and to have our car brought to the hotel entrance. The check out went smoothly with the front desk, but when we went out expecting to see our car, the valet had to still call to get the car and we waited around for about 10 minutes for our car to arrive.
I don't know if the hotel porters and staff were short handed on Veteran's Day, but there seemed to be slow communication between the front desk staff and the porters and valets. Other than this, my wife and I enjoyed our stay and will stay here again in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear CLRF93,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay. I apologize about the miscommunication you experienced between our associates. I have stressed with our front office team the importance of proper communication in order to provide flawless service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We live and Maine and came to Boston to attend an alumni event.
We walked 2 mintues from the Kenmore T station with our wheely luggage.
Doormen were waiting to assist. Front staff pleasant and nice and gave us a complimentary
upgrade to a suite - we were pleased.
Room extremely clean and roomy, bathroom spotless and roomy.
We faced Commonwealth Avenue and did not hear any traffice, sirens or people.
I had an amazing hot shower with hard pressure of water on my back - so soothing.
We came back to our room with bed turned down and refreshed.
Next morning we went to breakfast at Eastern Standard (connected via a hallway from
the hotel).
The menu was small for breakfast - but food and service excellent.
Would highly recommend the hotel for cleaniless, friendliness, and definately for location.

Room Tip: We had room 320 - very nice sitting area and bedroom seperated by a large drape. NICE
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear shuffles123,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed the room upgrade that we were able to provide for you. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A very comfortable and generously sized room with excellent bed linens and pillows. The staff were attentive and helpful at all times. The excellent dining facilities of Eastern Standard is a real bonus adding immeasurably to our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Lore987,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and our in-room amenities. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, TX
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Perfect hotel to walk to Fenway! The hotel, as well as the rooms, are large and luxurious! Our room looked out over the ballpark.

The hotel restaurant and bar were very nice, although loud and crowded during the World Series, as you would expect. The doormen, waiters, and staff did a wonderful job managing the crowd.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear aledo99,

The World Series was certainly an exciting time for us; I am glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went to Boston to see our nephews at Boston University. Chose the hotel blind, only knew that it was on Commonwealth Ave., making it a straight line to their dorms.

We arrived by train from NYC in the middle of the World Series parade. Even with the crowds of people it only took a few minutes by cab from the station.

Our hotel room was large, well appointed, sparklingly clean and had an amazing view of downtown Boston. (picture attached)

The hotel staff was friendly and made us feel comfortable - providing an intimate feeling of a boutique hotel, even though it is really big.

We could walk around the corner to Fenway Park if we were there for a baseball game. The subway (called for some reason the T) is immediately next door - and the doorman could snag a cab as fast as anyplace I've been.

If you want to have a memorable stay in Boston - easily access all the things the city has to offer and have a word class restaurant on the ground floor, just down the hall from the elevator, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 354. It's on the corner, top floor, and with a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Wayne M,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the level of service and the amenities provided here at the Hotel Commonwealth. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting your nephews.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.