We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Room, Amazing Restaurant, The Best Location in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Room, Amazing Restaurant, The Best Location in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went to Boston to see our nephews at Boston University. Chose the hotel blind, only knew that it was on Commonwealth Ave., making it a straight line to their dorms.

We arrived by train from NYC in the middle of the World Series parade. Even with the crowds of people it only took a few minutes by cab from the station.

Our hotel room was large, well appointed, sparklingly clean and had an amazing view of downtown Boston. (picture attached)

The hotel staff was friendly and made us feel comfortable - providing an intimate feeling of a boutique hotel, even though it is really big.

We could walk around the corner to Fenway Park if we were there for a baseball game. The subway (called for some reason the T) is immediately next door - and the doorman could snag a cab as fast as anyplace I've been.

If you want to have a memorable stay in Boston - easily access all the things the city has to offer and have a word class restaurant on the ground floor, just down the hall from the elevator, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 354. It's on the corner, top floor, and with a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Wayne M,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the level of service and the amenities provided here at the Hotel Commonwealth. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting your nephews.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    393
    70
    35
    10
See reviews for
842
782
137
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Everyone in Boston was in a good mood when we arrived after the Red Sox won the World Series. The hotel had cute baseball-related touches (the wall behind the reception desk was painted to resemble a scoreboard from the Series) - but maybe those are there all the time. Having a T stop a few feet from the front door was a plus. Ate at both restaurants. Breakfast choices are pretty limited at Eastern Standard and the dinner menu would be a nightmare for anyone who doesn't eat meat in both the appetizer and main course of a meal but maybe that's what Bostonians like - the place was hopping at dinner. Island Creek Oyster was more sophisticated and great for those who like raw bars (raw seafood, that is). Luckily a nearby manager intervened when a hostess insisted at 5:30 p.m. that I (a table of 1) could not be seated for dinner before 10 p.m. One expects that a hotel restaurant will make an effort to accommodate hotel guests, and I'm glad that she did. If you want to avoid this sort of thing, though, reserve a table before you arrive. Hotel staff were very congenial. Housekeeping forgot to leave a robe one day, shampoo & soap the next day, but more importantly the rooms were very clean. Stayed in a room that faced Fenway & the freeway and heard absolutely no noise. Nice.

Room Tip: The Fenway rooms are large & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear traveler7030,

You chose a great time to visit Boston. I'm glad you enjoyed the work of the art students that we hired to paint a homage to the World Series in Kenmore Square. The lobby was truly a work of art and captured the championship spirit. Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a junior suite third floor at the front of the hotel. The room was a good size, good quality furnishings and comfy bed. It was also quiet despite being next to a busy street.
Two very good bars, one with a restaurant that serves food of equal quality. The staff and service were excellent in both.
Possible down sides for some maybe that it is a fair walk or quick taxi ride to the city centre. However, there is a train station right outside. Pleasant walk though through a leafy suburb.
Also some gym equipment needs updating, particularly the bikes.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, pressed by mistake and could not erase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Rootsey,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed a quite night during your recent stay in our commonwealth junior suite. We hope to have you return soon.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I and two teenage children arrived at the hotel on the afternoon of the final of the World Series of baseball in which the Red Sox were playing at home at their ground right opposite the hotel. Inevitably there were huge numbers of spectators milling around which was an exciting start to our stay. The hotel is a bit out of the centre of Boston but there is a T stop right next door so travelling is easy. The hotel entrance hall and communal areas are very dated in terms of decor but clean and tidy. Our bedroom (junior suite I think) and bathroom was very spacious and spotlessly clean and looked out directly into Fenway Park. Despite this we never heard any noise either from the match or from the interstate which runs directly along the back of the hotel so there was no problem with sleeping, especially as the beds were very comfortable. A complete lack of hot water was dealt with quickly after a phone call to reception and the arrival of a plumber who spent some time identifying and sorting the problem. The reception staff were all very pleasant and helpful, with one exception mentioned below, The Eastern Standard is the hotel's restaurant and whilst there was no problem at breakfast, it was almost impossible to get a table for an evening meal. The staff said they would phone me when one became available but they never did. A couple of days before our departure we asked a receptionist to book us a cab for a 5.30 am pick up to the airport and mentioned that we would require a car with plenty of space as we had a large luggage item. We were told that they could not do this and the only way we could get a car to the airport would be to go out on the road on the morning of departure and flag down a taxi, but he did not really think there would be too many around at that time in the morning and we might have trouble getting the size required!. Astonished at this response we explained that we really needed to be sure we would get a cab as we had a flight to catch but he was adamant he could not order a cab for us. We inquired about a private car hire but he dismissed this as being too expensive and would not pursue this option further! In the end we booked a cab ourselves very easily by phone; it turned up on time, it was the size we had stipulated and it got us to the airport in plenty of time. The mystery of the receptionist's refusal to book us a cab remains and unfortunately marred our stay to some extent, as did the erroneous addition to our bill of a bottle of champagne from the mini bar. Why do hotels think they can get away with doing this? It is blatant dishonesty. In summary, the hotel was OK but I am not sure why it is rated quite so highly by other reviewers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear mummylongestlegs,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I appreciate the recognition of our dedication to uncompromising levels of cleanliness. I apologize for the inadequate assistance with transportation. I will work with the front office on our communication to assure we can avoid this in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need any assistance.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 3 days on vacation; superb boutique hotel with very friendly staff and service; elegant rooms with very comfy beds. Two nice restaurants on the premises and most everything with easy access on subway with station beneath the building. Lots of good restaurants in Back Bay nearby. We happened to be there the last game of the World Series and it's right next to Fenway. Had a blast! Expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear TroutFisher14,

We truly appreciate the feedback from your recent vacation. You chose an incredible time to stay at Hotel Commonwealth. The last game of the 2013 World Series proved to be a momentous and historic night for the city of Boston.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for four nights with my daughter on a trip up the East Coast. This was the best hotel of the entire holiday. Located in the Back Bay Area overlooking Fenway Park baseball stadium and right next to Kenmore station on the MBTA so easy access to everywhere in Boston (and beyond - we had a great trip out to Salem). Good restaurants attached to the hotel (Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar). Excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear NewHampshireMay,

Thank you very much for the feedback and review. I am thrilled you enjoyed Island Creek Oyster Bar.I would be happy to add a Keurig coffee maker to your profile. This will allow us to have one ready for you in your room upon arrival. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
617-532-5055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is an excellent small hotel with almost all the ammenities. There is no coffee maker if that matters to you, but they give you a coupon for Starbucks next door. The room was large and clean and had excellent work space. All of the staff were fantastic. The hotel is right over the Kenmore MBTA Station (Green Line B,C, and D). If you want to be in Central Boston this is a great spot. The Oyster restaurant in the hotel is excellent from my own experience and I understand the other hotel retaurant is very good too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear NewHampshireMay,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We do offer complimentary coffee makers upon request. Please contact me so I can add this note to your profile. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Amex, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.