We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Portage, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I really loved my stay at Hotel Commonwealth. The Hotel was beautiful, the staff was incredibly nice, and the hotel was very clean, and most importantly you feel safe and your belongings secure. I would definitely recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Natalie P,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and the beautiful picture's of Hotel Commonwealth. It is comforting to hear that you felt safe and secure during your stay.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,135
    376
    66
    31
    10
See reviews for
826
757
135
524
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel had a wedding booked during our stay. Some of the younger guests decided to have a party in the adjacent rooms and were very loud. One phone call to the front desk and they immediately handled the problem, guaranteeing a peaceful night's rest. This was in sharp contrast to our stay at the Renaissance Hotel in Pittsburgh, where the same incident happened and the hotel did absolutely nothing. The adjacent rooms partied loudly until 6:15am. Although the staff at the Renaissance ruined our entire weekend in Pittsburgh, the staff at the Commonwealth in Boston did not allow that to happen. Additionally, the staff was also very accommodating to us in allowing us to keep our vehicle at hotel for a couple hours after checkout. The high ceilings in the hotel rooms were also a nice surprise.

Room Tip: The restaurants adjacent to the hotel (Oyster Bar, Eastern Standard) were excellent. We arrived late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Susan D,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We take problem resolution very serious and it is great to hear that we were able to resolve in an efficient manner.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the rating on Trip Advisor. We were glad we did. We used the Trip Advisor upgrade – and got a great room overlooking Commonwealth Ave. We loved the big chairs and ottoman, a great place to relax at the end of a big day. The service from the Concierge and reception staff was excellent, very professional. The Island Creek Oyster bar was great for dinner. We were a bit disappointed in the breakfast at the Eastern Standard. The hotel is very charming. Had a great feel to it. We had a lovely time and will stay again if we return to Boston

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear annieandnick,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad Hotel Commonwealth did not disappoint based on our reviews on Trip Advisor. I will pass all of your comments on to the culinary teams here at Hotel Commonwealth. They are fantastic and are integral to our overall success here. We look forward to having you back.

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Boston. Going to enjoy the Red Sox and sight see. Nick at the front desk and Frankie at the door were 2 of the most friendly people I'd ever met at a hotel. Very personable and anxious to help with anything. Rooms were very comfortable. Hotel is located a block from Fenway or the Trolley that takes you everywhere you could possibly want to go in Boston. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Tammy O,

We are delighted that you chose Hotel Commonwealth as your home during your first trip to Boston. Our concierge Nicholas and Doormen Francel are true ambassadors of Hotel Commonwealth and the service we deliver. Welcome to the Hotel Commonwealth family!

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fabulous staff, wonderful room and bed, great location - we loved it there and have found our new favorite hotel! If you're a Red Sox fan, it's a treat to stay in one of the Fenway rooms overlooking the ballpark. We would highly recommend the Hotel Commonwealth to anyone looking for a great hotel in Boston!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear mlh1959,

Thank you for making Hotel Commonwealth your new favorite hotel! We appreciate the feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed the Fenway room and the service you received from everyone.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is just beautiful. I stayed in a Junior suite which had a lovely sitting room with a gorgeous desk that I would love to have in my own home. The hotel is exactly a 5 minute walk to Fenway. I walked to the Red Sox team store, bought T-shirts and walked back in exactly 15 minutes. The T is right next door for easy transportation. There are plenty of nice dining options and even some convenience stores local, too, which offers dining at every level of choice.

A few ideas for improvements:
1. Add coffee pots to every room. This is now considered a very common feature in hotel rooms and I was surprised not to see it in this hotel.
2. The beds were fine, but the mattresses could use an upgrade.
3. Sometimes it took 10 minutes of running the water in the morning before it became hot. Upgrading the water heating system would conserve water.

That said, everything else was fantastic and this hotel is so amazingly lovely that it was easy to overlook those little items.

Room Tip: Ask for the Junior Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear wearon,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I appreciate the feedback regarding recommendations for improvement. I would be happy to add to your profile to have a coffee maker in your room upon arrival. I want to assure you the housekeeping and engineering opportunity will be resolved as well. Would you be so kind to contact me directly so I can add the preferences to your profile and also fix the guest room opportunity.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I were spending a weekend in Boston to visit the city and catch a Red Sox Game. We were highly impressed with Hotel Commonwealth. The service was great from the time we checked in, and the front desk was extremely courteous and helpful with our questions. The room was clean, big, and fully stocked with up to date amenities (flat screen tv, ipod docks, great shower). The hotel also is in a GREAT Location. It is a 5 minute walk to Fenway Park and located right at a T stop. We will definitely be staying here the next time we visit Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Chris T,

I hope you and your husband had a fun time at the Red Sox game! I am happy that you enjoyed our level of service along with our room product. We look forward to seeing you for another Red Sox game.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.