We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't do any better in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't do any better in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

As far as hotels in Boston go, this one is tough to beat. Get a Fenway room to avoid noise from Commonwealth Ave. Subway at the hotel entrance, AMAZING oyster restaurant downstairs, clean and comfortable rooms that are tastefully decorated and you have a winner top to bottom. A lot of bang for your buck. Service is first class, highly recommended. Warning: if you have noisy neighbors, you're likely to hear them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Jesse_Holland,

Thank you for providing us with feedback. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize if there was noise coming from your next door neighbors but I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,581
    484
    95
    43
    17
See reviews for
1,026
926
157
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mass
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed overnight for a concert at Fenway. We were able to walk to Fenway in 10 minutes. Its not the prettiest walk but its safe and easy which is what we were looking for. The staff that checked us in and out were super nice. They gave us a roll-away bed which was excellent. We stayed in the Fenway room which was large and nice. We watched the fireworks over Fenway from our window that night. We did not like the Eastern Standard (limited menu,bad service) and we tried to get into the other restaurant the Oyster Creek but it was mobbed. Boston is pricey especially during an event and even though it was super expensive we were very happy we stayed here because of its location to Fenway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Greenshamrck,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope you enjoyed the concert at Fenway Park. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with Eastern Standard. I have forwarded your review to the restaurant management. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I took my son to his first Red Sox game and wanted to stay as close to the park as possible, so I book Hotel Commonwealth. I called 2 days before the game to make a reservation and mentioned the above, when we got there they had written a personal note and placed vintage Fenway seats in our room for my Son to enjoy! Being a wedding designer, it is hard to WOW me and this was awesome! Thanks for making my son's experience that more memorable :) (also the staff was so in tune with my son and always addressing him when we came in and out of the hotel)

Room Tip: ask for the Fenway Room if going to a game!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear CoutureParties,

I hope your son was able to see a Red Sox victory while attending his first game at Fenway Park. The Fenway seats we have are a piece of history and I am thrilled you enjoyed having them in your room. We hope to see you again soon, possibly for your son's second Red Sox game.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent 3 days at the hotel on business purposes and found the level of service and quality of the rooms and facilities first class. The only negative was the continued lack of wifi access I experienced in my hotel room. I had an engineer try and fail to fix the problem and was later informed a new router needed to be installed which failed to materialise. Whilst the main purpose of my visit was business the lack of wifi was an incovenince. The hotel is centrally located so there is easy access to the shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel but check the room has wifi first.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear JOMLL,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay; however do apologize about the lack of Wi-Fi in your room. I understand this can be frustrating when you have work to accomplish back in your hotel room. We are currently in the process of resolving this issue.

We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

All the best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I just had a surprise baby shower at the Hotel Commonwealth. The private room facing Boston's Kenmore Square was elegant and beautifully appointed. From the doorman to the bar tender serving champagne from long stemmed glasses, the staff was highly attentive, professional and friendly. The brunch (catered by the hotel) was a bountiful spread of baked breads, french toast, homemade quiche, fresh fruits and a tiered cake baked by the hotel and preciously decorated.

During the shower, all the husbands enjoyed lunch and cocktails at the Island Creek Oyster Bar located in the hotel. (Eastern Standard Kitchen is another Boston favorite located in the hotel). Following the shower, the hotel staff packed and stored the gifts while my family and girl friends socialized with our husbands without ever leaving the hotel. When we were ready to leave, the hotel carefully placed all our gifts in our valet parked car, making the entire event unforgettable and so easy.

If you're looking for a place to host a special event or occassion, you've found it. Thank you Hotel Commonwealth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear kcolson,

I am thrilled that everything with your surprise baby shower went according to plan. We are so happy we were able to share in the experience with you and your family and friends. We hope you will be able to stay with us again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffield, ct
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Since this is already the #1 rated Boston hotel on Trip Advisor, I will be brief. THE GOOD: phenomenol hospitalitarians. Immaculate and beautiful rooms. Free champagne at check in. Views of Fenway Park on one side. Views of Kenmore Square on the other. Adjacent subway stop. 3 blocks to restaurants and clubs on Landsdowne Street. 4 blocks to movies on Mass Avenue. 7 blocks to affordable bars and restaurants down Beacon Street. Attached to TWO highly rated restaurants, but just 7 blocks from Newburyport Street, the uber destination for Beantown shopping and eating. This hotel has everything you would want in a handsome, upscale place to hang your hat for a few days. Unbeatable. THE BAD: if you cannot budget $300 to $500 per night, it is highly unlikely you will choose this hotel. And that's a shame. C'est domage. Oh, well. Bon Voyage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear athomeatfenway,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about your recent stay. When attending a Red Sox game, the location certainly cannot be beat. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I enjoyed staying in this hotel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Hotel staff friendly and keen to help. Only thing that I think can be improved is the in room dinning menu. It is both boring and very limited in options and I was not impressed with the quality of the meals. Minus the in room dinning experience I would not hesitate to stay in this place again. It is perhaps a bit to close to the busy baseball stadium as far as access to the metro goes (but the sound insulation is spectacular and it was not an issue in terms of getting a rest).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear dakism,

Thank you for posting a review. I apologize that the in room dining menu was not satisfactory for you. I have passed these comments on to our restaurant. I am thrilled that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay. We hope to serve you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South Boston
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,031 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,724 reviews
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.